We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Ashland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bard's Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Ashland”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I am giving this review a "very good" rating because the room we stayed in on our first visit was excellent. A bit small for our family of 4, but still a great view out our balcony and it was very quiet. We stayed in the newer building across the street from the original Bards Inn. Our room faced South, towards downtown. We were on the top floor. The free breakfast was good. There were several choices...even pancakes made to order from a special machine. The kids loved that! Plus, all of the usuals such as toast, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, sausage, breakfast burritos, juices, and coffee. If you are looking for a heartier breakfast, Munchies had a great breakfast menu. And, was very good!
The pool is being renovated, so be aware of that. Not sure when that is supposed to be finished.
Our second night, on our way back through town, we stayed in another building. This time it was on the East side. I think there were only 8 rooms total in that building. Seemed much older, smelled a bit strange, had a small ant problem in the bathroom, but was slightly larger than the other room we stayed in. So, it was okay. We probably would have enjoyed it more if our neighbors below us would have been more curtious! Had to call the front desk at 11:30pm to see if they could get them to be quiet...after we asked nicely. Oh well.
Overall, we enjoyed our stays at the Bards Inn. We'd probably stay again...after requesting to stay in the newer building, top floor!

Room Tip: Request a top floor room in the newer building across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzsherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and letting folks know about our extensive complimentary breakfast. I am happy to report that the pool and spa will be completely finished (renovation) on or before May 1, 2012. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. We hope to see you again, the next time you venture to Ashland!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    258
    70
    24
    24
See reviews for
245
305
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were only here for 2 nights but really enjoyed being close enough to the downtown to walk around. It was really convenient, affordable, dog friendly, and clean. The rooms aren't huge but they are comfy. Had a fridge and hair dryer in the room as well. I would stay here again and I usually insist on a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Goddessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We try to give each guest a superior experience and we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and all of your positive comments!
Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LO, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our first visit to Ashland and we wanted to stay somewhere close to town so I looked up hotels that would accommodate 3 people with 2 queen beds. The Bard's Inn virtual tour showed a suite with a queen bed in the main area and a separate bedroom with another queen. The room looked large and comfortable so I booked it.

Upon arrival, we did get a suite with a separate bedroom but it was not spacious at all. It was quite "cozy". All the furniture was placed very close together. Two people could not walk in the same area at one time, you'd run into each other. When I sat at the writing desk with my laptop, my husband tried to walk behind me but would run into the desk chair every time. Also, the desk was in a dark area of the room and there was no desk lamp, so in the evening, I would sit with my laptop on the bed since there were wall lamps on both sides of the bed.

The bathroom was small with no ventilation fan so it would steam up every time someone took a shower. The bathroom did have nice heat lights in the bathroom though. If you like soft, thick towels, you'd best bring your own. The towels here are thin and on the rough side.

On the plus side, they have a continental breakfast, a refrigerator in the room and the heating system worked well. There is a coffee maker in the room also but it is under the bathroom sink because there is no other place to put it.

We only stayed one night so we put up with all of the little annoyances but next time we'll try the Ashland Springs Hotel or the Plaza Inn and Suites which is right across the street.

Oh, and our room had little black ants in the bathroom and the front room. Not a lot but enough to be noticeable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
On behalf of my entire staff, please accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay with us. We try to create a superior guest experience for each guest so when we fail, such as we did in your case, it is simply unacceptable. We do listen to our guests and if we had known your feelings while you were on our property we would have done everything within our power to rectify the situation. I have forwarded your comments to our owner, Jonathan Warren for follow up and hope you will reconsider giving us another try. If I can address any specific item in the meantime please call (541) 482-0049. Sincerely, Holly Harding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

What a shock when we drove in the driveway and saw the sad, tired old building - but what a wonderful surprise when the front desk told us we were booked in their much more modern building across the street! Now this was a "PLUS" experience. We were most comfortable in the spacious, bright, modern, quiet room with a view. AND thrilled that our 2 small dogs could accompany us - we weren't stuck in a dungey old "pet-friendly" hole. Close to great restaurants for dinner. Bravo. OH, and the next morning's (included) breakfast back at the old building was the best we have had at any breakfast-included hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SereneMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding our property and your stay. We hope that we can host your future trips to Ashland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakebay, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel was over the top for my wife and I! Even though initially we thought the room was sort of small, it was very well maintained and very clean. The updates to the hotel are very recent and the location to downtown and the theatres is absolutely great, We had great WI FI connectivity within in our room and they even had two PC's in the lobby for guest use as well. The pillow top King size bed was the most comfortable one I have ever slept in at a Best Western. Adding the extended contInental breakfast they offered each morning made our stay the best ever. We will be returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Second floor room is always a good option for better WI FI reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay at our property. We so enjoy giving our guests a superior experience! We look forward to your next visit to Ashland.

Sincerely,
Holly Harding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Service the Ashland Shakespeare scene as well as the supporting environs, this hotel is quiet (even on New Year's Eve), clean, and exactly what you want at the end of a day of driving.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
On behalf our entire staff may I say "Thank You!" for staying with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our property as well as your recent stay. Sincerely, Holly Harding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We love staying here as it is so close to the theaters and there are plenty of restaurants across the street. The suites are definitely worth the extra money as they feel like a home base for when we stay. Only downside is the intermittent internet. I guess it runs fine in the main buildings but is constantly rebooting in the property across the main street.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joonipar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we so appreciate you staying with us when you travel to Ashland. On behalf of my entire staff, please accept my sincere apology for the intermittent internet service. This is not a normal occurance but if that ever happens to you again, please notify our front desk immediately and we will get our computer tech out to solve the problem. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to Ashland. Sincerely, Holly Harding General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.0 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
678 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bard's Inn

Property: Best Western Bard's Inn
Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing