We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home, only better”
Review of Romeo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Romeo Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After my annual week-long stay at the Romeo Inn, my brain wonders why those fabulous scones aren't waiting for me on my return, and why I have to eat the same breakfast day after day when I'd just enjoyed such a great variety. And by the way, here are those homemade cookies??? I've made life-long friends with other guests and the innkeepers, and always look forward to my stay there.

Some background - I've been staying at the Romeo Inn for years, and love the beautiful rooms; comfortable beds (with ironed sheets); yummy breakfasts; gorgeous garden and pool; loving outdoor cat (Buster); warm, helpful, friendly innkeepers; comfortable atmosphere; and stimulating breakfast conversations. Don and Deana, the innkeepers, make every effort to accommodate a guest's allergies and go out of their way to provide helpful information to first-time visitors or repeat guests, whether it is related to the weather for the day, blankets for the outdoor theater, best traveling routes to sights, restaurants to visit, or reviews of the OSF plays and the "inside scoop". In addition, they have a wonderful sense of fun and playfulness that they display when they sense (or know) their guests are receptive, and they put up with the crazy antics of some of their regular guests. They fit all of this in and around making sure their Inn is run to a consistently high standard, which is their ultimate goal.

If you are in Ashland and want to stay in a great place, stay at the Romeo Inn!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllQuackedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Our thanks for your wonderful, thorough review. We look forward to seeing you and the rest of the group next season. I'll have the scones in the oven, a full cookie jar and Don will have the swimming pool ready for swimming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Many years ago, a group of 7 theatergoers began coming to the Romeo Inn at the same time every year; we started as three sets of fellow guests, but enjoyment of the delightful food and lively discussions at breakfast, along with a healthy dose of teasing with the innkeepers Don and Deana, have turned acquaintances into life-long friendships.
The day starts with a full breakfast, including fresh smoothies, baked goods, fresh fruit and varied entrées, and homemade cookies/goodies are available for an afternoon treat or a late night snack (my mouth is watering just thinking of the apricot scones, poached pears with fresh mint and lemon bars!). Deana has been awesome about accommodating my food allergies (just be sure to let her know if you have any restrictions when making your reservations so she has time to get any special ingredients).
After eating breakfast, we waddle out to the back yard to enjoy relaxing by the pool. Buster, the outdoor cat, welcomes guests to the beautiful garden and generously allows you to worship him if you are missing your own pets!
Each year, we count the days until we can return. Be sure to ask about the ducks!

Room Tip: We have stayed in almost every room, and prefer the Windsor Room or Canterbury Room, which are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuckQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are proud to be your "Favored Annual Vacation Spot" and look forward to your visit each season! We are very fortunate to have such special repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Cambridge suite and feel the Romeo Inn was like an oasis during our stay. Deana and Don were friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The pool was an added treat at the end of the day. The ability to walk to everything and to "come hoe" after a busy day was the best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salannyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for your kind review, Sally and Alan. We enjoyed meeting you and being part of your first trip to Ashland! We hope you will have a chance to return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have returned to Ashland for Shakespear several years in a row now and love it when we can stay at the Romeo Inn. The innkeepers are lovely. Food is great. They even have warm blankets to loan when you forget how cold the evening can get at the Globe theater. Will always stay here

Room Tip: My grand daughter and I always stay in the BIG room just next to the pool with a king size bed. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Rebecca and Grace, thanks so much for your review. We are so fortunate to have such wonderful repeat guests. We hope to see you next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We love this B&B! Close enough to town and the theaters to walk, but far enough away to be nice and quiet and give you access to the rest of Ashland. Comfy rooms, great breakfast and Don and Deanna and friendly and knowledgable hosts who also make you laugh! What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: We stay in the Coventry room but we've seen them all and all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us again this year and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words. We always look forward to your visits and all of the laughs. Thanks also for the cute rubber ducks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in Ashland for his 40th birthday. I was lucky to have found Romeo Inn. Our room was immaculate along with the entire house and grounds. Don and Deana were terrific hosts and excellent chefs. The breakfasts were amazing, different each day. The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood where we saw many deer grazing. The walk to town is a little hilly, but, good for burning off extra calories from the dinners in town and from visiting the local microbrews. We will definitely stay at Romeo Inn the next time we visit Ashland! Thank you Don and Deana!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for your kind words, Molly. It was wonderful to meet you and Brian! We hope you will have a chance to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the gracious, welcoming Romeo Inn for 18 years. We have enjoyed every visit and stayed in each room-all are well appointed with comfortable beds, good lighting and quality linens. The inn and all amenities are immaculate, and a wonderful place to relax, with lovely grounds and a private patio, pool and hot tub. Innkeepers Deana and Don are professional, knowledgeable about Ashland and the local theater, and ready to assist with any question. Breakfast is generous, healthful, well prepared and varies daily; Deana will happily accommodate dietary requests. The neighborhood is quiet and a short walk to downtown. The inn offers off-street parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLs343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana L, Owner at Romeo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thanks so much. We look forward to your visits to the inn! It is wonderful guests like you that make innkeeping such a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.5 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Callahan's Mountain Lodge
Callahan's Mountain Lodge
#13 of 30 in Ashland
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Inn
The Winchester Inn
#9 of 30 in Ashland
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
McCall House
McCall House
#5 of 30 in Ashland
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Inn

Address: 295 Idaho St, Ashland, OR 97520
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Romeo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 8 blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in a very quiet residential area. Our Cape Cod style inn has 4 spacious guest rooms and 2 luxurious suites all with king beds, en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet. Two rooms (Canterbury and Windsor) have a twin bed in addition to the king and can accommodate 3 guests. Some rooms have private entrances, fireplaces and a jetted tub. All guests enjoy a three course breakfast, homemade cookies and refreshments available all day. The inn is on 1/2 acre with lush gardens, outdoor swimming pool and spa (available seasonally). Relax poolside or in the hammock amid the pines.PA#96-024 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Romeo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing