We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, comfortable and historic inn with an incredible breakfast.”
Review of The Peerless Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peerless Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 May 2009

The Peerless Hotel is a beautiful merging of old and new. The building is an historic one and the rooms are filled with antiques. All of the features that one looks for when it comes to comfort, however, are the newest and the best. The bedroom is very spacious and comfortable. The sheets are especially luxurious. The bathroom is huge and contains all the amenities one would expect in an expensive hotel. The breakfast was fabulous - fresh fruit, scones, eggs, everything done to perfection. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Ashland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmavenEugeneOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

The room (#6) was small but comfortable. Roomy bed, cute decor, and quiet. The breakfast (included in with the stay) at the adjacent Peerless Restaurant) was fabulous. The hotel is a short walk to OSF, Ashland Food Co-op, and there are quite a few art galleries in the neighborhood. I can't think of anyway our stay could have been better, except I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Our recent stay at the Peerless was a delight. It is well appointed, quiet, and the breakfast and dinner experiences we had there were above average. The walk to the theaters was 5 easy blocks. We were particularly impressed with the wait service at breakfast. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portlandia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed at the Peerless Hotel for one night over Labor Day weekend. Our room -- #5 -- was very clean and beautifully decorated in a Victorian theme. The room also has a large jacuzzi tub that we enjoyed twice. Why take a shower when you can relax in the tub?! The manager, Michael, was very friendly and accommodating, and he personally cooked us a delicious vegan breakfast on the morning of our departure. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Ashland for an overnight stay. We highly recommend the Peerless Hotel for a romantic weekend or special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel as part of a three week road trip from San Diego to Seattle and back. We stayed at a mix of hotels and B&Bs along the way. The Peerless was my favorite, hands down. The hotel is beautiful; the renovation was done with obvious thought and taste. Also, the location is great, a few short blocks from the theater and the restaurants downtown, but still very quiet. The food was wonderful and every person we spoke to was friendly and knowledgeable. We appreciated the stereo system, the wireless and the refrigerator in the room and I enjoyed the antique furniture, but without all the great aunt frou-frou. We ate in the restaurant one night for dinner and that, too, was excellent. We will definitely return to Ashland for a longer stay, more Shakespeare and more of the Peerless.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank J_Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

great little find. suite 7 is the best. quiet little corner room. no tv. +/-. very nice renovation of this hotel. great next door restaurant. micheal, the host was fantastic. one can walk to the downtown and shakespeare festival w ease. it is on a quiet little street not on the main st. very close to I-5. many restaurants within easy walking. there are i think 6 suite available. definite attention is paid to you because of the smallness of it all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durreyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We stayed in Old Ashland. We were celebrating our 20th Wedding
Anniversary . The Staff was Very Helpful and very kind. The place its self was like taking a walk back in time to the grand Days of old 1900 . We stayed in there Honeymoon parlor {room} . The room had all the 1900's flare with today luxurious accommodations .
We were treated to a grand breakfast feast in the restaurant across the courtyard of the hotel.
My husband and I will most definitely stay with them again .
This made our anniversary perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LadyRed_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bard's Inn
Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.3 mi away
The Winchester Inn
The Winchester Inn
#9 of 30 in Ashland
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Hotel

Address: 243 4th St, Ashland, OR 97520-2043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £133 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peerless Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ashland's Peerless Experience! Built in 1900 and included in the National Register of Historic Places, The Peerless Hotel has been lovingly restored and is honored to be featured in the best selling book "1,000 PLACES TO SEE BEFORE YOU DIE". Whimsically and elegantly decorated with hand-painted murals, fine art, and an eclectic mixture of antique furnishings. Guests are pampered with Frette Italian bed linens, Christy English towels, Pharmacopia natural & organic body care products, spa & claw-foot tubs, and a sumptuous complimentary breakfast (during the mid & high seasons). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Peerless Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing