We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a couple of nights”
Review of The Winchester Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Winchester Inn
Ranked #8 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine for a couple of nights”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for one night. The location and the style of the property can not be faulted. However, the slightly dated interior (old/antique doesn’t have to mean tired looking) was a little disappointing.

The room, while small, was fun and had a definite charm. However being in the main house above the kitchen at the back, meant that the noise from the kitchen could have become irritating if we had been there for more than one night.

The breakfast was very good, and it was nice for the owner to come and introduce herself. Personal touches are always appreciated. However, had we known about it, we would definitely have opted for the Ashland Springs Hotel, as when we checked, this was actually a lot cheaper than The Winchester Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jammyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for writing! I am sorry that things did not live up to your expectations. The room in question is one of our smallest and does sit above the kitchen. The kitchen strives to make sure that everyone is aware of noise as to not disturb guests, and I am sorry that was not the case during your stay.

It is true that the Ashland Springs can be a less expensive option for overnight accommodations, however we feel it is the amenities that we provide that make the experience worthwhile. Complimentary two course gourmet breakfasts each morning, 600 thread count sheets on feather beds, afternoon pastry treats, evening turn down service, along with all the personal touches that come from a family run business are what make our guests return.

With all that said, it still doesn't change the fact that you had a disappointing stay, and for that I am truly sorry. We pride ourselves on how happy our guests are, and I hope that you have the chance to join us again so that we can show you the experience that should have been your stay.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    23
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
144
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were in Ashland, OR at the beginning of the month to see some plays and managed to get in to the Winchester Inn. Managed is the operative work as one must book a room selection well in advance. This place is just that popular.

We stayed in our favorite, the Sunset room. It is well-appointed, comfortable and has a private balcony for relaxing in the morning, in the evening, or at any time one needs a break. The bed is a great old frame that, with a comfortable bedding set, raises the sleeping surface to waist level--a portable step is provided for climbing in at night. The Sunset room is accommodating, nicely decorated, and just right for size (not spacious). Other, larger rooms are available, but the prices rise sharply.

The staff is very hospitable and friendly, eager to assist the guests and always available. We felt like we were really appreciated and welcomed to the inn. Breakfast comes with the room. It is served in the dining room and the service staff acts like you are paying $35 for breakfast for two, not enjoying a complimentary breakfast. Seating is in the dining room, and the service is superb. We enjoyed the Belgian waffle, the fruit cup, the scrambled eggs, etc.--all presented very excellently.

The Winchester Inn presents a grand experience for the avid Oregon Shakespeare Festival participant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for joining us again! I am glad we managed to fit you in as well. The funny thing is that it all revolves around the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Once you slip into November things open right up (and prices drop).

And thank you for the compliments to the staff! They take great pride in making sure everyone feels like they are really taken well taken care of. I hope you get the chance to join us again for more fantastic plays at OSF, and even get a chance to explore the town in quieter times.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Barbara Howard Suite -- our first trip to Ashland. The hotel is perfectly situated to walk everywhere in downtown Ashland including the theatre which we enjoyed on Friday night. Our room was nice although not exactly what I was expecting - the fireplace and sitting room were separated from the bedroom, the website made it appear they were all together. We were also on the very top floor of the second building and getting in/out of the room involved climbing 3 flights of very steep stairs. (ok for us but maybe not for someone not so mobile) The Inn itself and the grounds are very pretty - especially enjoyed the rooms they use for breakfast as they overlook the garden. My favorite part of staying at the Inn was the food! The breakfasts were incredible --- 2 courses --- one sweet, the other savory. My hats off to the pastry chef -- some of the best breakfast goodies I've ever eaten. Also enjoyed the sweet treats left in our room nightly during turndown service. The staff overall was nice but no one seemed to really put themselves out on our behalf. One of the reasons we enjoy staying at B&Bs is for the personal service and interaction and that was missing here. It felt more like a regular hotel. Overall it was a good experience - but for the price, I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs - make sure you ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Barbara Howard suite. We do have many stairs on property as we are built into historic buildings. But, as you said, we are always happy to help find a ground floor room that will work if mobility is an issue. I am sorry that you felt mislead by the photos online. We are currently in the midst of redoing our website and the photography to better represent the Inn and the rooms as both have changed and been updated.

It is also true that we are not a true B&B, more of an inn or boutique hotel. While we are family owned and operated business, we are unlike other small B&Bs in both our size, the number of overnight guests that we accommodate and the inclusion of our restaurant and bar, which also means no family style meals. I hope that you do join us again, knowing what we are, so that we can give you that amazing experience that you feel was not quite there.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in the Fordyce room. An excellent room in the main "house" for a romantic getaway. Spacious and beautiful is what comes to mind. All the modern conveniences of a 5 star hotel in this historic Inn. This room is upstairs past the front desk. It was a fairly large room with a fireplace (gas), a king bed, and a sitting area . The bathroom was spacious with a large jetted tub. In room bar with splits of wine, and champagne. The complimentary coffee and tea were gourmet brands (local I believe) which was a nice touch. I have stayed in a number of bed and breakfast/ Inns of this type and what strikes me at Winchester is how immaculate the accommodations are - no musty smell or creaking floorboards. The only drawback of the Fordyce room for some people might be the stairs. Nothing outside the normal - just a standard flight of stairs with no elevator. The Inn has rooms on the ground floor. There are around 20 rooms in total that are housed in a few closely situated buildings. Each one appears very unique. The breakfast was excellent. I think there were 3 or four choices. Bloody marrys and mimosas are extra. Fairly close to the Shakespeare Festival and only a block away from the Oregon Cabaret Theater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for sharing! We do everything we can to give you a unique experience while making sure that all the creature comforts of a five star hotel are available. All 20 rooms are indeed unique, and it is true that we do lack an elevator. We are, however, always happy to try and find a ground floor room if that works better. I hope you have a chance to join us again.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This Inn is truly a jewel.
The rooms are magnificently appointed, with every attention to detail.
The complimentary breakfast is wonderful as well.
The tables and presentation are finished off with fabulous service.
The owners, Laurie and Mike have created an extravagant oasis in the middle of downtown Ashland.
A treasure, to be sure.

Room Tip: Every room is so lovely. If you want more privacy, choose the New Suite, Courtyard or Brighton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the stay! I will agree that my parents, Mike and Laurie, do a spectacular job setting the bar high for everyone. Thanks for sharing!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Enders room for two nights. The Inn is charming and the rooms, restaurant and bar are all well appointed. Only a block from downtown, but very quiet, the property is centrally located to everything, including Shakespeare theaters. An incredibly delicious breakfast was included with our room and all special dietary needs are accommodated.

Room Tip: Enders room was towards the back with an extra single bed. Very quiet with a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I am so glad you had a chance to join us! The kitchen does make some fantastic breakfasts, and are always happy to help when it comes to dietary needs. Thanks again!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are experienced travelers. In 30 years of traveling in the US and abroad....the quality of the service is excellent. The Inn has an extremely professional and congenial wait staff. The king bedroom was perfect and the mattress very supportive. The complimentary breakfast was 5-star restaurant quality with impeccable service. AND location is only 2 blocks from the Shakespeare theaters!!!! Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! The staff takes great pride in being able to offer such service. I hope you have a chance to join us again soon!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Inn

Property: The Winchester Inn
Address: 35 S 2nd St, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Winchester Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Inn offers luxury accommodations, affordable excellence, the restaurant features local ingredients with global inspiration, craft cocktails and boutique wines. We are the only Wine Spectator Award Winning restaurant in Ashland as well as the only restaurant with a Certified Sommelier on staff. Top Chef of 2012 - Pamela Lanier's B&B Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Winchester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing