We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bard's Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We reserved a suite that was $240 a night for Ashland's Shakespeare Festival expecting something nice at that rate. The bedroom and bath room were acceptable but the "living room" was nothing more than a hallway with some seedy furniture. On the floor below the same space was in fact a hallway with the same mismatched old chairs - apparently they haven't yet converted it to a living room. Front desk person actually rude with a "the customer is always wrong" attitude, never felt so ripped off. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thanks for writing a review however I sure wish more accurate information was given. As demonstrated in previous reviews our front desk has been consistently acknowledged for superior customer service. In addition, every one of our rooms have been remodeled so not sure about your comment regarding "seedy" furniture.
I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed with the room you were assigned as well as our front desk staff member interaction with you.
If you would like to discuss this situation, please call me at 1 800 533-9627 or you can email me at info@bardsinn.com.
Sincerely,
Holly H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    252
    68
    23
    24
See reviews for
237
290
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very nice motel and conveniently located right on the northern edge of downtown Ashland. Numerous restaurants, pubs and shops within an easy walk. Beautiful Lithia Park is only a couple blocks away and is a perfect place to take a daily walk. The motel is separated into three building and we were lucky enough to get a room in the main building where the pool is located. The excellent complimentary breakfast is also served near the pool. The other buildings are across the street. No reflection on the Bard's Inn but there are quite a few panhandlers downtown and in close proximity to the motel. We couldn't walk a block without being approached.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest:,
Thank you for the review of our property. The room you were lucky to get was one of our Standard rooms located in our Nottingham building.

As far as the panhandlers go: yes it is a problem that Ashland is trying to address. We do not want our visitors to be accosted in any way. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by them.

We hope you will stay with us the next time you venture to Ashland. If I can be of any help at all please call 1 800 533-9627 or email me at info@bardsinn.com.

Sincerely,

Holly H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel was real old, but comfy. Good check in experience, and check out was good too. We did not stay for the breakfast, as we had to leave early. Quiet and clean room, very small, and did miss having a microwave in our room. Might try the other Best Western at the south end of town next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 547kathleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Yes, as stated previously our Standard King rooms are small. We do provide a microwave upon request at no charge.

We appreciate your business and if you need further assistance do not hesitate to call me at 1 800 533-9627 or you can email me at info@bardsinn.com.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Convenient in downtown Ashland, this would be a perfect place to stay if you were there to see a play, to enjoy the beautiful little town of Ashland OR, or just on your way through to somewhere else. Good, clean, modest accommodations with all the expected amenities, a huge and comfortable bed, great guest-controlled air conditioning, a good continental-style breakfast, and smooth check-in, check-out. Reasonable rates, a great location, quiet even though directly on the main thoroughfare, and (in the case of our room) covered parking - the hotel is scattered around several sites, not all with covered parking, so it depends on what room you're in!) This is an old-fashioned inn in the sense that it is not located right next to the interstate highway, but rather is right in downtown Ashland. Check-in, then check out this lovely little town on foot - give your poor car a much-needed rest, and yourself a little exercise! Costs in Ashland are higher "in the season" i.e. when the plays are being presented. But this hotel is always a good bargain relative to others nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I must agree with your entire review of our property and I thank you for writing it. We try to accommodate everyone so each of our four buildings are unique and inviting for every taste.

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to Ashland!

Sincerely,

Holly H
1 800 533-9627 or email: info@bardsinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

While certainly not a fancy hotel, the Bard's Inn in Ashland is a winner on many different levels:
its proximity to town can't be beat (only a block away from downtown Ashland), its staff were outstanding in customer service, breakfast was a treat (especially the automatic pancake maker), and the price is unbelievable. Anyone going to Ashland for the theatre or just to wander the town, couldn't do better for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review of our property. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next adventure in Ashland.

If you should need to reach me for any reason, please call 1 800 533-9627 or if you would rather email me, please do so at info@bardsinn.com.

Thanks again for staying with us!

Holly H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of downtown Ashland, convenient to restaurants, parks and the theatre district where the Shakespeare Festival takes place. However, be warned that the rooms with 1 King bed are very small and cramped. The décor has been updated and beds are comfortable, but there is room for just one medium sized suitcase in the room. The rooms are quite overpriced, probably due to the hotel's location. Also, room doors open to an outdoor hallway, so not very secure although they come with 3 locks! The pool is small but nice and the hot tub is toasty warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of our property. Yes, the Standard King rooms are small but we have not had a price increase on those rooms for four years. Most all hotel rooms that are located in the downtown area start at $199 and above and we have tried to give a less expensive option for folks. I am glad you enjoyed our hot tub and pool and remember that we have four distinctly different buildings.

We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Ashland. In the meantime, if I can be of further assistance please call me at 1 800 533-9627 or email me at info@bardsinn.com.

Sincerely,

Holly H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duvall, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a very nice hotel with an excellent restaurant and separate bar. It also had 1st floor rooms with sliding doors out to the parking lot which made it easy to unload the car or it would be great for a disabled person. Also within walking distance to other eatery's and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H, General Manager at Best Western Bard's Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the review of our property but I did want to let others know that we do not have a restaurant or bar as you indicated in your review. We are located downtown, just one block north of the plaza area so very convenient to all the attractions, shops and restaurants.
If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to call me at 1 800 533-9627.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Best Western Bards Inn
email: info@bardsinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.9 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bard's Inn

Property: Best Western Bard's Inn
Address: 132 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing