We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Kitty and David are the most amazing hosts. They thought of everything possible to in order to make our stay as lovely as possible. From pre-printed direction cards to Falling Water & Kentuck Knob to dinner recommendations (Out of the Fire & The Tavern @ Nemacolin Woodlands Resort) they were spot on every time. And breakfast was incredible. Incredible.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Tantalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our one night stay at the Hartzell House was fantastic! We went on a Monday night and they still had a full house, but everyone was so kind. The hosts were so amazing because they pay so much attention to detail and make everything so simple. A major added bonus was that they create and cook amazing food! We stayed in the Trapper's Room, which creates a warm, cozy and romantic atmosphere. The sink in the room was a plus and the shared bathroom down the hall was huge and clearly had a lot of love put into when it was created. Wow! We planned on enjoying a complementary glass of wine while playing a game of pool, but we ended up having a wonderful conversation with another couple that lasted late into the night. Breakfast the next morning was out of this world!!! So delicious! I don't want this to sound weird, but I felt a bit sad leaving after breakfast because the experience was so pleasurable and memorable and the hosts were so wonderful to talk to. We suggest going in the Fall when the Autumn leaves are at their peak. We HIGHLY recommend this place! Thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvansandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our stay at Hartzell House was delightful! We enjoyed the exceptional hospitality, the beautiful accommodations and delicious breakfast. Our room was luxurious and the bed was exceptionally plush and comfortable, providing us with a glorious night of rest after a rigorous day of travel and exploration. The entire inn is freshly and tastefully decorated, with spacious areas for guests to dine and convene. Hartzell House proprietors are gracious hosts, attentive to your every need. We highly recommend Hartzell House.

Room Tip: We prefer a room with a private bath, but the shared bathroom was also lovely and very clean. It wou...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our one night stay at Hartzell House was flawless. We chose to stay in the Trapper's Room, which was beautiful and clean. The sink in the room was very useful as this room shares a bathroom with the Teacher's Room. The bed was comfy, and the carpet in the room made me feel extra comfortable. The bathroom was the nicest bathroom I've used while away on vacation and the array of bath products was a welcome problem to have.

Kitty and David were very gracious and gave us good advice for dining options despite it being late on a weeknight. That said, Kitty's breakfast was fantastic and really sealed the deal for me in terms of future visits.

Overall, an easy 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Beautiful clean, quiet rooms, excellent food, lovely setting, and helpful friendly hosts make this the perfect place for a getaway to the Laurel Highlands. We loved being able to come back to this delightful place after a day of sightseeing and enjoy a glass of wine, a game of pool, chat with the hosts, then relax with a good book or watch TV. All the rooms are spacious, but if you don't feel like staying in your room there are several really comfy well lit common rooms as well as outdoor patios and decks to enjoy. If stairs are a problem, choose the first floor Patriot's room. Bonus: it has it's own private patio!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c3graces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a one-night stay which was very relaxing. Room was comfortable, everything immaculately clean, and best of all food was really gourmet - both my husband and I would rate it a 10 out of 10. Obviously a popular place because we were there on a rainy October evening and there were 2 other couples. Hosts very helpful, other guests enjoyable too.

Room Tip: Value seekers - this is it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We only stayed one night with Kitty and David but it was just wonderful. They met all our needs quietly. The house is beautiful and so nicely decorated. The breakfast was FABULOUS!! The most gourmet food I've ever had in a B and B. We are already looking to return again with our friends!

Room Tip: The Trapper's room has a soft bed which my husband loved but me, not so much!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERmade50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
566 reviews
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
73 reviews
11.2 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
449 reviews
23.1 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
270 reviews
23.5 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range: £95 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing