We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When you arrive at Chanticleer, you first notice the beautiful garden surrounding the home, complete with an array of plants, flowers, water features, and seating. (After our evening performances at the Shakespeare festival-- walking distance, by the way-- we looked forward to seeing the multiple soft lights lining the walkway to our room's door. Very quaint and romantic!) Our Jardin room was lovely and relaxing, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfasts were scrumptious. Ellen provided us with a couple very helpful tips on where to visit in the surrounding area, where to eat, and which route to take for the next leg of our journey. At breakfast time, we were especially struck by the multiple guests who were staying at Chanticleer for the umpteenth time. That, more than anything speaks volumes!

Room Tip: We liked the Jardin room, which was in the back of the home with its own entrance and situated right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiovanniLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for the delightful review. I very much enjoyed hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Immaculate and beautiful, but you still feel comfortable. Absolutely delightful place to stay just blocks from the festival. Quiet. Water garden in back is peaceful; a real work of art. Solid craftsmen style construction means house is quiet as well as neighborhood being quiet. House was constructed as a lodging so it doesn't have that "odd conversion" feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Deborah,
Thank you for your review. It was a joy to meet you and your hubby. I'm hoping that you come back for a longer time to explore Ashland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Chanticleer Inn was a wonderful and comfortable B & B. Our room was a lovely size and the king size bed was the best ever. Ellen's breakfast was perfect and original and was enough to keep you going all day. The other guests were an added bonus. Parking was easy and if you are going to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival it is an easy walk. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The Jardin room was perfect with easy access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardyplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Yes! It was great to host you. Thank you for your kind review.
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our first visit to Chanticleer (Shakespeare Festival of course). We chose the Inn because of reviews and realistic prices. Nothing disappointed. Ellen is a most gracious hostess and her staff excellent. Breakfasts were tasty and well presented without being over the top. Her living room has ample chairs and quite comfortable for relaxing. The single-most drawing card is its closeness to the Festival theaters (a bit of an uphill, but less than 6 blocks walk).

We were even greeted by the local "pet" a young mule deer, although its presence was quickly chased. The deer do too much damage to her plants (and she has a nice collection).

We plan to repeat our visits in the future. Ashland is a convenient meeting spot for my brother and me, and both families enjoy the weekend of Shakespeare Festival plays.

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dick_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Dick and Mary,

Thank you for your lovely review! It was fun having the Foursome here.
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This has been our second visit to Chanticleer Inn and will not be the last. We have developed an annual visit to the Shakespearean Festival, missing last year, and return to the awesome hospitality of Ellen and her crew. Quiet, charming and more home-like than home. A must for your stay and convenient to all the Ashland happenings.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms are cooler in the warm weather and our favorite has an outside entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Here we found folks visiting for many more years than us. Something is going well here. Maybe it is the breakfast, maybe it is Ellen herself, and maybe it is the combination. We are ready to make reservations for next year.

Room Tip: Upstairs for view and downstairs for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonz1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Mr. Jon Z,
Thank you for your review! Something is going well. From my way of looking at it maybe it's the wonderful guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've stayed in B&B's all over. This is hands down one of the very best. Start with our room, the Aerie. A huge room, with big bed, sofa, comfy chair, and a gorgeous view of the hills across the valley. And so quiet. The room is on the second floor and we never heard a peep from the rest of the house. Breakfasts were some of the best we've had, and Ellen, the hostess, clearly takes pride in making these special (she even has her own cookbook). Fresh, natural ingredients - some from her garden - and really interesting recipes. Plus outstanding coffee. The house is charming, set on a quiet hill just about a ten minute walk from the theatres - we never used our car during our stay. It's not cheap, but I would say the value is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.5 mi away
McCall House
McCall House
#5 of 30 in Ashland
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchester Inn
The Winchester Inn
#9 of 30 in Ashland
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £118 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. Book directly on Chanticleer Inn's website for best price and availability. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing