We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return guests every year Kitchens, easy walking and great decor”
Review of DeLaunay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeLaunay House
Ranked #28 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Naples Fl
1 review
“Return guests every year Kitchens, easy walking and great decor”
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Once we found The DeLaunay Hose we feel we found our home in Ashland .The first thing I noticed was the attention to detailand that I felt right at home.
The eclectic decor consists of antiques and modern art so the feeling was fantastic. The beds are very comfortable and firm
and therefore I did not have any back issues. I love the easy walk to everything especially the Ashland food coop because I love to cook
and the kitchens and BBQ out back were a godsend and as a result I saved alot of money!! The other thing I liked was the privacy I felt sharing the house was not a problem
as each is very private without any shared walls and each suite has its own air conditioner so we all had individual control for our rooms
Another highlight was the large cool front porch to sit and watch the colors change on the mountain.
This house will remain our number one choice for coming to Ashland. We come every year and it is a great find for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2010

every time i go to ashland i try to stay here, it books up fast and there is little wonder why.
deb delaunay has set up a perfect home away from home (except my home is not a gorgeous 1909 victorian house. not a B-nB in the classic sense, but rather a home you go into with all right touches/ just modern enough with all the right amenities an old fashion enough to fell teleported back to a calmer simpler time. deb has always been very helpful and quick to respond and gave us great advice of dining and activities. yet i've never met her. when you arrive you have a code to get in the ouse and when you go to one of the many apartments she has the key ready for you. it's literally like home away from home. once there i've never used my car except to go home at the end of the stay. everything is within 3 - 4 blocks from the delaunay house. when she is booked, which has been often over the past 10 years, we've stayed other places, but none that have been as special as deb's house. highly recommended. - portland, or 2010... ps this year's HAMLET is not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My family visited Dalaunay House in August and had the most wonderful family reunion of our lifetime! The house has wonderful history and is beautifully restored. It's clean and very attractive. And, although the weather became unusually hot (110*), our rooms were extremely comfortable. We agreed to make a return visit next year and all 14 of our famly members are very much looking forward to our return to Dalaunay House this August!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our stay last July 2009 was one of our best experiences. The separate a/c units for each suite gave us the freedom to chose our comfort level. Our stay was enhanced with owner's helpful, accommodating nature.The inn location is extremely easy for access to some really neat restaurants,and of course the play houses only 2 very short blocks up the street. this was our 4 th season using the inn. We are going to be there again this year.We highly recommend it.Enjoy the view of the mountains from the front porch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

After booking our stay at the Delaunay house online, we were in contact with the owner to ascertain whether there was central air conditioning since we were coming in July. She assured us that there was, but when we arrived on the 100 degree day, the place was unbearably hot with a totally inadequate wall air conditioning unit. We called her to bring us a fan or two and she couldn't be bothered. In addition, we found the place unacceptably dirty with other people's clothing and shoes in the laundry room. Do not stay here. We are still trying to contest the charges since we ended up not staying a single night here. This is not a reputable establishment.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashlandregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

My family rented this house for a weekend get away to Ashland. It is a beautiful place. We rented the two rooms on the ground floor. The smaller room had a bed and a bathroom. The larger room on the ground floor had a combined living room/bedroom, dining room/futon for another bed, huge kitchen with a small computer station, bathroom, and laundry room. The house was decorated in an antique theme with many chotskies thoughtfully placed. The attention to detail was amazing. The house really felt like you were staying in someone's home. There were books and movies, dishes, journals....anything you would need to entertain/lay in leisure. The best part was the porch (shared with the upstairs guests). It had rocking chairs and benches on which you could relax and watch the people walking by.
My favorite thing about the house, besides it's charm, was it's location. It was on a neighborhood street, about 2 blocks from the main street of Ashland. It was a 5 minute walk to see the Shakespeare plays, walk in the park, eat dinner, lunch, grab coffee, shop..., yet it still felt private .
A couple things to be aware of when you book the house-although the large room can sleep 2 couples (there is one queen bed and one double size futon), it is a cozy fit. It is not for couples that want privacy. It is ideal for a family. Also, the house is old so you will be able to hear the upstairs neighbors walk around and the noise from the street.
I really enjoyed my time here, as did my parents. I am sure we will be returning!

  • Liked — charming decor, location to main street of Ashland
  • Disliked — not very private bedrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.2 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
2nd Street Cottages, Act 2
0.1 mi away
McCall House
McCall House
#6 of 31 in Ashland
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchester Inn
The Winchester Inn
#8 of 31 in Ashland
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeLaunay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeLaunay House

Property: DeLaunay House
Address: 185 N Pioneer St, Corner of B Street and Pioneer, Ashland, OR 97520-1823
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DeLaunay House is a 1909 Craftsman style house, renovated completely in 2002 and is now a luxury vacation rental in Ashland, Oregon. This historical house features original artworks, vintage collectibles, family heirloom antiques with hand painted accents and beautiful hand knotted rugs. Experience lush velvet drapes, old world charm, quality bedding, and all the attention to detail of a finely appointed home. Enjoy walking just one block or so to all Ashland has to offer. The house has 4 suites that can be rented individually, or you may rent the whole ground floor or the whole house for groups up to 15. It is perfect for family reunions, theater or book club retreats, film lovers or outdoor enthusiasts. It's also romantic and has been enjoyed by many wedding parties. Stay in touch with free wifi in the house. Housekeeping upon request. There is a full kitchen with vintage oven in the Harmony Suite and other suites have kitchenttes. There's also a nice BBQ in the backyard for your summer pleasure. Guest rooms do have individual air conditioning units, as Ashland in July and August can be very hot. One of the suites boasts a lovely claw foot tub for soaking after a full day sightseeing or playing! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing