We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ashland B&B”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Ashland B&B”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our group continues to return each year. The beds are fabulous. Each room is unique with a comfortable sitting area for reading or napping. Having freshly baked cookies as you walk in the door along with tea or coffee is a treat. The living room area with a fireplace in October when we go is warm and cozy, a great place for a glass of wine before we head out for dinner. McCall House is very conveniently located for walking to the theater, restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The facilities are impeccable; the service is outstanding; the food is delicious; and the location is as good as it gets. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was terrific - we had our privacy yet we were just steps away from the main house. When we return to Ashland, we will be reserving a room at the McCall House!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is wonderful - you enjoy the privacy of a separate building but you are only step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BigcatAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Any of the rooms in this B & B are bound to please, our room was the Phyllis Courtney Guest room which is the smallest on the first floor in back. My tall husband loved the king size, excellent mattress bed. My only request would be that they add curtains over the blinds for better outside light control. We stayed in the shoulder season and the rates were in line with area Motels which were not nearly as pleasant. The rooms are spotless. The breakfast was scrumptious..even the coffee was excellent. I enjoyed a soak in our claw foot tub and a complimentary Sherry cordial before retiring.
The whole house is a restored gem and we will certainly be returning to try one of the larger upstairs rooms which have their own fireplaces. Located only a block from downtown and easy walking to restaurants. Loved our stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were lucky enough to have reservations at McCall House when there was a Tuscan themed wine pairing dinner prepared by Shane Hardin. The menu and execution were excellent, the wines were very attractive and well-matched to the courses. Service was professional, yet friendly. The price for the 4-course dinner was better than fair.

The regular inn service and amenities were as good as always.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I keep returning to this B and B because the beds, the location and the food are the best. In addition, the house is on the National Register of Historic Houses and the rooms are decorated in period style. Hosts are friendly and accommodating too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Theatertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed at McCall House for many years, and we never tire of our experience. The rooms are very comfortable, with the best mattresses and pillows, and the friendly staff goes out of their way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. For example, the week following our visit, they were offering a special dinner for guests cooked by one of the local chefs. We were disappointed about missing this experience, so they put together an "advance" dinner for us within 24 hours -- and it was delicious and creative with wine pairings for each course. Their restaurant recommendations are reliable, and they offer to make reservations for their guests. Finally, the location is perfect for those who visit Ashland for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. It's faster to go to the McCall House during intermission at the Bowmer Theatre than to wait in line at the restrooms.

If you're visiting Ashland, McCall House is the place to stay. And don't miss the sherry in your room and the fresh baked goods in the dining room every afternoon with tea and coffee always available.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, and the price varies with size. We like a king-sized bed, so chose o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our group of 14 friends from around the country have been coming to Ashland for 25 years. We have stayed in many places, but once we found McCall House, we knew we were home. It has everything---elegant, comfortable accommodations, great breakfasts, prime location and a warm, enthusiastic staff. Nola is the finest innkeeper I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barjo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Property: McCall House
Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing