We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I decided to experience staying at a B&B as I had never stayed at one before, it was fantastic!!! I loved it so much I will continue to stay at B&B.
The food was excellent, and the place was super clean!
The owners are very pleasant people as well.

Thank you Dave and Kitty for such a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XimenaMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
362
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this beautiful and historic B&B tucked away in the tiny town of Addison, PA. Kitty and David, the proprietors of the B&B, are the epitome of what an inn keeper should be. They are super friendly, incredibly helpful, and keep an immaculate, comfortable and beautiful home. The rooms on the "historic side" of the home, the trapper room and the teachers room are both beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast we were served was also delicious and presented beautifully. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone traveling in the area.

Room Tip: The teachers room has a firmer bed and the trappers room has a softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teruki_neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hartzell House was a wonderful respite from our usually hectic schedule. We came to visit Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, and were impressed with what the Laurel Highlands area had to offer in terms of recreation: water sports, bicycling, and white water rafting on the Youghiogheny River. There is a wonderful rails-to-trails conversion which passes through Pennsylvania and Maryland, with over 30 miles within a short distance from the inn, and totaling several hundred miles from Pittsburgh to Washington, DC.

Kitty and David were wonderful hosts and have made a fabulous B&B from the beautifully restored original house and the new addition. Our room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable, with excellent linens and pillows, and bathrobes for the guests. They have thought of everything in the bathroom, including extra razors, Tylenol, and Advil. The breakfasts were superb - French Toast stuffed with goat cheese and berries with Kitty's ginger syrup, savory pancakes, and frittatas for three examples. There was tea and mini-muffins for afternoon snacks, munchies available, and mini-refrigerators for the guests to use.

If we come back to the area we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Kitty and David could not be any nicer. Their facility is top rate and the breakfast was out of this world. Best place to stay if you are in the area, we will certainly book here again next time we are visiting SW PA. A+ all the way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

So we travel a lot and generally default to chain hotels because it is easy. Hartzell house was very nice, quiet, super clean, and the breakfast was great (despite being vegetarian and no diet coke on premise ;). Owners were very hospitable! Highly recommended and would definitely stay again. I will also remember across the street two AMC Eagles! The world's first 4x4 cross-over.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_Busey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I along with another couple spent one night before visiting Fallingwater. Our room was very comfortable and the owners very welcoming. Unlike some B&B's breakfast was not an overwhelming amount of food. There were good choices of different types of food and all were of high quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varysburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at B&B . Accomadations were the max ,very comfortable and relaxing. Each day Kitty advised us of activities to enjoy in the area and upon our return couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. Choices at breakfast were a plesant surprise. We have stayed at many B & B's and this one gets a gold star

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing