We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise!”
Review of Dave's Diner

Dave's Diner
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Adamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Dave's Diner serves up the good ole' American classics. We are a local spot that serves up great food and great service. We have a fantastic breakfast special and lots of great tasting items on our menu that will satisfy any palate. Stop in for breakfast, lunch, or dinner and have yourself a delicious home cooked meal.
Restaurant details
Description: Dave's Diner serves up the good ole' American classics. We are a local spot that serves up great food and great service. We have a fantastic breakfast special and lots of great tasting items on our menu that will satisfy any palate. Stop in for breakfast, lunch, or dinner and have yourself a delicious home cooked meal.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went to Dave's Diner after antiquing. (Our Garmin couldn't find it, so it was pure luck that we saw it.) The waitress was very nice. I had the roasted chicken sandwich with a side salad. The salad was AWESOME. The chicken sandwich was a little over cooked, I thought, but not outrageously so. And, because I had asked about the soup, she also brought me a little shooter to taste it. Now, that was some good soup! My husband ordered the roasted chicken salad, and he was very impressed with the quality of the ingredients. We would definitely go back!

One quick note: I am pretty sure it's cash only, so plan accordingly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best diner in Adamstown pa”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Small retro looking building. Staff is very friendly, food is really good. They close early afternoon so try to catch them for breakfast or lunch.
Try the pulled chicken sandwich: it is really good.
If you are antiquing, don't miss to have lunch at Dave's diner

Helpful?
Thank FromPAtoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looking at the Place you would never know!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A Very small diner, you would never know what existed. Food portions were huge, Bean soup was excellent. Dessert was to die for! Grilled Sticky Bun with Ice cream. Never knew you could grill a sticky bun. It was the bomb! Had the chicken finger salad and could not even eat a third of it.

On the salad, they just need to cut the lettuce smaller. Very big pieces of lettuce.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great breakfasts”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

little diner in Adamstown not far from turnpike entrance. food is good waitresses pleasant. Sometimes a wait when times busy but worth the short wait. if in the area stop by... limited hours so be aware...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonable Prices, Hot Sauce that is like fire”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When I get back to Pennsylvania and visit my family in Reading, I always try to work in a stop at Dave's Diner. The food is great, the service just as good. And they serve an absoluterly outstanding Cream Chip Beef on Toast, which is the one thing you can't find in Texas. Just make sure to tell them you want it steaming hot, because it cools quickly and if your plate sits for a few minutes while they get the rest of the orders together it takes away from a truly guilty pleasure. Of course, that advice would hold for anywhere not just Dave's. For some reason, I'll usually break with tradition at Dave's and have the cream chip beef over homefries and get toast on the side. That way you don't waste one drop of the fatty, salty, heart killing deliciousness. When Blueberries are in season they also have sublime blueberry pancakes. And their burgers are very good. So, if you're near Adamstown stop in at Dave's. Oh, and try their homemade hot
sauce, but only if you don't mind sweating profusely and feeling some real burn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dave's Diner also viewed

 
Stevens, Lancaster County
Denver, Lancaster County
 

Been to Dave's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing