We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best BWs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Bard's Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best BWs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the BW Bard's Inn during a recent trip to the Shakespeare Festival and were pleasantly surprised. This is one of BW's nicer facilities. The rooms were comfortable, the linen high-end and the location couldn't be better, an easy walk to the theatres. The pool and hot tub were nice too. The breakfasts are basic but I prefer that to some of the heavy fare offered at pricier B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cxcroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest:
WOW! Thank you for the positive review of our property and your stay with us! We are absolutely committed to each guest having a superior experience when they choose to stay with us. We are ecstatic that you felt we are one of the best Best Westerns that you have ever stayed at. We look forward to your next adventure in Ashland!

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    242
    66
    23
    23
See reviews for
227
281
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Walk to OSF performances and any restaurant in town. They have a small pool and no excercise room. Wide variety of rooms from small to large with jacuzzi so check that out. Good generous Best Western breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pjacroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We're so glad you chose to stay at our property. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as our complimentary breakfast. Hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

horrible customer service owner is a stuck up snob fire arm went off all night and no service loud noises all night and still didn't get anything but we are working on it.all that money just for one night of hell.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you suffered during the night two drunken guests decided to pull the fire alarm for "fun". We tried to get the alarm turned off as soon as possible. However, I am sorry that you felt that our owner was not handling it as well as he should have. We were trying to handle the problem as expediently as possible.

If you need further assistance in this matter you can call me at 1-800 533-9627.

Thank you,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This Best Western is ideally located for those who are attending the Ashland Shakespeare Festival (Bard's Inn, get it?), parking is available and free with a parking tag placed on your dashboard. Guests are even given a bag with a couple of bottled waters and 2 granola bars upon check in. But that's where the niceties end. This is really just a regular old-fashioned motel that has been somewhat upgraded with puzzling amenities mixed with tired infrastructure. There are high end linens on the beds with giant pillows that perforce have to be stored on the worn carpet. The indoor/outdoor carpet covering an upstairs walkway has strange bumps and level discrepancies (like a hazard on a mini-golf course) that could possibly trip up a senior citizen and send them tumbling down the stairs. Breakfast is the typical "breakfast is included" fare of bagels and pastries with the addition of an egg burrito and a mini quiche. I don't know, I just wish that US Best Westerns were up to the standards of those found in Europe. Elegant decor, great breakfasts and family-owned businesses where the staff takes pride in being hoteliers. All for the price we paid here for mediocrity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs if you have trouble navigating stairs and an uneven upstairs walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveitaly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review of our property. We do have four unique buildings. The building you are describing in your review is of our original building. We would like you to come back and try one of our other buildings, where we do have "higher" end decor and amenities. We are a family owned business and try to give the kind of service you are describing in your review. I am sorry that you felt we were unsuccessful. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the complimentary breakfast.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you're heading to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, this Best Western adheres to the most important business advice ever: location, location, location. Three blocks away from the OSF with a walk past Ashland Creek and great little restaurants should make this a true gem. Beautifully styled with lots of Shakespearean art and decor made this place seem to be the perfect place.

But it is not. The front desk personnel were wonderful but the keys didn't work. There are three separate buildings so we had to keep running back and forth to the main building. Plus, every time you want to use the stairs or elevator, you have to use your key. Rooms are very small and, for a family of four, we were very cramped, plus the fact that they have three very large and decorative pillows on each bed...were do you put those when you want to lay down? The bedspreads are beautiful and augment the style of the room, but the material they are made of is slippery (??) and kept sliding off the bed all night. I get up early but my family does not...and at 8:10 a.m., the spray-blasting began outside our window!! You would have thought that we should have been forewarned. Previous reviews had stated that a great breakfast was offered but it was way over-rated: gross little quiches, hard pancakes from a very bizarre machine and no doughnuts or danish. Checkout was supposed to be at 11:00 but when we went back to our room at 10:15 the maid was already working in there!!

This hotel is the epitome of the triumph of style over substance, location over common sense.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
So sorry we did not give you a superior stay. This survey has been forwarded to our owner, Jonathan Warren for review and follow up. We hope that you would consider us for a future stay but again I am sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations this time. If I can assist further in this regard, please call me at 1 800 533-9627.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Awesome place, close to sweet downtown shops, river trail, and has a lovely little pool and hot tub...Bonus: Pet friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Everyone was friendly and helpful, and we loved the breakfast (pancake maker! Whoa!) Definitely would stay here again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and enjoying your stay! So glad that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast, the pancakes especially, as well as our staff and being able to bring your pet with you on vacation. We can't wait until your next visit to Ashland!

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This Best Western was conveniently located and an easy drive to San Francisco. The breakfast had many choices from scrambled eggs to biscuits and gravy to fresh fruit to donuts, and more. The bed was very comfortable. The price was very reasonable for hotels in the Bay Area. Even though it was located near the airport, with earplugs there was no excessive noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.0 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bard's Inn

Property: Best Western Bard's Inn
Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing