We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Vintage" Motel”
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is truly a vintage motel. We stayed in Room 1 for three days.
Upon checking in, we received a sheet of important information. It should be read.
The one thing that was "good to know" was that housekeeping does not come by automatically each day! Housekeeping is between 9 am and 3pm and unless you have your sign out requesting maid service hung on your door knob, you won't get housekeeping. I'm glad I caught that.

Room 1 is a two room suite and is good for families.
The Good - Wifi was wonderful in this room. The AC worked very well. There was a refrigerator and hot pot in good working order. The beds were firm, just the way I like them. They had extra blankets in the closet. The owners are nice and friendly. There is a great place to eat breakfast just two blocks away called the Breadboard. There is a park-like setting on the property that allows for some nice shade, relaxation, and neighborly chitchat. Lastly, someone previouly commented on the toilet handle getting stuck - well it must have been fixed because it worked just fine. Housekeeping did a great job and the place was very clean.

The Not-So-Great - The bathroom is small. Part of that "vintage" theme. The toilet has a few inches on either side before you hit wall. People could literally be too big for this bathroom. Few outlets. The one in the bathroom is up on the light. It was a good thing we had a 12" extension cord with us or I wouldn't have been able to reach it for my hairdryer. Road noise. Linens were on the cheap side - newer but really thin. I could have used two towels after my shower.

This was a fine room for the price and location and overall I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keliiaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped here after a miserable drive to see a show in Ashland. The man helping us was very friendly and made sure that we were comfortable, both in choice of room and cost. The motel is older, but charming. All of the appliances/amenities in the room worked and met our needs. For a one night stay, it fit the bill! We will probably stay there again when we see a show in the fall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richarbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Cute and quirky -- clean, too. But the bathrooms are miserably small. Stayed in Room 3. Toilet is wedged in a space only as wide as the toilet. A large person could NOT get in there. No electrical outlet in cramped bath (space measures 6x5 at most!) and few in the other rooms (two bedrooms and a kitchenette). Great location, friendly staff. No ice machine on the property so you have to get it at the nearby market.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Manor Motel has small cottage like rooms, many with kitchens. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were clean. Steve, the property manager, is very friendly and fun to talk to. We could walk to downtown to get to the restaurants and Shakespeare Festival theaters. If you don't mind having the basics and nothing fancy, this is a very good place to stay for a very reasonable rate. When we return to Ashland, we'll stay here again. The only downside, which we thought was more humorous and the makings of a good story, was the very small bathroom. The toilet is located between walls that are literally 2-3 inches on either side of the back of the toilet, and you get to it by squeezing by the sink. An average or smaller sized person would have no problems, but someone bigger would likely have trouble fitting into the space. They are slowly renovating the rooms to enlarge the bathrooms, so ask for a larger bathroom if you think you'd be more comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are a larger sized person, ask for a room with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

nice owners, great price good location for downtown, needs fixing up which they are in the process of doing since the new owners have taken over. good place to stay for the basics, nothing fancy..pretty good for a small family owned motel.

Room Tip: the rooms farthest from the office are also farther from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Clean and friendly management but do not stay in Room #1. We don’t know if all the rooms are this bad but Room #1 was unfit for a guest room and should not be rented at all.

The bathroom was freezing cold and the door didn’t latch closed.
There is no light switch on the wall of the bathroom – you must go in and pull a chain located high up on the light, which is tricky in the dark, especially if you’re half asleep. The toilet handle sticks and if not adjusted every time the water runs non-stop.

Hot water in the shower turns itself off unless turned on to a full level. One must be careful not to be scalded.

Room 1 is the only one with no mini fridge made worse for 3 reasons:

They have no ice available
There is no place near by to buy ice
The charge for this room is higher than other rooms with a fridge & microwave

There was only one wall outlet visible in both rooms. A second was hidden at about 7’ high out of sight on top of the light fixture in the bathroom, The manager lent us 2 extension cords so we could use that one as well as the one in the main room. We had to unplug the clock or TV to use the one and only wall outlet. We had extension cords strung all over the room for the duration.

They do have an electric water pot but it had a very short cord on a desk nowhere near the only wall outlet, which is close to the floor near the outside door. To heat water for tea or coffee without the extension cord, you would have to unplug the clock or TV and put the pot on the floor.

Security was poor as the dead bolt was close to impossible to lock from the outside. In addition the screen door slammed loud every time you entered or left the room.

Unfortunately we stayed here for 3 days and because it was the first weekend of the Shakespeare Festival there were no other rooms available in town. In spite of these and other major problems the manager charged us full price for the duration. As a basic courtesy he should have at least reduced the charges or offered some kind of compensation for the ongoing issues we experienced throughout our stay. We would recommend another place to stay in Ashland.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at the Manor Motel make sure you don't stay in Room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was our second time staying at the Manor Motel. We've stayed at other places for a comparable price but found this quaint gem and really enjoyed our stays. We enjoy how close it is to the Shakespeare Festival. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk. (Did it in 15 with my 6 year old - that's how close it is.) We have always found it clean, the kitchenette stocked with what we needed and the managers very friendly. In the first unit we stayed in the bathroom was very small, and being a larger person it was a bit of a squeeze. In the second unit we had a full bath, full size fridge and even a little garden for the kids to play in. It is an older motel so don't expect new flat screens etc. However, for the price, how close it is to downtown and to have our own kitchen it is our top choice for place to stay in Ashland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nrthstr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.2 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Flagship Inn of Ashland
Flagship Inn of Ashland
#12 of 19 in Ashland
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
703 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Ashland
Rodeway Inn Ashland
#13 of 19 in Ashland
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Address: 476 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1750
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £50 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Motel is a quaint 40’s style motel located in a quiet garden setting. Originally, the motel was a 1940’s auto court with its own distinctive style. We are within a short walk to the Shakespeare Theater, restaurants and The Plaza (downtown Ashland).The Manor features 12 one- and two-bed units, seven of which have fully equipped kitchens, and five that are equipped with mini-fridges, microwaves, and coffeemakers. We have shaded picnic areas with tables and chairs for your leisurely enjoyment. All rooms have direct dial telephones, cable television, free wireless internet, and air conditioning. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.Helman Street Guest House and Studios consists of three units. The main house is a charming early 1900's two bedroom/two bathroom that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from the Plaza, resaurants, and theaters. The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, has a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the large master bathroom. The second bathroom is also downstairs and has a vintage claw-foot bathtub/shower combination. The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Rollaway beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing