We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pet friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boxwood Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Akron B&B and Inns
Hampton Falls, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pet friendly B&B”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent two nights at the Boxwood Inn in the "Carriage House" with our Golden Retriever while we visited nearby Amish country. The inn keeper, Betsy, was extremely helpful, provided us with excellent recommendations, made fantastic breakfasts and had a great sense of humor. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
51
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

wonderful weekend .Betsy makes a great breakfast and the room was comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Boxwood Inn for Valentine's Day weekend. We stayed in the Hunt Room, which was incredible, and we HIGHLY recommend it. It may be slightly more pricey than the other rooms, but it is DEFINITELY worth the price! If you're looking for the perfect balance between the privacy and luxury of a fancy hotel suite, and the friendly assistance and warmth of a bed & breakfast, this is the place for you. The entire estate was in pristine condition, not a single problem, and everything was very aesthetically pleasing. The food was AMAZING, and the company was incredible. Betsy is a wonderful person, who had great stories and an excellent sense of humor. She also made perfect recommendations on where to go, how to get there, and what we should do.

Overall this was an incredible weekend, and we HIGHLY recommend that you choose the Boxwood Inn (and choose the Hunt Room, without a doubt)!!!

Room Tip: The Hunt Room is the absolute best, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CSWeiss52878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I went to Boxwood Inn for a relaxing weekend and that is exactly what we got. The bed and breakfast is very comfortable with great bedrooms, as well as many comfortable common areas. The views around the grounds are amazing and it is tucked between a Mennonite church and farm which is fun! Betsy (the innkeeper) was very knowledgeable about the area and provided us with a wealth of maps (some handmade with local flair) and other information to help us get around Lancaster. And...the breakfast was amazing! I highly recommend the Boxwood Inn and will likely return for another relaxing and long weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Floral Room and were very happy with the room and views. I am pretty sure there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We recently stayed in the Carrage house. We stayed here many years ago in the same room. We enjoyed being there again and the new owners (from when we stayed before) are a delight. The breakfast - coffe was very good too. There is a charm about this place.
The only thing we felt is that it is in need of a good bath inside & out. The bathroon & bed were clean but overall condition was not like we remembered it ex.Mold , peeling paint, riped screens & more. The Inn sits in a beautiful area of farms and scenic roads. We do love this place & would give it another try.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
box1320, Owner at Boxwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your observations are appreciated and the repairs are almost completed. Because the Carriage House is our most popular room we have a hard time scheduling maintenance without Inconveniencing our guests. Had you come a week later you would have found the majority of the items repaired and repainted. The mold on the outside porch (I'm not sure it was mold but moss) was from our wet and soggy spring and the fact it gets a lot of shade. In any event it has been scrubbed and we have scheduled it to be repainted. We always appreciate our guests input and find it very valuable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We absolutely loved our time at Boxwood Inn Bed and Breakfast. Betty, the lady of the house, was so fantastic. She took the time to sit and talk with us, laugh with us, she seemed to genuinly care.

Betty cooks the best breakfast in Lancaster County every morning. We never went hung. The rooms where spotless and homely. The house itself is more of a manor, it easily the most beautiful of the local B&B's.

I can't recommend this B&B more highly. Perfectly priced. perfectly run. One of the best B&B's you will ever stay at. Guaranteed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris1nic1australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Loved the Hunt room. Lovely B&B, will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Leola Village
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
8.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
396 reviews
6.7 mi away
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxwood Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxwood Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Boxwood Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1320 Diamond St, Akron, PA 17501-1624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Akron
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boxwood Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxwood Hotel Akron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing