We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway place”
Review of The Winchester Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Winchester Inn
Ranked #9 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

In June 2013 we went to Ashland's Oregon Shakespeare Festival for the first time and had dinner at the Alchemy Restaurant in the Winchester Inn on one of the evenings. We had a wonderful meal, enjoyed excellent service and liked the look of the inn very much. So, for our 2014 trip to Ashland at the end of June we booked accommodation at the Winchester Inn. We spent four nights there. Our room was delightful and the bed with its 600 thread count, silky pima cotton sheets was perhaps the most comfortable inn bed I have ever slept in. Breakfasts which were included in the price of the room were delicious and substantial...so much so that we skipped lunch every day! There were always 3 choices of breakfast dish with some unusual combinations of tastes and flavors but one could always request more standard fare like straight bacon and eggs if one preferred. Service throughout the inn was great....the ice bucket in our room was filled without us having to ask and tasty cookies were left in our room each afternoon. There is a very nice bar on the premises with a huge selection of drinks and an amusing to read and tasty to sample bar menu. Every member of staff greeted us with a smile.
We had to leave very early on our final morning and the inn staff arranged for us to have a coffee maker in our room and for a packed breakfast to be prepared for us to take with us. We will definitely return to the Winchester Inn next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here on drive from Portland to Sacramento.
I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant and bar.
WiFi, parking, 2 blocks from Shakespeare.
Fabulous dinner and bar.
Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portlander505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have been staying at the Winchester Inn for many years and always look forward to coming back for another visit. We are always welcomed by Michael, Laurie and now Drew to our comfortable and well-kept rooms. The inn is so close to the Shakespeare Fesitval theaters as well as the Oregon Cabaret Theater, we never need to move our car during our stay. We will continue to stay at the Winchester Inn for all our future Ashland stays.

Room Tip: The Robert Gordon Suite is a two room suite...great for having get togethers if you are traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBellsSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are locals. We love the atmosphere, staff and food. Downside is portions are skimpy and there is only one veggie option for non-meat eaters. Coffee is excellent. Service is excellent. We go back in spite of the downside, but urge them to add more veggie options and double the potato portions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 941julianS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our second trip to Ashland ( family member is in the OSF Company as an actor). We have done extensive research on B&B's and stayed last year at another site. We have also been to B&B's in many other cities. This was one of the nicest we've stayed in. Clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfats. The gardens were beautiful and the staff, and very congenial owners made it a true pleasure. A few nit picky issues- but no B&B is without some: internet oconnection was non existant- to- poor. We were informed that this would soon be fixed. The city of Ashland decided that trash pick up would begin at 6:30 am and was nosiy outside our window. Suggest if you stay here get a rom that is not adjacent to the alley on the other hand, the view of the hills from our room was spectacular, and so may be worth the inconvenience.Rooms tended to be a little warm at night, but cracking a window and getting some cool night mountain air fixed that in no time . (Maybe some screens on windows to avoid bugs, kind inn keeps?) On premise restaurant, Alchemy, was grea,t and its bar is very well stocked. Theatre is a short 2 block walk. We'll be sure to return for next year's season.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpelteson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Winchester Inn is one of those very special places. The service is superb; the linens on the bed are silky; the food is delicious; the gardens are gorgeous, with flowers and flowering trees blooming all around; the guest rooms are beautifully appointed, many with windows looking out on the garden, the breakfast is several courses, all wonderful. And, it's so quiet that we felt as if we were the only people at the inn, although we knew it was full. We went to the Winchester for our 42nd anniversary and found a note in our room welcoming and congratulating us. The innkeepers will even arrange for play tickets and the theater is only a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Happy anniversary! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was a memorable one. I keep hearing compliments about our gardens, and we have to thank our wonderful gardener Trisha for all her hard work. We hope to see you for next year!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The Winchester is our go to place in Ashland. The innkeepers are the best , the food is great, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the location could not be much better. It's a short walk to most of Ashland's restaurants , and to the Festival theaters. What's not to like?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thanks for the review! I will pass along your kind words to the staff! Hope you have a chance to getaway with us again soon.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
McCall House
McCall House
#5 of 30 in Ashland
265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Inn

Address: 35 S 2nd St, Ashland, OR 97520-2877
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £120 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Winchester Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Inn offers luxury accommodations, affordable excellence, the restaurant features local ingredients with global inspiration, craft cocktails and boutique wines. We are the only Wine Spectator Award Winning restaurant in Ashland as well as the only restaurant with a Certified Sommelier on staff. Top Chef of 2012 - Pamela Lanier's B&B Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Winchester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing