We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice three day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eads, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice three day stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in the downstairs Amber room. It was a large room with comfortable king size bed. The adjoining bath was also fine, A problem with the massage shower was quickly resolved. The off street parking was a bit scary with the steep, narrow entrance. Overall our stay was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    28
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the inn April 2013. We really enjoyed our stay. We were late arrivals and the inn keepers were very accommodating by allowing us to check in the next day and providing us with a key. We stayed in the garnet room! It was cozy and we enjoyed the jacuzzi and fireplace. It adds a nice touch. The room was very clean. The inn keepers provide little gifts nightly, which was very nice. They also give you a "goodie bag" of treats for the road. Thus was also appreciated. The owner is great; friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast! It was delicious and different then your typical breakfast foods! There was a different breakfast every morning! My husband and I have stayed at bed and breakfasts before and this was the best so far! We will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tareemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The amathyst Inn is so cute, nice and relaxing. We stayed in the Garnet room and enjoyed the whirlpool tub and steam shower. There was also a swing on our porch that was nice to sit on and relax. Tom is the nicest owner we have met and his wife Wanda makes the best breakfasts' ever! The Inn was very clean and they had snacks at all times, coffee, tea and water, along w/ a fridge that all can use.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

we only live 3 miles away but we will be back. nicest people on the planet great food and romantic room settings. Quiet settings and great water pressure for tub. fireplace really adds to romantic quality

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My boyfriend and I were beyond mentally fried and over the city. We decided to get out into the country a little bit, and do something we had never done before - stay at a B&B.

I found the Adamstown Inn online, and it was reasonably priced, the photos didn't look like Great Aunt Gertrude's parlor, and every room had an en-suite fireplace (my one stipulation).

We stayed 2 nights in the Topaz room at the Amethyst Inn. It was amazing. The Amethyst Inn is a big, old (but beautifully maintained) Victorian home, converted into the Inn. Our room was equal parts Victoriana (joie de vie wallpaper and a very ornate cast iron fireplace) and Country - beautiful antique oak furniture. It was just our style (we've been told our apartment, which is in an old Victorian home, looks like a "Hobbit Hole" - in the most flattering, Olde English, cozy way ever, of course!)

The queen sized featherbed was luxurious and we slept like babies. The bathroom was updated, immaculate and the jacuzzi was amazing.

Breakfast was to die for. Four courses each morning of fantastic, unique home cooked goodness. Everything was so fresh and amazing. Their coffee was great (and endless) as well!

The staff was wonderful and warm, but not intrusive. They were incredibly thoughtful. Every day there was a small gift waiting for us on the bed, and when we left they gave us snacks for the road! It snowed overnight the 2nd night, and they even cleaned our car off for us before we woke up.

This place is first rate, gourmet, beautifully decorated and it is a wonderful respite away from Philadelphia. We, much like The Terminator, will be back.

Room Tip: We peeked in all of the empty rooms, and while the Toapz room was the smallest, we found it the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Thank your for making this the best surprise for my husband. Our room was perfect, the bed was comfy, the best I have ever had on a vacation.
I could go on and on, really everything was perfect! **Clean clean clean!!**
The owners are funny and kind, as well as the rest of the staff was friendly and helpfull.
Oh and the breakfast very unusual but refreshingly superb!
If you stay on a Friday make sure to bring lots of cash for the green dragon, fresh market with cheese & meats, anything! Black horse restaurant and tavern, awesome place to have romantic dinner! We are looking forward to our next stay!!!
Thank you kindly
Mark & Annett

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettscreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Owner at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. It does a soul good, not to mention help with confidence in what we do when we receive good reviews. We strive to make each guest feel welcome and special when they stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My husband and I spent our ten year anniversary here and I absolutely LOVED it!! We stood in the topaz room. It is small but beautiful. The breakfast was amazing! Did I mention the house is beautiful!! Tom and his wife were very sweet and attentive!! We just booked the Garnet room for our 12th anniversary in January!! I am so looking forward to it!! I can't wait!! ;-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
17.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 6 in Denver
95 reviews
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
422 reviews
7.9 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn & Cottages

Property: Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501 (Formerly Adamstown Inns & Cottages)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amethyst Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amethyst Inn, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing