We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland(Ashland)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Windsor Inn(Ashland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lithia Springs Resort(Ashland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm(Ashland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$1,107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Callahan's Mountain Lodge(Ashland)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayberry Inn(Ashland)
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
491
304
82
30
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
491
304
82
30
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationshakespeare festivalquichelithia parkwithin walking distancerestaurants and shopsmain buildingbreakfast roombest westernsshort walkeasy walkpark the carfree breakfastgreat place to stayclose to downtownnice breakfastcomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were only here for 2 nights but really enjoyed being close enough to the downtown to walk around. It was really convenient, affordable, dog friendly, and clean. The rooms aren't huge but they are comfy. Had a fridge and hair dryer in the room as well. I would stay here again and I usually insist on a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Goddessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Bard's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We try to give each guest a superior experience and we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and all of your positive comments!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our first visit to Ashland and we wanted to stay somewhere close to town so I looked up hotels that would accommodate 3 people with 2 queen beds. The Bard's Inn virtual tour showed a suite with a queen bed in the main area and a separate bedroom with another queen. The room looked large and comfortable so I booked it.

Upon arrival, we did get a suite with a separate bedroom but it was not spacious at all. It was quite "cozy". All the furniture was placed very close together. Two people could not walk in the same area at one time, you'd run into each other. When I sat at the writing desk with my laptop, my husband tried to walk behind me but would run into the desk chair every time. Also, the desk was in a dark area of the room and there was no desk lamp, so in the evening, I would sit with my laptop on the bed since there were wall lamps on both sides of the bed.

The bathroom was small with no ventilation fan so it would steam up every time someone took a shower. The bathroom did have nice heat lights in the bathroom though. If you like soft, thick towels, you'd best bring your own. The towels here are thin and on the rough side.

On the plus side, they have a continental breakfast, a refrigerator in the room and the heating system worked well. There is a coffee maker in the room also but it is under the bathroom sink because there is no other place to put it.

We only stayed one night so we put up with all of the little annoyances but next time we'll try the Ashland Springs Hotel or the Plaza Inn and Suites which is right across the street.

Oh, and our room had little black ants in the bathroom and the front room. Not a lot but enough to be noticeable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Bard's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

On behalf of my entire staff, please accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay with us. We try to create a superior guest experience for each guest so when we fail, such as we did in your case, it is simply unacceptable. We do listen to our guests and if we had known your feelings while you were on our property we would have done everything within our power to rectify the situation. I have forwarded your comments to our owner, Jonathan Warren for follow up and hope you will reconsider giving us another try. If I can address any specific item in the meantime please call (541) 482-0049. Sincerely, Holly Harding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

What a shock when we drove in the driveway and saw the sad, tired old building - but what a wonderful surprise when the front desk told us we were booked in their much more modern building across the street! Now this was a "PLUS" experience. We were most comfortable in the spacious, bright, modern, quiet room with a view. AND thrilled that our 2 small dogs could accompany us - we weren't stuck in a dungey old "pet-friendly" hole. Close to great restaurants for dinner. Bravo. OH, and the next morning's (included) breakfast back at the old building was the best we have had at any breakfast-included hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SereneMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Bard's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding our property and your stay. We hope that we can host your future trips to Ashland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel was over the top for my wife and I! Even though initially we thought the room was sort of small, it was very well maintained and very clean. The updates to the hotel are very recent and the location to downtown and the theatres is absolutely great, We had great WI FI connectivity within in our room and they even had two PC's in the lobby for guest use as well. The pillow top King size bed was the most comfortable one I have ever slept in at a Best Western. Adding the extended contInental breakfast they offered each morning made our stay the best ever. We will be returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Second floor room is always a good option for better WI FI reception
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Bard's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay at our property. We so enjoy giving our guests a superior experience! We look forward to your next visit to Ashland.

Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Service the Ashland Shakespeare scene as well as the supporting environs, this hotel is quiet (even on New Year's Eve), clean, and exactly what you want at the end of a day of driving.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Bard's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

On behalf our entire staff may I say "Thank You!" for staying with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our property as well as your recent stay. Sincerely, Holly Harding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews