We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dc
1 review
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Hartzell house turned out to be just what we needed...A quiet place with good food, gracious hosts. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
372
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Pleasant and clean accommodations, roomy common areas, reasonable rates, convenient to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, friendly service...and foodie-worthy breakfast! The menu offerings were unique, delicious and beautifully presented! Highly recommend the savory herb apple pancakes!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhopper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our first time at a B&B and everything was great! The house was beautiful, extremely clean, a great room (bed and pillows were awesome) and the toiletries provided were very nice. We loved having access to beverages and snacks throughout the stay, the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous and the presentation was spectacular! My husband is not a big fan of berries or pears so Kitty surprised him with an array of tropical fruit the next day and the scones were incredible!!

Kitty & David knew that we had a dog and it was his first time in a nearby pet resort and they even left us with a treat to take for Petey! :)

I would highly recommend this to anyone staying in the area!

Thanks Kitty & David for a great first experience!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_Ryan_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I took a chance on a Wednesday evening that The Hartzell House would have a room available on Friday night. It turns out that they did. I took Friday afternoon off and we got in our convertible and took off for Addison, PA. We arrived a little early and yet Kitty saw to it that we were able to get access to our room. This was our second visit. Kitty made reservations for us at the Rivers Edge Restaurant in Confluence. She saw to it that we had a table on the deck overlooking the river. It was a beautiful evening and we had a nice dinner. We came back to the B&B and talked to Dave and another couple who were staying there. We had a great night's sleep in the very comfortable bed. The next morning we enjoyed Dave and Kitty's fantastic breakfast.. After breakfast, we relaxed on the porch and talked to Kitty before we left for our tour of Fallingwater. We had a relaxing visit and we are definitely coming back to stay again. We love the Laurel Highlands area and would not stay anywhere else but the Hartzell House.

Tom & Paige Wilson

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlw1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Can't say enough good things about this place. The hosts were absolutely great. A very easy going couple and ready and willing to do anything they could do for us without being too pushy or invasive. The B & B was beautifully remodeled and while it was goregeous it didn't feel like a museum that you couldn't come back to and be absolutely comfortable relaxing in. Very tastefully decorated and not overly foo-foo like many B&Bs. Lots of good space where you can relax and unwind. Absolutely loved the bed. I think we had some of the best nights sleeps we have had in awhile. Breakfast was delicious and believe me...this is so important to my better half. Home cooked, fresh meals each morning w/ more food than you really need, but so delish that you can't help but eat every last bite! We had the chance to meet the owners family too (daughter and 2 four-legged furry kids) and they were all just as welcoming as the hosts. If you're looking for someplace casual, comfortable, quiet and welcoming, I'd highly recommend the Hartzell House. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebus1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Sometimes a B&Bcan be a little too close. I don't know how David & Kitty do it but with every room full we still had a feeling of totally impeccable service, privacy, and attention to every detail. From my early morning strong coffee to yummy gourmet breakfasts, advice when we asked, to the most comfortable bed west of home, everything about Hartzell House is 5 stars. Our group of friends rented the East Wing and couldn't have had a more wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was a perfect setting for our group of 5 friends. We came to the area for Fallingwater (which was amazing) but our 2 nights at Hartzell House turned out to be a highlight as well for our stay.
We had three (3) rooms in the annex and each person was very pleased. Each room was clean, beautifully decorated and sumptuously comfortable. We had a common living space amd small kitchen which was a perfect space to gather in the morning and before bed at night to talk.
Kitty and Dave are clearly the perfect hosts - they have created this space with great attention to detail, craftsmanship and aesthetic.
I will be back.
The breakfast was a culinary delight!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
23.1 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing