We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a challenge to find, but better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bit of a challenge to find, but better than expected”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were feeling pretty confused as to exactly where this hotel was located. The hotel along the main street that runs in front of the property was vacant and under construction. We finally asked someone at the construction site and he directed us down what we considered to be an unlikely entryway. When we parked out front, we were a bit doubtful and we asked to see the room first. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. It's a bit of a drive from all the things downtown, but the difference in price is nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJ00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for your review and feeback!
Our entrance, for now, is a little unique and we do try to keep up the signage to help direct our guests to our suites building that is in operation. This year we have new owners and are working to reopen the buildings that the previous owners closed over 5 years and hope to have our main entrance back in operation in the next year or two. We are looking forward to continue building our hotel and amenities for our guests and are very happy that you were pleased with your suite and how nice it was.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    179
    41
    5
    3
See reviews for
184
208
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

There are some AMAZING places to stay in Ashland, but you better be prepared to pay for them. And if you have a dog over 50 lbs, your options go way down. When we don't have our dog with us, we do prefer the cute boutique hotels of the area, but with the dog, Ashland Hills is the way to go. It's very accommodating to pets. No extra fees and the large suite of a hotel room is great to stretch out in. Easy access to a pet area to both let the dog out for potty and also to throw a ball and exercise them. The room itself is quite plain Jane -- white walls, white counters, white bed linens and barely a picture on the wall anywhere to break it up, but it's clean, spacious and an incredible value when you book online. AAA members save even more! One word of caution when you do come with a dog -- there are no bowls or anything, so remember to bring your own. Seeing a small kitchenette in the description made me think there might be a bare minimum of a few utensils and a bowl in the room. Nothing. Complimentary breakfast baskets can be ordered for delivery each morning and the views of the hills outside the hotel are stunning! Overall we were pleased with what we got for the price here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback
We are happy that you and your furry companion were able to enjoy the spaciousness of the rooms and the large pet area that we offer.
We would like to let you know that upon we request we do offer "kitchen kits" that come with bowls, plates and silverware and will look into having some extra options for our four legged guests as well. With our new ownership we are looking into sprucing up our rooms and are looking forward to being able to offer more amenities in the future as we redevelop the rest of the property for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 1991 and have observed it's various changes over 22 years. During the month of August we made two separate stays of a few days each and it was our first time under the new hotel ownership. There were few changes, but those that were evident were good choices, such as moving the front desk reception to the main entrance. Over the years I have stayed at several other Ashland hotels (The Bard, Stratford, Columbia, Mark Anthony & Ashland Springs), but what keeps me consistently returning to the Ashland Hills Hotel after so many years are: the very comfortable beds and linens, the 2 room suite floor plan, mini-kitchen and I love being able to step out on the small private balcony. They have a self-laundry, free wifi and the hotel is clean and all employees are friendly and eager to please. No, it's not right in the center of town, but personally I am more content to have my fun in town, then make the 5 minute drive to this peaceful location with it's tranquil view of the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Refined-Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback!
We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and that you have been such a long term guest. There have been a lot of changes over the past 20 years here at this property and we are looking forward to all the new developments and being able to offer so much more to our guests with our new ownership.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel was clean, beautifully appointed, quiet, comfortable and staff was very helpful and friendly, BUT they charged my credit card for the entire price of the room on the day I made my reservation (3 weeks before my stay). I was shocked when I got my credit card statement with the room charged to it 6 days before my stay, especially since the e-mail confirmation clearly stated that my room would not be charged until I checked out. Staff could not have been more kind and considerate while explaining this new policy of charging your credit card as soon as you make the reservation. It was particularly bunglesome because they had to credit back part of my bill to a credit card I don't use very often. I like the hotel but due to this policy, am not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for your feedback!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was so helpful and considerate.
We do greatly apologize about the confusion with our new deposit policy, which is that we are now asking for a one night deposit at the time of your booking, and are working hard to make sure that all of our partners, websites and confirmation pages show the correct information. We are always willing to work with our guests though if this causes too much of an inconvience and hope that you will still choose us for your next trip to Ashland.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
437 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Yes, I thought it was perfect! Room was clean and the grounds were lovely. After our play we returned with a warm latte and sat out in the courtyard. Enjoyed revisting our experiences of the day. Very quiet. Gotta love a place that gives you a warm cookie when you check in :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to relax in the courtyard and of course a warm cookie is always nice!
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and appreciate you choosing us for your hotel needs.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great hotel, excellent clean suites, quiet location, polite and helpful staff. Really enjoyed the room with the convenient kitchen area, living room, large bathroom, and spacious separate bedroom. The hotel is a little bit away from the downtown bustle, but close enough to easily access it. Also near I-5 onramp, which is convenient. The breakfast basket delivery was appreciated rather than having a complimentary "breakfast room." Easy access to the hotel from the parking lot and no need for a bellperson to load luggage. Rates are reasonable. Was very pleased overall, especially when compared to our stay at another Ashland hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was polite and helpful. We always strive to make sure that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay and will let them know the positive comments about your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an awesome hotel in a lovely environment. Views from the rooms are very pretty and peaceful. Very quiet and very comfortable beds....lots of pillows It is nice to have your breakfast delivered to your room so your mornings can be relaxing. The staff is so very nice and helpful. The warm cookie when checking in was delightful. We stay there every time we come to Ashland.

Great value for the price!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the valley view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimdarmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear TripAdviosor Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback!
We will be sure to share your review with our staff and let them know how helpful they are being to our guests. We are very happy that you enjoy the peacful environment that we offer and the complimentary breakfast snack that is delivered to your door.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.8 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.1 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
565 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
2.9 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Property: Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1411 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side of town and just 3 miles from downtown Ashland this 14-acre property boasts panoramic mountain views, intimate courtyard patio, a seasonal outdoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as two tennis courts. Experience an uplifting 1970s retro-modern, timeless design, comfortable furnishings and over 160 spacious guest rooms and suites. Our guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet and parking. It's a perfect destination for families, business travelers, and anyone coming to explore this part of Oregon. Its location offers easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including pristine mountain lakes, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a fantastic dining scene. Just a short drive from the numerous golf courses, local wineries, hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. We are also excited to now offer our on-site restaurant, Luna Cafe and Mercantile. Serving specialty coffee and fresh baked items for sale from 8am - 11am, and then serving a full menu for lunch and dinner from 11am - 9pm. While you are Orbiting Ashland we hope you land at Luna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing