We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashland B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend staying at the Chanticleer Inn - Ellen was a lovely hostess and has a wonderful home to share. We could walk to all the theaters and restaurants in town, we parked our car and never moved it. Breakfast was served promptly at nine and we had the opportunity to meet other travelers at her large table.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was very quiet and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimicampfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Chanticleer Inn is on the top of my list for great b&b stays. We had a friendly, personal greeting from the proprietor, both when arrived and left. The property is located a couple of blocks from downtown Ashland and the theater complex, so we were able to park and walk everywhere. The room was well-appointed and quiet, the bed comfortable, the shower was perfect, the breakfast excellent. But the best part was the wonderful garden! All the rooms face the garden, which is lush and cool. In fact one can enter and leave through the garden and directly to the door to your room. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Close to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, the Chanticleer is an excellent place to stay. It is well located and in walking distance to downtown Ashland. The rooms were well kept and very pleasant. The innkeeper Ellen is delightful and she was attentive to all our needs. Breakfast was delicious prepared by Ellen- the recipe right out of Ellen's cookbook. The guests at the Inn were interesting and we had a delightful conversation at the breakfast table. We throughly enjoyed our stay at Chanticleer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was a great place to stay on our first trip to Ashland. It is walking distance to everything in downtown Ashland. The rooms were well kept, with private bathrooms in each room. Breakfast every morning was great, and with fresh fruit, and two other servings, made lunch a distant thought. Ellen and her staff were great. While having the breakfast at one time, 9 a.m., made breakfast a little more formal than some B&Bs, it was nice meeting the other people at the table and also gave the staff a time to refresh the room each day. I have nothing but good things to say about this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalBayAreaTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Chanticleer is an excellent option if you need a B & B for your visit to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. And who doesn't? The location is close enough to theater grounds and other Ashland attractions to allow you to leave your car in the parking space for your entire stay. Rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with firm beds (ours was a king) and good showers. Breakfast is tasty. Ellen Campbell is an attentive hostess who met dietary needs. Complimentary sherry and port alongside the home-baked cookies was a nice touch. The price is a trifle high by Ashland standards (we paid $225 a night with tax) but, hey, you get what you pay for and we felt the Chanticleer was well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

No need to repeat many of the great things already said about Chanticleer Inn. The essence of a great B&B is that you get a high quality experience (the bedrooms, bathrooms are lovely!), with that little extra that one does not find in hotels. The unexpected pleasure of meeting and chatting - if you wish - with interesting guests during your stay, the beautiful breakfasts, the relaxing garden, the cookies and sherry available to you whenever you wish to sit and relax, read or whatever. Being able to just walk into town and to the theaters. Taking advantage of all the local knowledge - Ellen is wonderful. I would return to Chanticleer next time I am in Ashland and I would recommend it to any friend who travels there. It is that good!

Room Tip: If you have specific needs just ask Ellen in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've stayed at the Chanticleer a number of times over the years and always have a wonderful experience. The B&B is located up a hill, within walking distance of the Festival theater complex and downtown. Parking is provided. The gardens are beautiful and many of the beautiful rooms have access to patios. There is also a common area for guests to gather outdoors to sip some wine and be with other guests and friends if so desired The gardens and patios also provide a private refuge. The innkeeper, Ellen, is a terrific hostess, genuinely interested in her guests, and provides service beyond excellent. She and her staff are always available to meet every need, and serve gourmet breakfasts each morning (many items right out of the Chanticleer garden). Tasty treats are also available during the day and evening. Fellow guests share this beautiful warm ambience along with, of course, Shakespeare!

We love the Chanticleer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £123 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. Book directly on Chanticleer Inn's website for best price and availability. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing