We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak was perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks

Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks
Ranked #22 of 153 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Steak was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went here to celebrate a birthday. Some like steak, some like seafood. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. The meat was so tender (it had been aged!). There was plenty of room so we didn't have to squeeze into a booth or small area! They had a good wine list. This was not walking distance from the Festival area, but we felt the restaurant was worth going to. If you like steak and/or seafood, you'll like this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank crwgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    72
    20
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
323 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place looks like a dump (I think it was last remodeled during the Harding administration), but once you get used to the old fashioned decor, it's a good experience. The seafood and steaks are great. The service is always friendly, and the food has never disappointed. You get a community salad bowl brought to your table, which I have come to like (and if you're hungry, the staff will bring you more). The bread is very good. I've had seafood, steaks, and prime rib (the prime rib is just average, everything else has been great). A pretty good value. We stay near the OSF - this is the only restaurant we tend to drive to. One warning - there are two seating areas: A main dining room to the left and a smaller area to the right connecting to the bar. Go left. The main dining room has some charm, while the smaller area is like your high school cafeteria (if you went to school in the 70s).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott95401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and hearty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very good menu choices. I highly recommend the cranberry chicken and also the halibut. The fairly generous portions combined with the included soup/salad and warm bread makes for a very filling meal. The ambiance could be a bit better, because it felt a bit dim and cramped, but not a bad place at all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Schrutefan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Knows How to Prepare Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our meal at Omar's again proved most enjoyable. Three of us had the parmesan crusted halibut. It was done perfectly and most juicy and tender. The salad leaves something to be desired, unripe grape tomatoes, ok lettuce, but excellent croutons. The choice of dressings was good.

The only down side was that service was a bit spotty. When I have to ask for more water, the servers are not keeping touch with their tables.,

One excellent benefit to Omar's is that we can bring our own wine (there is a corkage charge). Both my brother and I do the wine tasting route and often find an excellent wine (red) that we want to share (both of our birthdays fall around the same weekend).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dick_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornbrook, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Looks like the '60s outside, but great food inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We like to go here before the show at the Shakespeare festival in the summers. WE had steaks and salad specials and they were cooked just right, grilled on the outside, red on the inside. A nice local wine complimented our food. I want to go back when they have their specials and theme nights, and would like to have some seafood on my next trip. Even though it was early when we visited, there was a crowd on a weekday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 96044UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Omar's Fresh Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing