We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST OPTION IN TOWN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chanticleer Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SF, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“BEST OPTION IN TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hello dear reader, my wife and I were delighted with every aspect of our 3 night stay here. We were referred by a friend of hers and are grateful for that referral. Ellen is super nice, her breakfasts are special and our room had a wonderful view. Parking on site, along with A/C and Internet. What more could we have wanted. Oh yes, the Inn itself is beautiful and within easy walking distance of everything. That's all folks. Now, go and enjoy it yourself. JonZ, SF, CA

Room Tip: The view from the top floor is wonderful. I guess I forgot to mention the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Jon and Anita,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was such fun hosting you.

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
196
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mt shasta, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

It was a lovely night at the Chanticleer for my birthday this year. Max and Bert our two dogs also enjoyed it. Ellen makes a wonderful breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Love staying at the Chanticleer. We have been going to Asland for over 20 years and we love staying at different B and B's. This is the only one we have returned to and it is not only for the accomodations but because we really enjoy the Innkeeper Ellen. The rooms are lovely and unique in their own way. The bed we slept in was extremely comfortable which is not always the case in even the best establishments. Being able to walk downtown and to the theatre is a real plus especially after being in the car for hours. The views and the garden are lovely and the neighborhood is quiet. The breakfast is a culinary treat that includes a variety of dishes that are made fresh with local ingredients. You will definitely not go away hungry. In addition Ellen is prepared to honor any dietary restrictions. Ellen herself is one of the biggest selling points. She is very warm and welcoming and extremly knowlegable about the theatre, the area and a multitude of other topics. A visit to the Chanticleer is like visiting the home of a friend. We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have been coming to Ashland three or four times per year for many years to soak up its culture, people, and amenities. Since we always travel with our Chinese chow chow, we look for B&Bs that allow us to include her in the trip. While we have found a few B&Bs in Ashland that allow dogs, Ellen at the Chanticleer Inn not only allows dogs, she welcomes them as "part of the family". Right away this put her and the Inn close to the top of our list. But then we arrived for our first stay. Everything about the visit was primo: the location (walking distance to the theatres and downtown); mouthwatering, healthy food; quality of accommodations and, most importantly, the hospitality Ellen extended to us and all of her guests. We immediately felt at home. In fact, we deleted all other purportedly "dog friendly" B&Bs on our Contacts list and already have reserved our 2012 Ashland stays at the Inn!

For quality, ambiance, and hospitality, you cannot go wrong with Ellen Campbell and the Chanticleer Inn (and Kuan, the very happy Chinese Chow Chow, agrees - Woof!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdxwordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in room Pertelotte which has direct access to a very pretty garden terrace with table/chairs/Umbella. Room was a good size, very tastefully furnished and decorated.
Very nice guest sitting area. Breakfast was served at 9.00 with all guests on a single table, joined by Ellen (the inn keeper) when we were there. Top quality food and most enjoyable conversation. The location of the Inn is excellent for the theatres, shops etc (10 - 15 minute leisurely walk) yet it is quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLIVE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Chanticleer Inn last August. We are frequent visitors to the "Oregon Shakespeare Festival" in Ashland and wanted to stay in a new property this visit.
The room was very comfy, air conditioned (thank goodness in August), and the surrounding gardens serene. Ellen's breakfasts were excellent and her staff attentive.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Didn't see other rooms but ours was at top of stairs overlooking the eastern garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed overnight at the Chanticleer B&B in Ashland, OR. A lovely bed and breakfast: really comfortable bed, beautiful gardens, excellent breakfast and super location. An easy walk to town, the theaters and the great shops of Ashland. And a wonderful surprise is Ellen, the proprietor, who is friendly and welcoming and makes you feel like you're staying at the home of a good friend, someone you've known a long time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.2 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Property: Chanticleer Inn B&B
Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chanticleer Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing