We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful all-round experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Wonderful all-round experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Impeccably restored and decorated historic house. Nola and the staff are attentive and anticipate every need. Gourmet breakfasts. Short walk to theaters. We have been going there twice a year, and have brought other family members with us on occasion for a special treat for them. An oasis!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have stayed at this location yearly for the last 10+ years. The food is amazing, the location beyond convenient, and the beds and pillows so comfortable. The staff, especially Nola, the innkeeper, are welcoming, and yet professional. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We've stayed at McCall House perhaps ten times, and we appreciate it even more each visit. The House is comfortable, serene, and immaculately kept. The breakfasts are splendid, and Nola cheerfully accommodates special needs -- including gluten restrictions. Mini-fridges and micro-waves make snacks simple. I've never stayed at any other B&B that was the equivalent of The McCall House. And, of course, being within walking distance of the theaters, restaurants, and an excellent grocery store is a huge plus.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cornlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

They really put in the effort with wonderful AC, well furnished rooms, modern bathrooms and even a carafe of sherry in the room. The only (minor) negative on the room were beds that between box spring and mattress made you almost feel you needed a ladder to crawl up into bed.
Breakfast was substantial although you have to be ready to eat at the same time (0900). Again, a minor negative.
Location is ideal, a short block off the main street and a 5-10 minute walk from the OSF.
Would be my top choice when I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have stayed at McCall House 3 times now and it has been excellent. So much so that we just reserve for next year when we leave. Gourmet breakfasts plus cookies that lure you back every afternoon, along with iced tea, immaculate guest rooms with lovely furnishings, comfortable beds, wonderful patio/garden for relaxing outdoors. To top it all off, OSF is only a few minutes walk away. Also a well-stocked library for general reading or researching Shakespeare's plays. The whole house is lovely, filled with period furniture, not overdone...just perfect! Staff is amazing, friendly, helpful, more like staying with friends than in a business establishment.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 2 different rooms, 1 in main house, 1 in cottage, and both were quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The McCall house is a winderful B&B. The food was delicious! Marvelous muffins, beautiful rooms, and friendly interesting guests. We so enjoyed our stay there. The innkeepers went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. I just hope we can get a room there the next time we are in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Admittedly I do not have a lot of experience with B&Bs, but there is simply nothing negative that I can say about this place. I took my family of four, and both of my teenage daughters loved it. The location is perfect. We walked the 1 and 1/2 blocks to downtown several times. The innkeeper was outstanding- always willing to talk and answer any questions. The rooms were spacious , clean , and comfortable. Oh yes, the breakfasts were excellent too. Anyone needing a place to stay in Ashland needs to consider the McCall House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geauxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Property: McCall House
Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing