We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Since the original inn first opened many years ago, I have enjoyed staying at the Inns at Adamstown regularly for a mini-vacation or getaway with family or friends. The house itself as well as the guest rooms are very private, comfortable, clean, and charming. The owners, innkeepers and staff are so nice and friendly, guests can't help but feel right at home. There is always a little "something extra" waiting in the room for the guests, too. The breakfasts served in the bright dining room are substantial and delicious, and seating at the individual bistro tables is great, since not everyone likes to strike up a conversation first thing in the morning. The Inn also has a small gift shop with appealing, reasonably priced items for a little something to take home with you. The only negative thing I would warn potential guests about is that there are a lot of steps to climb; however, someone is always there to assist you with your luggage when checking in or out. With so many activities available within a short driving area, there is always a reason to return again and again.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Confidante09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    26
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
127
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Cobalt room - this is a spacious and romantic room. The private porch off the back of the house was perfect for a glass of wine while swinging on the porch swing. The furniture fit perfectly with the era of the house yet the Jacuzzi tub was a wonderful addition to the bathroom. The breakfast was fresh, homemade and light - the coffee was delicious. Kristen was most helpful with shopping and dining tips. We would recommend this place for honeymooners, anniversary or romantic getaways. Location was great for antique hunters and those wishing to experience the Amish lifestyle or outlet shopping. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody12ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonPedro71
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I wanted to stay at a romantic B&B in the Lancaster County area and the Amethyst Inn fit the bill perfectly.

Our three night stay at the inn was wonderful. It started with a personal tour of the facilities by Tom, the inn keeper. There was a huge feather bed with fluffy comforters and pillows, a jacuzzi for two and a roomy steam/massage shower. The online pictures do not do justice to the place.

Each morning we were served a wonderful breakfast of warm, fresh muffins and breads, fresh fruits, and other wonderful morsels.

The innkeepers are knowledgeable of the area and have numerous suggestions and pamphlets for area attractions. They even have guest comment notebooks for the area restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonPedro71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

The Adamstown Inn is a beautiful small bed & breakfast tucked away in Adamstown, PA. The house is showing it's age a little bit however the rooms are obviously remodeled very recently as they are very contemporary. I would highly recommend this B&B to any of my friends and we will consider returning for another visit. My only minor complaint is that they do not serve a full breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsandjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

The Inn is very nice. We really enjoyed our room. The staff was helpful. A major disappointment was the breakfast. If you are accustomed to a full breakfast at a B& B, it is not provided here. Lots of sweet treats though. It was a problem for my husband since he has diabetes. They provide a delicious fruitcup, a raspberry dessert bar, muffins and mini crab puffs. Othere then that complaint, everything else is great. We loved Judy's restaurant in Reading, nearby.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuluPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

We had a terrific time and would have been happy to have just stayed at the AI and eat at Stoudts the whole time we were there exploring Amish land.

It is an old house will very modern accoutrements. Very clean and well maintained.

The inn keepers were great, food great, facilities and presentation great. We would gladly go back to this area JUST TO GO BACK TO THIS PLACE!

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — No view of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heron200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Stayed here on our honeymoon. Can't imagine ever staying anywhere better. Huge beautiful bed, double sided fire place, awesome jacuzzi tub, Sweedish shower and lots of space.

Completely private and quiet at night. Wonderful breakfast and beautifully decorated.

Easy access to great food and Amish Country.

We will be returning in the near future.


PS. everyone loves Cecil

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jbracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Living Spring Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Reinholds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Penn Amish Motel
Penn Amish Motel
#2 of 7 in Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn & Cottages

Property: Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501 (Formerly Adamstown Inns & Cottages)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amethyst Inn, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing