We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #5 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a lovely place Chanticleer Inn is!!! Ellen thought of every little thing a person could possibly want or need!!!! The house is beautifully decorated and warm and inviting. The garden is beautiful and perfectly manicured. The shared spaces (living and dining rooms) were places where we got to meet and talk with Ellen and the other guests. Breakfast was artfully prepared and delicious!
The location is excellent for walking around town and near Lithia Park which was wonderful to explore!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joi2cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
200
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
742 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The reviewers have said it all...Ellen is a wonderful host and the location and setting is relaxing and lovely. We found it a bit pricey but know that Ashland during the festival charges higher rates...the room was comfortable and nicely appointed...we did hear people walking around upstairs as mentioned before (it is a beautiful older home). We traveled with our older dog and Ellen was sweet and inviting...there was a $20 per night doggie fee which we didn't know about...this was added although we skipped the house cleaning service the 2nd day. That being said...breakfast was tasty and interesting...and this is a relaxing, convenient and lovely location to stay in Ashland...the ponds, fountains and local deer are a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Chanticleer Inn and had a wonderful experience. Ellen is absolutely lovely and such a gracious host and amazing cook. We stayed in the Fleur suite and it was charming, clean with lots of space. The common sitting and dining areas are very comfortable and relaxing with a wealth of books, magazines and information on Ashland and the surrounding areas including a binder with restaurant menus. The location couldn't be better - a 10 minute walk to the Shakespeare Festival site and 5 minutes to the shops. The gardens are beautiful. Our whole experience was so positive. We will definitely stay again and make our trip to Ashland and the Chanticleer Inn an annual event. Thank you so much Ellen!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luloobelluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We loved the Chanticleer Inn! Ellen really makes you feel at home. She cooks everything from scratch and even shares her recipes. She is a wealth of information and tailored her advice to our specific taste. I was especially impressed with her willingness to accommodate my diabetic diet and to prepare breakfast for us the night before we left (since we left before the scheduled breakfast time). We had the large room on the ground floor, with direct access to the incredible garden. If you are headed to Ashland (and you should be!), this is the ONLY place to stay.

Room Tip: The large room on the ground floor was quite & had direct access to the wonderful garden. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Easy walk to theater and restaurants. Lovely rooms and garden. Ellen, the owner, is very knowledgeable and gracious, She knows everything about Ashland and Ashland's theater and restaurant scene. The B & B is a lovely choice with wonderful gardens and delicious, creative, and accommodating breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was our fourth trip to the Shakespeare Festival and we have stayed at the Chanticleer every time. It is always terrific. The rooms are very nice and the garden is beautiful. Ellen is a great hostess. The other guests are highly intelligent. Breakfast conversation with them is always interesting. I could not recommend it more highly and only wish that we lived closer by so that we could come there more often.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great location, quiet room, street. Super interesting guests. Owner is very intelligent, friendly and helpful. She also helped us charge our electric car! The house is beautiful with amazing gardens. The breakfast was very special with beautiful presentation. I think this was one of my favorite bed and breakfast experiences.

Room Tip: The airconditioner made the upstairs extremely comfortable and quiet. Only two rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy25130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Property: Chanticleer Inn B&B
Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chanticleer Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing