We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2009

No place works for everyone and Shrew's House did not not work for us. It has small rooms, small breakfasts and a small pool. Wi-Fi only works in the main house, not in some of the rooms. It is directly on the main street through town with associated noise and light, though Ashland is a quiet town. Seems like the innkeepers may be losing their enthusiasm for B &B life. Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picky_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhileman, Owner at Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2009

We agree with “Picky in Olympia” that an inn cannot be the right setting for every guest. When the couple arrived, one of them appeared in a panic about street light entering their room. We provided special curtains for him. It would have been wise if they had alerted us about this special need before their visit.
Our housekeeping is always meticulous. However, for these guests we had to change bed linen four times in a six day stay, to remove the chocolate and makeup that were smeared into the sheets.
During a hot spell, they continued to set their thermostat below 65 degrees. The heat pump for our cottage fell into disrepair largely as a result of the continued low settings in their room. They ignored the repairman who advised them to keep their thermostat at 72 degrees during the daytime hours when the weather is above 100 degrees.
Upon arrival “Picky in Olympia” asked us to provide an separate earlier breakfast everyday because one of them would be attending a conference. We were happy to provide this extra service. We also adjusted the food provided when asked.
We offer a warm welcome to all reasonable and considerate guests.

Ronna & Corren Hileman
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at this very cute B&B while visiting Ashland, Oregon. This place is not far from the OSF and is a nice walk before and after plays - with many restaurants nearby. We stayed in Kate's Retreat - GREAT room (actually it has two rooms). The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful - and kept us full until dinner. Our hosts were so warm and welcoming and helped to make our stay so great - we hated to leave. There is a pool on the property and a lovely garden to sit and enjoy - or just rest your feet. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We visited Shrew's House for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was quiet, clean, and nicely appointed. The jacuzzi tub was an extra bonus! Ronna & Coren were friendly but not overimposing, and their breakfasts were delicious. They really made everyone feel welcome at the breakfast table and conversations were lively.

It was a slightly farther walk than we are used to when we visit Ashland (10-15 minutes to the main theaters), but we didn't mind since the stroll goes by all the great shops & restaurants along the main street through town.

Overall, a lovely place to stay and we would go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

If you don't have friends to visit in Ashland, you'll go home with some after a stay at Shrew's House. Coren and Ronna are excellent hosts and they've created a lovely, tranquil B&B -- a perfect place to stay if you enjoy scintillating conversation over breakfast, a nice walk to the theaters and downtown and a homey environment.

We stayed in the Baroque room, a large bedroom with a private bath (complete with jacuzzi tub), a front porch with table and chairs, and a fireplace. They provide some nice little extras -- wireless Internet access (inside the room it was sketchy but we were able to connect on the porch and other parts of the property) ; a small, unobtrusive TV; a small fridge, toaster oven and microwave; wine glasses and dishes. The rooms here are decorated with care but are blissfully free of teddy bears and cutesy touches. The property has a hot tub and a small pool -- great for cooling off on a hot day after a hike or a stroll through town.

Coren and Ronna serve an ample, homey breakfast (which varies day to day -- we had stuffed croissants and smoothies one morning, huevos rancheros another and baked shells filled with fruit and yogurt on a third). Coren puts heart into his cooking and is eager for feedback and suggestions.

Because each room has its own entrance you get plenty of privacy, but be warned: you will be expected to socialize at breakfast with other guests and/or your hosts. This might not be for everyone, but we thoroughly enjoyed the company each morning and got to feel like Coren and Ronna were old friends by the time we left.

I've stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this is up at the top of my list. Though I usually like to stay new places, I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Shrew's House again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jourprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

The Shrew's House B&B was perfect for my daughter and me on our quick fall getaway to catch a play in Ashland. It's perfectly located on the main drag (but not noisy)--within walking distance to everything (1/2 mi. from the Shakespeare Festival). Beautifully landscaped, attractive little Victorian home plus a separate bldg. with 2 additional rooms. Our room had everything we needed plus a spa tub. We liked the small scale, the nice touches (Complete Works of Shakespeare in the room!) and the very friendly innkeepers. Breakfast was delicious, and the lively breakfast conversation (everyone eats together at 9 a.m.) was a highlight. Apparently a favorite among long-time Festival attendees.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Presidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

This is a very nice B&B with very friendly, helpful owners. The location is great (about a 7-block walk from the theaters). Even though it's right on the main street, the rooms are in back and we never heard any traffic noise (there's very little night-time traffic in Ashland anyway). Our room wasn't filled with charming knick-knacks and flowered bedspreads like most B&Bs, but it was quite comfortable. The breakfasts were great (interesting egg dishes, etc), served in the garden. The owners were extremely helpful, relaxed, and very accommodating.

The only thing less than perfect is that the garden is very small, and the pool is, too., It's fine for getting wet and cooling off, but too small for lap swimming.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mountain-mike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
638 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
214 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romeo Inn
Romeo Inn
#10 of 31 in Ashland
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anne Hathaways B&B and Garden Suites
0.5 mi away
McCall House
McCall House
#6 of 31 in Ashland
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 570 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2138
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £79 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy in a garden setting.Spacious rooms w/private outside entrances.A/C,refrigerator,microwave,WiFi,king beds.Swimming pool,full satisfying breakfast.Five blocks to theaters. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing