We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best!”
Review of Arden Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden Forest Inn
Ranked #16 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have been staying at the Arden Forest Inn for many years for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and I always look forward to my stay. It is simply the most comfortable place to stay! The rooms are cozy and the beds very comfortable. You'll sleep well! Bill and Corbet are wonderful hosts. When they join you for breakfast in the morning the talk around the table is never dull and never stilted! They know everything about the Festival and breakfast is always a delight (punctuated with much humor), plus it's the best around! Bill is an excellent cook! Whether you are traveling solo or with friends and family, you'll never feel awkward at Arden Forest Inn. The guests mix well with each other. Before I found Arden Forest I had stayed at other B&B's, but now I could never stay any place else. In the warmer months enjoy the pool, the gazebo, or recline on the hammock under the trees. They maintain a beautiful big yard. The deck or the gazebo in back is where we always gather for wine and crackers in the afternoon or for a late night glass after the theatre. You can walk to the theatre safely. Any questions you have about the Festival, Bill & Corbet can answer.

Room Tip: There is one suite on the top floor of the main house that sleeps 4 - 1 queen bed and 2 twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conmck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We returned to the Arden Forest Inn and were not disappointed. The breakfasts continue to be great. The pool is welcoming on a hot day and relatively uncrowded. The rooms are spotless and perfect for persons attending the festival (no TV - and a radio that seems perpetually tuned to NPR). The hosts and guests and their opinions about the festival plays are almost always interesting. Only problem - the in-house computer is gone - hope it will be replaced soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I hesitate to leave a glowing review because I always want to be able to find a room here and it's hard enough as it is. I l-o-v-e this place. The minute I arrive, I immediately feel relaxed and comfortable. I've been staying here twice a year for 12 years for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and I've stayed in all the room at one time or another. They are all lovely and comfortable. I sleep so soundly when I'm at Arden Forest. It's close enough to the theaters for a lovely walk, but far enough away so that you don't hear any of the noise from town. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelbelle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

If you are going to Ashland to see plays, this is the place to stay. The two guys who run this B & B are really into theater. A high percentage of their business is repeat. The gourmet breakfast ends up being two or more hours because the table reviews and critiques the plays. If you haven't seen some plays and are curious about them, the actors, or the theaters, Bill and/or Corbet will provide information. Occasionally actors drop by to say hi, and stay for a discussion.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Something is Rotten in the State of Denmark!

Well perhaps, but all is well at Arden Forest Inn.

We just finished our yearly Spring Break trip to Ashland, The Shakespeare Festival, and Arden Forest Inn.

It was a truly wonderful trip. Ashland was great, the plays were outstanding, and Bill and Corbet true to form were the perfect hosts.

A little bit of spring rain brought the gardens to life and the snow in the nearby mountains created a wonderful contrast as the sun started to appear.

Once again Bill’s breakfast creations were perfect and the conversation spirited, informative, and always entertaining.

We hope to not wait another year before we return again to the comfortable confines of Arden Forest and Inn Keepers Corbet and Bill.

Karl & Lisa

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

if you like the theatre, you'll LOVE Arden Forest Inn (AFI)... Breakfasts are the highlight of this B&B, where the hosts - Corbet and Bill - sit with the guests and lead interesting and rousing discussuions of the current OSF plays, other theatre and a wealth of varied topics and issues. There is much humor and laughter. Many of the guests have been attending the plays for years; and have continued to return to AFI. This aspect has always added a wonderful continuity to our stay in Ashland.

In addition to the great discussions, AFI has approximately 2/3 acre of beautifully landscaped grounds for guests to enjoy; as well as period appointed rooms and living areas open to guests for relaxing, reading, and group conversation.

AFI is a warm and friendly environment that feels like staying with extended family. We love it! -- it is one of the high points of our visit. In fact, we like it so much that we return in October.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citoyendumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed at AFI because it was the only B&B in Ashland that had a room for more than 2 people when we made reservations in April. What an amazing surprise when we arrived at what has to be one of the best B&B's ever. Gorgeous rooms; welcoming, helpful, interesting, intelligent hosts; beautiful, restful gardens; wonderful breakfasts of carefully selected fruit and breads, delicious, imaginative quiche and frittatas. Great conversation with the hosts and our fellow guests at breakfast, and helpful information about the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.

Our fantasy-obsessed 14-year-old daughter was in heaven, discovering magical nooks in the garden and magical pieces of art here and there, and gushing to her Facebook friends on the wi-fi network. A teenager more interested in hanging out with other teens might not have enjoyed it as much,

One note of caution: the wee folk keep a huge bowl of Peanut M&Ms, always magically full, on the library table 24/7. Beware! And what a library!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moof50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.0 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Forest Inn

Property: Arden Forest Inn
Address: 261 West Hersey Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1721
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the cares of everyday life and experience the majesty of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival at our Ashland, Oregon B&B. Our comfy rooms, amazing breakfasts and gracious service stand apart from all other Ashland bed and breakfasts. Take advantage of our staff’s extensive theatre knowledge while you enjoy a dip in the pool or stroll in our enchanting gardens. Discover an escape from the ordinary Ashland, Oregon hotel at the Arden Forest Inn. ~ A Special Thanks ~To all of the many loyal guests and friends of Arden Forest Inn, we wish to offer our most heartfelt thanks for the extraordinary love and support sent our way this past year during the most challenging time of our lives. Bill's transplant was very successful and he is expected to be back - 100% - creating his culinary magic in the coming year. Both Corbet and Bill are looking forward to seeing all of you in 2013. For all the guests that we did not get to meet last year due to our absence we are sorry you didn't get to have the full Arden Forest experience, but we look forward to the possibility of meeting you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arden Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing