We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one to remember”
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not one to remember”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had a rush of nostalgia when we first pulled up to the Manor Motel -- a 50's style motor inn, with a friendly representative at the front desk. Just the kind of place my parents would have taken me to when I was growing up.

But once we entered the room, the nostalgia died quickly. The carpet was filthy. There was a trash can full of someone else's garbage. The cups were unwashed. The wall paper and tile were peeling off the walls. And the shower -- let's just say I felt dirtier when I came out than when I first went in, with mold and mildew all over the floor and a shower that couldn't run hot and cold water together.

Mom wouldn't have put up with any of this. Maybe you shouldn't either.

Still, it's probably the cheapest place in Ashland within walking distance of the theater. And with a little more attention, I'm convinced it could really be a gem. But it's not there now...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
32
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We love old fashioned "motor courts" and this one is perfect. It is close to the highway and to downtown Ashland. It is quaint and clean with a full kitchen and regular size coffee pot, not one of those one cuppers. We stayed in room 7 which might be due to having a pet There was no pet smell and i would pick this room again as it is on the end so more private. The only suggestion i would make would be to either get new bath towels or provide more than two skimpies. I can see we will be back to this place again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night in number 10 in mid-July, 2013. Clean, comfortable and just what we needed after a long road trip as the last night. We were tired of traveling and just needed a place to spend the night before the last leg back to California. We were away from the road, so it wasn't noisy. I spent time in the little garden at the back just reading. Two couples were sharing dinner at the table and chairs. When I had no money for the maid, Steve, the manager, offered to cover it for me. Very kind. I remembered I had a check-book, so I was good. This is not fancy, but neither is it plastic. Everything worked. We were comfortable and on our way the next morning. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is truly a vintage motel. We stayed in Room 1 for three days.
Upon checking in, we received a sheet of important information. It should be read.
The one thing that was "good to know" was that housekeeping does not come by automatically each day! Housekeeping is between 9 am and 3pm and unless you have your sign out requesting maid service hung on your door knob, you won't get housekeeping. I'm glad I caught that.

Room 1 is a two room suite and is good for families.
The Good - Wifi was wonderful in this room. The AC worked very well. There was a refrigerator and hot pot in good working order. The beds were firm, just the way I like them. They had extra blankets in the closet. The owners are nice and friendly. There is a great place to eat breakfast just two blocks away called the Breadboard. There is a park-like setting on the property that allows for some nice shade, relaxation, and neighborly chitchat. Lastly, someone previouly commented on the toilet handle getting stuck - well it must have been fixed because it worked just fine. Housekeeping did a great job and the place was very clean.

The Not-So-Great - The bathroom is small. Part of that "vintage" theme. The toilet has a few inches on either side before you hit wall. People could literally be too big for this bathroom. Few outlets. The one in the bathroom is up on the light. It was a good thing we had a 12" extension cord with us or I wouldn't have been able to reach it for my hairdryer. Road noise. Linens were on the cheap side - newer but really thin. I could have used two towels after my shower.

This was a fine room for the price and location and overall I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keliiaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped here after a miserable drive to see a show in Ashland. The man helping us was very friendly and made sure that we were comfortable, both in choice of room and cost. The motel is older, but charming. All of the appliances/amenities in the room worked and met our needs. For a one night stay, it fit the bill! We will probably stay there again when we see a show in the fall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richarbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Cute and quirky -- clean, too. But the bathrooms are miserably small. Stayed in Room 3. Toilet is wedged in a space only as wide as the toilet. A large person could NOT get in there. No electrical outlet in cramped bath (space measures 6x5 at most!) and few in the other rooms (two bedrooms and a kitchenette). Great location, friendly staff. No ice machine on the property so you have to get it at the nearby market.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Manor Motel has small cottage like rooms, many with kitchens. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were clean. Steve, the property manager, is very friendly and fun to talk to. We could walk to downtown to get to the restaurants and Shakespeare Festival theaters. If you don't mind having the basics and nothing fancy, this is a very good place to stay for a very reasonable rate. When we return to Ashland, we'll stay here again. The only downside, which we thought was more humorous and the makings of a good story, was the very small bathroom. The toilet is located between walls that are literally 2-3 inches on either side of the back of the toilet, and you get to it by squeezing by the sink. An average or smaller sized person would have no problems, but someone bigger would likely have trouble fitting into the space. They are slowly renovating the rooms to enlarge the bathrooms, so ask for a larger bathroom if you think you'd be more comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are a larger sized person, ask for a room with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
3.2 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
206 reviews
14.3 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#6 of 19 in Ashland
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Property: Manor Motel
Address: 476 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1750
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Motel is a quaint 40’s style motel located in a quiet garden setting. Originally, the motel was a 1940’s auto court with its own distinctive style. We are within a short walk to the Shakespeare Theater, restaurants and The Plaza (downtown Ashland).The Manor features 12 one- and two-bed units, seven of which have fully equipped kitchens, and five that are equipped with mini-fridges, microwaves, and coffeemakers. We have shaded picnic areas with tables and chairs for your leisurely enjoyment. All rooms have direct dial telephones, cable television, free wireless internet, and air conditioning. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.Helman Street Guest House and Studios consists of three units. The main house is a charming early 1900's two bedroom/two bathroom that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from the Plaza, resaurants, and theaters. The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, has a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the large master bathroom. The second bathroom is also downstairs and has a vintage claw-foot bathtub/shower combination. The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Rollaway beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing