We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously Heartwarming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was our stay for my birthday and Christmas weekend, and it was quite lovely. Owners are friendly and hospitable, down to earth, and they leave chocolate everywhere... so who could possibly complain?! Home-baked breakfasts are mouth-watering and cozy, as is the Victorian-designed wall paper of pretty patterns; it bring you to another time! Breakfast is served early but, if you're a late sleeper, Owners are flexible and make you welcome even at the last minute. We would recommend the Amethyst Inn highly when interested in visiting Amish country.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillerLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamstowninns, Innkeeper at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special weekend. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Hopefully next year for your Birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed three nights at this wonderful inn in observance of our wedding anniversary, and loved every minute of it. The accommodations were spacious, comfortable clean and beautifully decorated. The homemade breakfasts were exceptionally good. The innskeepers were so friendly, courteous, helpful and made us feel welcome from the time of our arrival until our departure, as though their goal was to make our visit as pleasant as possible....and they succeeded. We were impressed by the warm hospitality and attention given to every detail of the operation of this inn. It was a joy to return to the inn after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Anyone who has stayed at a B & B in the past or looking to do so for the first time, will not be disappointed. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kind2UMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Staff went out of their way to assist me with a special request. Great, friendly service. Loved reading on the swing on the big wrap-around porch and soaking in the large bath tub in our room. A quiet retreat -- just what I needed. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirktrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Since the original inn first opened many years ago, I have enjoyed staying at the Inns at Adamstown regularly for a mini-vacation or getaway with family or friends. The house itself as well as the guest rooms are very private, comfortable, clean, and charming. The owners, innkeepers and staff are so nice and friendly, guests can't help but feel right at home. There is always a little "something extra" waiting in the room for the guests, too. The breakfasts served in the bright dining room are substantial and delicious, and seating at the individual bistro tables is great, since not everyone likes to strike up a conversation first thing in the morning. The Inn also has a small gift shop with appealing, reasonably priced items for a little something to take home with you. The only negative thing I would warn potential guests about is that there are a lot of steps to climb; however, someone is always there to assist you with your luggage when checking in or out. With so many activities available within a short driving area, there is always a reason to return again and again.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Confidante09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Cobalt room - this is a spacious and romantic room. The private porch off the back of the house was perfect for a glass of wine while swinging on the porch swing. The furniture fit perfectly with the era of the house yet the Jacuzzi tub was a wonderful addition to the bathroom. The breakfast was fresh, homemade and light - the coffee was delicious. Kristen was most helpful with shopping and dining tips. We would recommend this place for honeymooners, anniversary or romantic getaways. Location was great for antique hunters and those wishing to experience the Amish lifestyle or outlet shopping. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody12ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I wanted to stay at a romantic B&B in the Lancaster County area and the Amethyst Inn fit the bill perfectly.

Our three night stay at the inn was wonderful. It started with a personal tour of the facilities by Tom, the inn keeper. There was a huge feather bed with fluffy comforters and pillows, a jacuzzi for two and a roomy steam/massage shower. The online pictures do not do justice to the place.

Each morning we were served a wonderful breakfast of warm, fresh muffins and breads, fresh fruits, and other wonderful morsels.

The innkeepers are knowledgeable of the area and have numerous suggestions and pamphlets for area attractions. They even have guest comment notebooks for the area restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonPedro71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

The Adamstown Inn is a beautiful small bed & breakfast tucked away in Adamstown, PA. The house is showing it's age a little bit however the rooms are obviously remodeled very recently as they are very contemporary. I would highly recommend this B&B to any of my friends and we will consider returning for another visit. My only minor complaint is that they do not serve a full breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdsandjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Living Spring Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn & Cottages

Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501-5011 (Formerly Adamstown Inns & Cottages)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price Range: £87 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amethyst Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amethyst Inn, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Amethyst Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing