We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amethyst Inn Exceeded Our Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chambersburg, PA
1 review
“Amethyst Inn Exceeded Our Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We had never ventured to a B&B before, but I decided to surprise my husband for Valentine's Day weekend. From the moment we arrived until we reluctantly departed, we felt like family. The room was awesome, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, the staff was top-notch. The only thing we wish we could have changed is to have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlhdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    26
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
127
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

My boyfriend and I are in our thirties and were just looking for a getaway. This Inn for us had its pros and cons. First con is its overall location. It sits in a neigherhood with houses side by side. Teenagers on porch stoops hanging out. Not a countryside view at all. Pro though is once you are inside it is beautiful, rooms are incredible. That is the best part....the room. Comfy bed, fireplaces, steam shower. We were just looking to relax and be alone, so another con is you are very close to other people that stay there. That kind of environment wasnt really "us," but may be for others. The gift baskets you can choose from need to be described better. My "relaxation basket" was full of foot care stuff and thats it. Owners were extremely friendly and wonderful hosts. A tour of the Inn and our room specifically was given. Breakfast was different. I think a menu might be a good idea so guests know what to expect. My boyfriend did not care for the spinich turnovers or fruit.

Overall it was nice. I probably wont stay in the Inn again but might try one of the cottages. People that love the close quarters, exceptional service, with beautiful clean rooms would appreciarte this Inn....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twink8203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

The Amethyst Inn at Adamstown Inns & Cottages was a very comfortable, beautifully decorated and welcoming place to stay. The breakfasts were quite unique and yummy and the service was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabearhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband and I stayed in the beautiful Ruby Suite (Amethyst Inn) for a couple of days after Christmas. The room was very lovely and nicely decorated: two-person whirlpool, two fireplaces, separate sitting area, two bathrooms, and private entrance. The quality of the rooms, service, and the delicious breakfasts were beyond our expectations. A lot of thought and care is obvious in everything they do for you. We received a little gift each day, which was left on our bed. The only negatives (if you're not an early riser): (1) breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. - most B&Bs serve breakfast until 10 a.m.; (2) check out is at 10 a.m. - at most B&Bs, check out is at 11 a.m.; and (3) since the Ruby Suite was on the first floor, and right outside the room are the gift shop and breakfast area, it was a bit noisy with the kitchen noise, kitchen traffic back and forth to the breakfast area, etc. If you'd not an earlier riser, I would suggest a room on the second floor. All in all, a wonderful holiday getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mt1089gren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was our stay for my birthday and Christmas weekend, and it was quite lovely. Owners are friendly and hospitable, down to earth, and they leave chocolate everywhere... so who could possibly complain?! Home-baked breakfasts are mouth-watering and cozy, as is the Victorian-designed wall paper of pretty patterns; it bring you to another time! Breakfast is served early but, if you're a late sleeper, Owners are flexible and make you welcome even at the last minute. We would recommend the Amethyst Inn highly when interested in visiting Amish country.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamstowninns, Innkeeper at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special weekend. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Hopefully next year for your Birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed three nights at this wonderful inn in observance of our wedding anniversary, and loved every minute of it. The accommodations were spacious, comfortable clean and beautifully decorated. The homemade breakfasts were exceptionally good. The innskeepers were so friendly, courteous, helpful and made us feel welcome from the time of our arrival until our departure, as though their goal was to make our visit as pleasant as possible....and they succeeded. We were impressed by the warm hospitality and attention given to every detail of the operation of this inn. It was a joy to return to the inn after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Anyone who has stayed at a B & B in the past or looking to do so for the first time, will not be disappointed. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kind2UMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirktrac
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Staff went out of their way to assist me with a special request. Great, friendly service. Loved reading on the swing on the big wrap-around porch and soaking in the large bath tub in our room. A quiet retreat -- just what I needed. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirktrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Living Spring Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Reinholds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Penn Amish Motel
Penn Amish Motel
#2 of 7 in Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn & Cottages

Property: Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501 (Formerly Adamstown Inns & Cottages)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amethyst Inn, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing