We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, convenient and very well-run”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, convenient and very well-run”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just got back from a week at McCall House. We've been going to Ashland every summer for 10 years, but this was our first stay at McCall House. (The place we usually stay was booked by the time we made our plans this year.
)
We've stayed at a several B&B's over the years, in Ashland as well as elsewhere, and this is one of the best! Nola, the owner/innkeeper, is warm and welcoming and also very professional in her approach to running her B&B. And you can't beat the location, especially if you're in Ashland to attend plays at OSF. It's 1 1/2 blocks from the theaters!

Kelly's breakfasts are absolutely delicious, although quite rich. We opted for oatmeal a couple of mornings which was perfectly prepared and plentiful. Breakfast is served at 9 am. Nola rings a small handbell to invite everyone to be seated at the same time at several small tables.

The decor is charming. Rooms are beautiful and well-appointed. We stayed in the Carriage House North & South. Both rooms are equipped with a small refrig and microwave which is very convenient. Nola is always looking to see how she might make improvements and confers with her guests for feedback and suggestions.

We REALLY appreciated the useful information posted in the dining room: breakfast menu for the following day (with oatmeal as an option if you inform them before 8 am); weekly weather forecast; weekly OSF event calendar; other local info, e.g. July 4 parade and activity schedule.

Nola's whole staff is outstanding. Housekeepers Janet & Herman are a charming couple who go the extra mile to be of service to guests. They have been working there for 8 years, which says a lot for them as well as for Nola. Linda, who works on Janet & Herman's days off, is helpful, friendly and efficient.

People who stay at McCall House return year after year and make it their "home away from home".

Room Tip: Walls in Carriage House are thin, so sound travels. (Also, the toilets are extremely noisy when flus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I have been to Ashland many time and I have stayed in many of the local B&B, however, in the future I will always try and stay in the McCall House. The house is localed in the heart of the city - only about 2 blocks from the Theaters. The room was very comfortable and atttractive. Lastly, the morning breakfast was excellent and the afternnon cookie and sherry were a nice treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have stayed at McCall house several times over the past several years. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Somehow, they also foster an atmosphere that makes guests who have never met before strike up a conversation in the sitting room. The rooms vary in size, and therefore price. The breakfast is very tasty, the afternoon cookies are delicious. Nola and the staff do a great job of making us feel welcome.
It is great to stay so close to the center of things - the Shakespeare festival is 1 1/2 blocks away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, they vary quite a bit in size and layout. The rooms on the upper floor, sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The team at the McCall House put their thinking caps on over the winter and now all of the upstairs rooms have their own thermostat controls for the air conditioning. This is a big deal, even in June when the days go up into the 80's and don't cool down a lot at night (and trying to get the room cool late in the afternoon with one open window is not expeditious).

The breakfasts are superb! By the way, if you can't "do" B&B-style breakfasts, the staff will accommodate you with delicious oatmeal or meusli, and they will try to arrange something nice if you have more extreme dietary needs. Don't let food concerns deter you from trying the McCall House!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We loved our stay at the McCall House in Ashland. It's charming and we were enthralled with all the special touches that have been given to this lovely and historic home. The location is perfect; it's so close to the restaurants, Lithia Park, and the Shakespeare theaters. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and the opportunity to visit with some of the other folks staying at McCall House. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have been going to Ashland for the past 7 years and McCall House continues to be our favorite place to stay. This updated historic Victorian (yes, it is airconditioned) is a very short walk to the best Ashland has to offer: The Shakespeare theatres, Lithia Park, restaurants and shops. The breakfasts feature fresh fruit and scrumptious gourmet selections. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and beautifully appointed. Warm, homemade cookies and tea in the afternoon are a welcome treat and the two comfortable parlors are available for conversation, reading and games at all times of the day and evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ME24SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I recently stayed at the McCall House to experience the Shakespeare Film Festival while on assignment for Nat Geo Traveler Magazine. I am so grateful I found Carey, at the front desk, and Nola, the Inn-keeper, they were both so warm, welcoming, and accommodating. Carey was nice enough to even switch rooms around so I could add an extra night and stay in the same room.

The house is decorated with beautiful victorian touches while simultaneously being fresh and modern. The three mornings I was there, the breakfast was delicious, as were the afternoon baked goods and beverages. You also can't beat the location...one night I realized I had forgotten my ticket for one of the shows ten minutes before it started...ran back to the McCall House and made it inside in plenty of time. I can't wait to come back here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Property: McCall House
Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing