We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Love Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashland Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashland Creek Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dillon Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Love Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been regular attendees of the Shakespeare Festival for the last 15 years and all but 4 times (one has to experiment and try out new things occasionally) we have stayed at the Ashland Creek Inn. We will not be experimenting with any other locations in the future if we can help it.

The location is perfect. We love to be able to walk to the festival and to all of our favorite restaurants and we love the ability to quickly be able to go back to our room if we forgot something or need to pick up a blanket or sweater.

The rooms are great. We love the beds and the bedding and the interesting decor with each room being themed on someplace interesting in the world. We love the Marrakesh Room and the Edinburgh Room and we are looking forward to a visit to Tuscany next year in the Sienna Room. We enjoy being able to invite friends back to the room after the show and having a glass of wine in the sitting room or on the deck over the creek.

The breakfasts are great. Always good coffee, a delicious smoothie, some fresh fruit and a gourmet breakfast treat. Due to how late the shows often run I love that it is at 9 in the morning so there is plenty of time to sleep in a bit. When the weather is nice they serve it on a delightful patio garden by the creek.

The only reason I would not recommend it is in order to keep it secret so that it doesn't get too booked for me to be able to enjoy it every year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryKH_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you in particular for mentioning your love of the location, the theming of the rooms, as well as the breakfast each morning. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Regards,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
128
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I come to Ashland from Kentucky every summer for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. After trying several other places in town, we have stayed at the outstanding Ashland Creek Inn for about nine years in a row. The town has a number of lovely B&Bs and the historic Ashland Springs Hotel, but Ashland Creek Inn is in a class by itself.

Each of the 10 suites is uniquely furnished and has its own distinct layout with a private patio or deck overlooking the creek. A delicious, multi-course gourmet breakfast is prepared by the staff chef and served in nice weather on a shady creekside deck or in a lovely garden. Sometimes deer wander along the creek in the forest-like setting. But the inn is only a block from the plaza in the heart of Ashland and an easy two-block walk to Lithia Park and the Shakespeare theaters.

All the suites we've stayed in are great, but we especially like the Japanese-themed Matsu suite with its wall of windows overlooking the creek and a koi pond, and the Italian-themed Sienna suite upstairs with a two-person jetted tub under a skylight. Matsu is downstairs with a large, wrap-around deck, and Sienna has a small deck in the back and a balcony in the front looking out to the street below and to the nearby mountains. Both have kitchens and king beds. Other suites, with names appropriate to their themes, include the large Taos and Marrakech suites and the cozier but beautiful Copenhagen and Canton suites. For a French twist, ask for the Normandy suite; Edinburgh and Devon suites have collections of British antiques.

We aren't the only return guests. We meet friends from California at the inn every summer. Even if we weren't theater buffs, we'd recommend Ashland Creek Inn for a weekend retreat or multi-day vacation for people visiting Crater Lake National Park, Redwoods National Park or any of the other attractions of Southern Oregon or Northern California. The town of Ashland is a destination in its own right, and there is no better place to stay than Ashland Creek Inn.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Friends,

Thank you for this second review of Ashland Creek Inn. It has been so gratifying this second summer to be able to welcome back guests. You two are some of my all-time favorites. I greatly look forward to seeing you [again!] next year!

Warmly,
Sophia Palosaari
Mnager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We just returned from one of three trips to Ashland this year, and another hugely satisfying stay at our Ashland Home--the Ashland Creek Inn. We asked ourselves how long we've been staying there, and we really don't remember, but it's been years. I still remember walking down Water Street, seeing the Inn, and the beautiful grounds outside, and deciding this is the place. We've stayed in every suite, and enjoyed them all. This latest trip we stayed in Devon, and it had a perfect double balcony over the outdoor dining area. This fall for our last trip we're bring friends out from DC and will enjoy Taos once again. Nothing like the sound of the creek to lull one to sleep, and as a background to a terrific breakfast. Staff is always friendly, has great ideas for restaurants, nice insights on the plays, and takes an interest in the guests, their families. Our children were in elementary school when we started coming here, now, as post grads, they continue to enjoy the Ashland Creek Inn, and all it offers. Wonderfully convenient to the theaters, and downtown Ashland. My only complaint is they don't serve lunch and dinner. With these folks, I just know it'd be fantastic.

Room Tip: It's really a function of the number of people in your party. There isn't a bad room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vonniefollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Vonniefollies, you were a delight to have! Thank you so much for another terrific review! Personally speaking, I am always so happy when your family comes to visit, you all are so much fun to have stay with us. Thank you again and looking forward to seeing y'all in the fall!

Warm Regards,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

On the advice of several friends, we stayed at Ashland Creek Inn on our first visit to Ashland, and we were beyond delighted with every aspect of our stay. We chose The Normandy Room because it is on the first floor and has a lovely terrace overlooking the gorgeous creek. The creek is loud with the sound of rushing water over beautiful rocks, amidst a wide variety of flora and fauna. We slept with the windows open and loved it. Our room was totally comfortable. The bed was dreamy, including silky soft sheets and a warm duvet. WiFi worked perfectly, which we count on. We enjoyed two delicious breakfasts, served by the innkeeper himself, who was sweet as could be and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and reviews of the current play offerings at OSF. On his suggestion, we dined at Coquina, which is a 15 minute walk from the Inn and had a superb dining experience. The Inn is a 5 minute walk to OSF, so we never felt like we had to hurry anywhere, nor did we get in our car once during our 2 night stay. We really appreciated the newspapers available each morning and great coffee! Cannot imagine staying anywhere else, and we plan to return soon and often!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Ladies, thank you so much for the fantastic review! We really appreciate your kind words. I'm glad to hear how much you enjoyed breakfast and that it was enhanced by the innkeeper's presence; I will be sure to pass that along to him. I'm happy to hear as well you were able to enjoy all of Ashland without needing to drive anywhere! This is a superb endorsement- we are quite proud of our location, just a few minutes walk from downtown Ashland and the theaters. Thank you again, and I look forward to seeing you next year!

Thank you,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creeek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I was walking along the river, looking for another hotel for a visiting friend, when I saw an intriguing building that had a charming, old Europe feel. I wandered in and was given a tour of several rooms by a sweet and obviously proud staff member, before reserving a suite. Each had a different theme, and was decorated with carefully chosen treasures and art pieces: antique Moroccan wooden doors and rugs, Southwest sculpture and pottery, an eclectic collection of Italian etchings and old chest, etc. Amenities included sitting rooms, little kitchenettes, big whirlpool baths, luxury bedding, etc. Among the nicest features are balconies hanging over the creek and lush trees, so the sound of rushing water fills the rooms. The town's Main Street is a block away, and the huge organic coop is also nearby. Altogether, an unexpected and delightful discovery!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
I remember you! I had a wonderful time showing you around. I admit, tours are my favorite part of the job and I do take an awful lot of pride in the rooms. You and your companion were especially fun to show rooms to as you both were so effusive! You two are lovely people, and I'm so happy you ended up booking with us. I hope to see you again in the future sometime soon!

Warmly,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashalnd Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigi Kaltbad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013



I was totally surprised and completely delighted by my stay The Ashland Creek Inn

It felt like one of SWITZERLAND'S finest small country inns, transported into Frank Llloyd Wright's famous Falling Water house. Everything was perfect { I know that's hard to believe, but it is true}.

The hotel is built into a mountain creek . Each of the ten rooms - suites - is unique, designed to immerse the guest into the feeling of being in the location on the room's nameplate.

Decks surround the hotel, enhancing the sound of the stream.

But that's just the structure . All of this is further enhanced by the people, beginning with the omnipresent owner, Graham. Like the owner of a european Relais & Chateau, Graham greets his guests with genuine charm and makes sure everyone is comfortable. He has assembled a superb staff, that was faultless. Breakfast was a gourmet's delight. Most guests were so focused on their delicious food and the views, that ,unlike most places, no one was using their ipad or reading the news. No one except me. I am a news junkie. and I was surprised and happy to begin the day reading each of the six newspapers Graham brings into the breakfast room, from the WSJ and NYT to local Oregon news .

and that's not all. The location is perfect. In the woods by a stream, yet only a two minute walk to Main Street.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank TourDeSuisseKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Wow!
We are overwhelmed by this fantastic review! Thank you for your kind words! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, as well as the setting so much. I'm especially grateful for your description of the setting. While we are in a "park-like" setting in the middle of the town of Ashland-we are not in the woods- I am happy to hear it felt like you were! The main feeling I got from your review was that you felt transported, we are so glad to hear it!

Sincerely,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We are moving to Ashland and needed a place to stay while house hunting. The Ashland Creek Inn was perfect! Comfortable, beautiful setting near the creek, nice rooms, friendly folks, and the breakfast was delicious. The location was perfect: after a day of driving around everywhere looking at houses, we could park the car and head out for the evening on foot, an easy walk to all the attractions of downtown Ashland. Perfect! Once we get settled, we will definitely put visiting family up here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I am happy to hear we were your oasis while house hunting. While I'm sorry you will not be staying with us in the future, we will be excited to meet and cater to your family when they are in town. We wish you the best of luck in looking for your future home here in glorious Ashland!

Best,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.8 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Creek Inn

Property: Ashland Creek Inn
Address: 70 Water St, Ashland, OR 97520-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashland’s finest all-suite boutique hotel. Luxury suites featuring sitting rooms, private decks, and kitchenettes all overlooking Ashland Creek in a private park setting. Style, comfort and privacy only 3 blocks from the theatres. Gourmet breakfasts each morning. Featured in Sunset, NY Times, NW Palace, Fodors, AAA, and Moon Guides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing