We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most amazing stay...”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #7 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sallemjazz
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the most amazing stay...”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

...and the best breakfast....the friendliest staff, a most magnificent victorian house located dead center in the town of Ashland.....who could ask for anything more?
Wlll return asap, the town itself being quite nifty.

Room Tip: depending on the season, you may have to book early....it is just soooooo good and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallemjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
126
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Everything about the McCall House is wonderful: in no particular order:- wonderful, cosy, comfortable room (the Anna Anderson) in which to snuggle by the stove with a sherry and a book; incredible breakfasts (one in particular was the stand-out meal of my whole holiday); being able to explore the library; seeing the house in the dusk with welcoming lights; parking so you can explore the town on foot. But the key thing is the sense of welcome from the exceptional staff to someone who turned up on the doorstep having been drawn to the door by those lights. Ashland is gorgeous and this is such a great place to explore it from.

Room Tip: They all looked great - I was very happy with the Anna Anderson room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have stayed here with a group for several years. The hospitality is always outstanding, the food is exceptional. There is a wide variety of rooms, something for everyone. We really like the location as we can walk to the plays, and anywhere in downtown Ashland.

Room Tip: Lower carraige house was the least desirable for us, still ok though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our group continues to return each year. The beds are fabulous. Each room is unique with a comfortable sitting area for reading or napping. Having freshly baked cookies as you walk in the door along with tea or coffee is a treat. The living room area with a fireplace in October when we go is warm and cozy, a great place for a glass of wine before we head out for dinner. McCall House is very conveniently located for walking to the theater, restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The facilities are impeccable; the service is outstanding; the food is delicious; and the location is as good as it gets. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was terrific - we had our privacy yet we were just steps away from the main house. When we return to Ashland, we will be reserving a room at the McCall House!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is wonderful - you enjoy the privacy of a separate building but you are only step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BigcatAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Any of the rooms in this B & B are bound to please, our room was the Phyllis Courtney Guest room which is the smallest on the first floor in back. My tall husband loved the king size, excellent mattress bed. My only request would be that they add curtains over the blinds for better outside light control. We stayed in the shoulder season and the rates were in line with area Motels which were not nearly as pleasant. The rooms are spotless. The breakfast was scrumptious..even the coffee was excellent. I enjoyed a soak in our claw foot tub and a complimentary Sherry cordial before retiring.
The whole house is a restored gem and we will certainly be returning to try one of the larger upstairs rooms which have their own fireplaces. Located only a block from downtown and easy walking to restaurants. Loved our stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were lucky enough to have reservations at McCall House when there was a Tuscan themed wine pairing dinner prepared by Shane Hardin. The menu and execution were excellent, the wines were very attractive and well-matched to the courses. Service was professional, yet friendly. The price for the 4-course dinner was better than fair.

The regular inn service and amenities were as good as always.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
791 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Property: McCall House
Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing