We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience”
Review of Arden Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arden Forest Inn
Ranked #16 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Arcata, CA
1 review
“Fabulous Experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2007

We have just experienced another delightful stay at the Arden Forest Inn in Ashland! The room was cozy, the grounds lovely, and the breakfasts delicious! But, the best part of our stay, as always, was the interaction with the innkeepers, Corbett and Bill! They are so knowledgable about the Shakespear Festival and all of the plays. It is truely a great experience! Zach and Margie

  • Liked — The Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — It is all positive!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mzarcata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

I travel frequently around the country, in Europe, and in Asia -- and I return habitually to only one place: the Arden Forest Inn. The ambience, the warm reception and attention of the hosts, the conviviality of the guests, the superb breakfasts, the convenient location, the amenities -- all are tops! The long, lazy, informed conversations with both hosts and guests are surely the highlight of any stay. I always leave relaxed, refreshed -- and ready to return again.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA near SF
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2007

We stayed six nights and the owners, Corbet and Bill made great breakfasts and discussed the previous day's plays with the guests. They see all the OSFplays at least once themselves and are very knowledgeable. But, it is very lighthearted conversation full of humor and laughter for everyone.
One morning, two guests had their 12 year old son with them and Corbet and Bill made sure the conversation enabled the boy to fully participate as much he wanted too which made it great for all of us adults also.

  • Liked — Great hosts, beautiful gardens and rooms
  • Disliked — No least
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MacJohnConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Karen and I have been traveling to Ashland for almost 20 years to see a sampling of the plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and spend a long weekend in this great town with lots to do and excellent restaurants. For the first 15 years we stayed at a different B and B every year. Some were good. Some were mediocre. Some were bizarre. We then stayed at the Arden Forest Inn and have gone back every year since. The breakfasts are superb, the garden and pool are great for relaxing and the hosts Bill and Corbett always have something interesting to say about the plays and life in general. Karen and I would highly recommend the Arden Forest Inn. We'll be back there again in August of 2007.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank JakePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We've been coming to Arden Forest for many years. The rooms are wonderful, the grounds exquisite and the pool refreshing. It's unique quality is the family style breakfast--so if you are a crudmudgeony misanthrope don't come here! Being able to chat about the shared experiences of the plays and share in Ashland's overall appeal at breakfast is a treat. Moreover, its a delight meeting new friends. Bill and Corbet are terrific inn keepers--witty and knowledgable. You are close enough to town to walk to the plays as well.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank b3autifuldisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer AK
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2007

My wife and son took me to Arden Forest Inn as a birthday present. Wow. The setting is wonderful and the food is great. But the best part of Arden Forest are the owners. Bill and Corbett are the quintessential hosts: knowledgable, funny and entertaining. You know it's a good sign when you find the morning has passed you by and you haven't yet pushed away from the breakfast table.

Conversations run from plays to politics to metaphysics. My teenage son actually made it down to breakfast a few mornings because he didn't want to miss anything.

It goes without saying that the rooms are restful -- the one on the second floor in particular, being caught, as it is, in some sort of time warp where hours pass by unnoticed.

I mean, they even have a hammock and pool in the back yard, biscotti in the rooms and a magical bowl of M & M's which somehow replenishes itself. The location is perfect: within easy walking distance of the theaters, restaurants and the park. We never used the car the entire time we were there.

What a great place! Well worth a return visit.

Dan Westerburg

  • Liked — Owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HomerAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

This was our first visit to the quaint town of Ashland and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of accommodation. The Arden Forest Inn is a true find. The hosts, Bill and Corbet, are entertaining and welcoming. The inn is a beautiful property that has been lovingly restored and offers all the comforts of home. The breakfasts are truly outstanding, complete with the lively conversation about the Shakespeare plays everyone had seen the day/night before. And the cats are an added bonus! We would definitely choose this inn again, and appreciate the hospitality that was shown us during our stay (3 nights). A great place!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness of hosts, breakfasts, beautiful grounds/rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Classics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
3.0 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Forest Inn

Property: Arden Forest Inn
Address: 261 West Hersey Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1721
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the cares of everyday life and experience the majesty of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival at our Ashland, Oregon B&B. Our comfy rooms, amazing breakfasts and gracious service stand apart from all other Ashland bed and breakfasts. Take advantage of our staff’s extensive theatre knowledge while you enjoy a dip in the pool or stroll in our enchanting gardens. Discover an escape from the ordinary Ashland, Oregon hotel at the Arden Forest Inn. ~ A Special Thanks ~To all of the many loyal guests and friends of Arden Forest Inn, we wish to offer our most heartfelt thanks for the extraordinary love and support sent our way this past year during the most challenging time of our lives. Bill's transplant was very successful and he is expected to be back - 100% - creating his culinary magic in the coming year. Both Corbet and Bill are looking forward to seeing all of you in 2013. For all the guests that we did not get to meet last year due to our absence we are sorry you didn't get to have the full Arden Forest experience, but we look forward to the possibility of meeting you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arden Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing