We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It all evened out”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dave's Diner

Dave's Diner
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Adamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Dave's Diner serves up the good ole' American classics. We are a local spot that serves up great food and great service. We have a fantastic breakfast special and lots of great tasting items on our menu that will satisfy any palate. Stop in for breakfast, lunch, or dinner and have yourself a delicious home cooked meal.
new jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It all evened out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Lunch there today. Waitress seemed unfriendly and rushed, even though place was practically empty. Waitresses at other tables were friendly, however. This place is small and sound is amplified. Waitresses conversed with each other and familiar guests at almost shouting level, which was unpleasant. My lunch was not good- tiniest, flattest burger I've ever seen on a bun with lukewarm cheese and only a pickle spear for garnish. Even just a lettuce leaf would make the plate more appealing. Husband liked his turkey special, though- turkey was freshly cooked and tasty, although plate was swimming with water/juice that he had to pour off onto his salad bowl. When we gave the waitress a credit card for payment, we were told "No credit cards" even though there was no notice of this at the entrance. Fortunately, we had enough cash and didn't have to pay $2-3 dollars for a withdrawal at the ATM. All in all, not a great experience even though nothing went horribly wrong.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Cool place, atmosphere and excellent homemade food.
Try their soup and sandwich.
Best diner choice if you are antique shopping in Adamstown,pa

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FromPAtoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I got the "Daves Favorite" omelette, which is basically a western-but with green AND red peppers. Everything tasted really good. Some negatives were the fact that the home fries were not included in the price, so I ended up spending over $10 fro both. Which in this area is expensive for breakfast. Also, they do not accept credit/debit card. They do offer an ATM onsite, but then you have to spend even more ($2.00 I believe) just to get money out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerbabyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Everything but the Squeal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We'll often stop by Dave's for breakfast before heading out to Shupp's Grove or for lunch on the way back to town. The place is small, but we've always gotten a booth or counter space right away. This is really good, inexpensive diner food, especially the breakfasts. If you've never had scrapple, this is the place to try it; "everything but the squeal." Sometimes the home fries or hashbrowns aren't quite well done enough for me, so I ask them to make them a little crispy when I place my order. The burgers at lunch are great too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank readem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cuisine in a Mom & Pop diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everything I have ever tried is amazing & the service is top-notch. Their homemade mushroom soup will put you in orbit, the crabmeat covered hamburger is insane, and the chicken breast sandwich with mushrooms will bring tears to your eyes. Thank God I don't live closer; I would be the size of a sofa!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dave's Diner also viewed

 
Adamstown, Lancaster County
Denver, Lancaster County
 

Been to Dave's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing