We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from our annual three night shakespere trip and for the fifth year of the five years we stayed at this wonderful B&B. Nola the long time innkeeper and her staff provide a delightful experience.
And, it is just two blocks from the Theater...We parked our car behind the B&B and walked everywhere.

Breakfast is something to die for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnw5204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

1. Great location -- two blocks from the theaters and within walking distance of many restaurants.
2. Very attractive restored Victorian with two living rooms and a very pleasant dining room.
3. The rooms are very well decorated; some of them are spacious and some are rather small (so reviews may vary based on which room people stayed in) -- and the bottom room in the carriage house is rather dark.
4. Breakfasts are great and the innkeeper is willing to modify the breakfast to suit your needs.
5. Overall it's a very pleasant place to stay (And we've been going back for seven years).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMYKZena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have been going to Ashland and the Shakespeare Festival for years, and now that we are both retired, we generally travel there twice during the season. Once we discovered the McCall House it became our first choice for accomdations. Thankfully, we have not needed to look elsewhere in recent years. We feel as though Nola and her staff are generous and welcoming friends as well as gracious hosts who invite us into their home to visit each year. The location to the theatre district is unsurpassed in Ashland, and its convenience to shops and restaurants as well as the theatres becomes more attractive each trip as we get older. At the risk of making it even harder for us to get our annual reservations there, we highly recommend the McCall House for those who enjoy upscale elegance in a true Victorian setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan and Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My bookclub has been coming to Ashland for the plays for 7 years now, and this is the first year we have all stayed together at the McCall House. We had a great stay and will be back next year. Breakfast, beds, quiet, staff helpfulness, and location are all perfect for us. We especially enjoyed the parlors to have a glass of wine or chat after the play.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, WA
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It was our first stay and it was absolutely wonderful. The room was warmly decorated, the beds to-die-for comfortable. The food was fabulously delicious. The common rooms were inviting and beautifully decorated as well. Nola was gracious, helpful, warmly welcoming questions, needs, conversation.

The McCall House is also centrally located, easy walking to OSF as well as restaurants and shops. It was nice to park the car and not need it again for the time we were staying.

And, as close to town as it is, it is a really quiet, comfortably peaceful.

I will definitely stay at McCall House again, and again.... - Wanda

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After experiencing several other hotels and B&Bs in Ashland over the years, the McCall House is the end of the line—there are no other options for me. I think this was my fifth or sixth stay here and it was perfect as always. I've stayed in almost every room with almost every family member—partner, sister, mother, nephews. Every room is unique, cozy, comfortable, and quiet. The location is so central that if you want to quickly stop by to grab a sweater—or just one of their great homemade cookies—it's very close to everything. If you're in the mood to meet other guests, everyone is always very friendly, as are the staff, but for those shy, private, or romance-seeking types, it's also possible to stick to yourself without feeling like you're being rude or anti-social. A nice balance, better than most B&Bs. A gorgeous place, can't say enough.

Room Tip: The second floor offers an extra level of privacy, but every room in the place, even the carriage ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our fifth stay at McCall House and every year we find new superlatives! This is out fourth room in five stays (President Hayes, Captain and Lizzie, Sleeping Porch and Carriage House North). They are all wonderfully comfortable rooms which Nola constantly upgrades, reprints, etc. as to Nola, Kerry (sp?) and Kelly, one simply couldn't assemble a better staff! The breakfasts are superb and the cookies in the afternoon are sublime. For me, there is simply no other place to stay in Ashland.

Room Tip: We've stayed in four different ones, but the Sleeping Porch remains our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBoyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Property: McCall House
Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing