We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, ok breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the garnet room on the second floor. The room was large, clean with all the basics. It had a nice porch and a 2 person jacuzzi bath and steam shower. We liked the room very much. The food was ok but not great, at least compared to other B & Bs we've stayed at. I'd give it 3 1/2 stars if I had the option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Owner at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am really sorry to hear that our breakfast did not live up to your expectations. We strive to make our guests feel at home and enjoy everything we have to offer. We hope that you would give us the opportunity to “wow” you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here in September of 2012 for our honeymoon, and it was so memorable an experience that, even though it's been a while, I felt compelled to give a review. We stayed in the Ruby Suite, which was as luxurious as it was comfortable. The bed was perfect, the jacuzzi in the bed room was an awesome touch, the T.V. room was old fashioned and inviting, and the two bathrooms and steam shower were the height of luxury.

Every thing about the staff and service was so accommodating and professional, while at the same time relaxed and welcoming. My wife and I arrived later than planned, well past our check in time, and upon calling the staff to notify them of this, the door to our suite was left open so we could let ourselves in when we arrived. Kristin is an amazing hostess and innkeeper; she and all the staff here truly made our stay. The food Kristin prepares and serves is top-notch; her breakfasts are not to be missed! The instrumental guitar music playing during one of her gourmet breakfasts was so perfect, and upon learning that I played guitar and loved the music, Kristin gave me a free CD of the artist's music that was playing, Vin Downes. My wife and I listened to the CD our entire honeymoon, and that music will always have a special place in our hearts as it brings back memories of our honeymoon, the wonderful Adamstown Inn, and the pleasant atmosphere of Lancaster. As another testimony to the unprecedented hospitality of Kristin and staff, one morning my wife wasn't feeling well, and so unfortunately was unable to leave bed for breakfast. Upon learning of this, Kristin prepared a tray of the items I thought my wife would like from the morning's breakfast, and I was able to take it into the room so she could enjoy the meal when she was feeling better. Truly unbelievable service, hospitality, and genuine concern for the well-being and comfort of their guests! I can't say enough about Kristin and all the wonderful staff at Adamstown Inn. With the wonderful people, and clean, comfortable rooms, The Adamstown Inn truly is the perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ruby Suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Director of Sales at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you Sean for your very kind review. Returning guests are the ultimate compliment to our B&B. We find many of our guests have selected their stays on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate the time you have taken out of your schedule to share your experiences. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband booked our room for our anniversary getaway and we loved every moment of our stay. Our room was clean and the bed was so comfortable - like sleeping on a cloud! The steam shower and the fire places were a nice added touch. And we loved the Jacuzzi in our room!

Breakfast was amazing and very filling. We really enjoyed the baked oatmeal, sausage and cheddar balls, and the chicken sausage.

The staff was very friendly and thoughtful. They sent us home with a box of local goodies!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a private entrance on the side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstink1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Director of Sales at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for choosing The Adamstown Inn for your anniversary stay. It was an absolute pleasure to share such a special time with you. We look forward to celebrating many happy anniversaries with you in the years to come. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked this weekend in the Ruby Room for my husband and I, as a romantic, peaceful getaway. Everything about our stay was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the coffee station and really loved the steam shower. Our room was beautiful, decor was just awesome. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home, along with the bedding! We enjoyed a peaceful evening together on one night, just staying in watching movies and eating takeout, after being out late to a function the night before. We slept too late both mornings to enjoy the breakfast, but appreciated the chance to do so. We will definitely be back again soon, and I would recommend this inn to anyone wanting a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Ruby Room is large, with 2 bathrooms, a little bit of noise in the morning from breakfast diners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Director of Sales at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thanks so much for enjoying a peaceful getaway at Amethyst Inn and sharing your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Amythest Inn was wonderful. The food was great. The coffee and snack station was yummy. The service and attention was also wonderful. They really put a nice touch on everything, we got a welcome packet with vouchers for local restaurants. We had a free appetizer and free dessert at the steakhouse! When we left they packed us snacks for the road.

We stayed in the Amber room and it was lovely. We had an issue with the shower and when we called, the owner was there within minutes, literally minutes - to fix it and apologized sincerely, even though it was our own mistake. We just opened the door wrong and it was acting funny.

ALSO - We were an interracial lesbian couple and they treated us with the utmost respect and kindess which was a concern for me in booking a B&B in a rural area. But the rate was great and the service fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were blown away by the amazing hospitality of this charming B&B. They want to make sure you have a wonderful experience and we absolutely did!!! Big plus is a handicapped accessible bedroom/bathroom with a private entrance. We love the atmosphere of B&Bs but most can not accommodate someone in a wheelchair. So many pluses - VERY comfortable bed that didn't creak, nice pillows, chocolates in your room, delicious breakfast, fireplace, coffee/tea and goodies always there, goodie bag when you leave, nice packet of info on places to see/restaurants in the area, and did I mention CHARM!!. Everyone was soooo helpful throughout our visit, especially Kristin, and the owners. Did the floor above us creak when the guests moved around? Yes. Did it bother us? No. And we appreciated their kind offer to Veterans on Veterans Day with some complimentary or discounted rooms. A class act. Will we be back? Absolutely!!!

Room Tip: If steps are a problem for you there is a handicapped accessible suite on the first floor with its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Topaz room. It was exactly what you would expect in a charming Victorian B&B: period wallpaper, a quilt on an antique bed and lace curtains. A modern Jacuzzi in the bathroom was very welcome. We first drove past the house since it was hidden behind large pine trees. The steep narrow driveway looked scary, but our SUV was able to make it and we found the entrance around the side. When we checked in we were given a tote bag with information. Staff was friendly and helpful. There was a Keurig coffee maker and a cookie jar in case we wanted a late-night snack. Breakfast was hardy. They packed up leftovers in a cute container for us to take. We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
14.6 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Living Spring Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Inn at Twin Linden
The Inn at Twin Linden
#1 of 1 in Churchtown
157 reviews
7.7 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn & Cottages

Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501-5011 (Formerly Adamstown Inns & Cottages)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price Range: £89 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amethyst Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amethyst Inn, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Amethyst Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing