We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashland idyl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ashland idyl”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This b and b has it all. The breakfasts are truly the very best --creative, fresh, abundant, delicious. The innkeepers, Jean Pierre and Julie add a lovely continental touch and provide the perfect balance of attention and privacy. It's only a short walk to the theatres. the garden provides a respite of quiet and delight. The rooms are comfortable and well kept. Our room had a new bath with the thickest towels I have ever enjoyed.
We have had wonderful conversations around the breakfast table as the guests are as engaging as the b and b. We have already reserved for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STI135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
39
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lovely Blue Moon B/B. We stayed in the Sunset room. We loved the decor, and the roomy bed was a plus. Beautiful if slightly cozy bathroom - everything looks brand new. The plushest towels I have ever experienced. A nice-sized dresser at each side of the bed with good reading lamps and lots of space for your stuff. Everything was clean, fresh, and pretty. So relaxing, too.

Breakfasts were amazing. Jean-Pierre prepared fantastic meals. Food was local and all home-made - bread too. My favorite was the scrambled eggs with sweet corn - a first for me, but it was fabulous. All my dietary restrictions were meticulously attended to, and everything was delicious. We skipped lunch because breakfast took us straight through to dinner.

Jean-Pierre was very helpful with questions about restaurants, getting around, and info needed for the OSF too. There were freshly-baked treats every afternoon. (I couldn't indulge but they looked and smelled wonderful.) Port wine for after the play, too.

The courtyard/patio area is absolutely gorgeous - we enjoyed our morning coffee out there. A bit cool for us to have b'fast en plene air, but on a warm day it would be wonderful.

A very comfortable walk to the theaters and the shopping areas.

The only drawback was a bit of traffic noise along the side street - but this was not a major problem.

We will be returning, without a doubt.

Room Tip: The Sunset room has a slightly smaller bathroom, but a lovely large bed. Some other rooms (we peeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Pierre L, Owner at Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words!
Warm regards,

Julie and Jean-Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have stayed many times at the Blue Moon when traveling through Ashland or attending the Shakespeare Festival. Our last experience was again excellent. Our room was clean and pretty and a recently renovated bathroom gave it a great facelift. Breakfast was tasty and filling and our hosts friendly and helpful. It is a quick walk into town to attend plays, shop or find a restaurant. We highly recommend the Blue Moon if there is room to stay while in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed at Blue Moon on traveling from Portland to the Bay Area on recommendation from friends. What a terrific place secluded from downtown but an easy walk away from the center of old Ashland with it's wonderful plays, restaurnts and beautiful scenery.
Blue Moon is very comfortable and relaxing with terrific beds and bathrooms and wonderful breakfasts! Just what you envision for a bed and breakfast. And the hosts, Julie and Jean-Pierre and incredible!
Thank you Julie and JP for a wonderful time. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtrips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I just return from a wonderful stay at the Blue Moon. Jean-Pierre and Julie were charming hosts. While I am not normally a breakfast eater, the gourmet meals made from fresh homegrown and local ingredients were impossible to resist. Each breakfast included fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and a unique entree. My favorite was the fresh corn and egg scramble served with roasted asparagus. I also enjoyed homemade afternoon treats and always available coffee and assorted teas. The room was clean, cozy and cheerfully decorated, but what I liked most was the large corner shower in the refurbished bathroom.
I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Pierre L, Owner at Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you; very much appreciated! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Julie and Jean-Pierre are terrific hosts. The breakfast is delicious and they accommodate any allergies or sensitivities. Every evening we came 'home' to delicious treats left out for the guests. The rooms are tastefully decorated, each with its own newly refurbished bathroom. Blue Moon is well located and, if healthy, one can walk to the theatre and the main commercial district; if you are not a 'walker', then it's a 10 minute drive. We'll stay here again. for sure!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, ask for one of the two bedrooms on the first floor or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basketballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We are over the (blue) moon about this B&B! Very comfortable rooms, walking distance to downtown and the theaters, and OUTSTANDING breakfasts! (Think french toast made from croissants.....) And every afternoon there is a different 'goodie' like chocolate chip cake and raspberry bars.

My grandson's favorite B&B and now mine as well!

Room Tip: The attached 'cottage' can sleep 3 due to a futon, and has its own deck and deck furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.7 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
791 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
Bayberry Inn
Bayberry Inn
#6 of 31 in Ashland
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 312 Helman St, Ashland, OR 97520-1138 (Formerly Mousetrap Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the historic Railroad district on a side street four blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast offers escape from busy downtown Ashland, yet is only a five minute walk to dining, shopping and the theatres. This restored 1890's farmhouse is an ideal temporary home for visitors to the stunning Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Moon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing