We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay is alright.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed here last week after an afternoon in Jim Thorpe PA. A great Scenic Rail Ride is in that town.
I found the hotel and checked in. The woman at the front desk on Saturday Night was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a central location and many things to do nearby. The room was not very big. It was just me so that was not so bad. The pool and hot tub were nice and the room they were in was not very warm. I heard 2 people making noise late next door and called the front desk to tell them. They later kept it down. The breakfast was average and the coffee was ok.
The room had an old TV and a bathroom and sink area apart from each other. Overall Not bad.

Room Tip: Maybe the Home Office rooms near the pool might be better. The room I had was average. More heat i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello, Jimmyc66,

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked this hotel as a stopover on a longer trip due to the convenient location and reasonable price. Unfortunately, this hotel is really showing its age. Rather grim hallways, and the room itself wasn't much better. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the TV had issues. Coffee in the breakfast area was terrible, but at least there's a Dunkin Donuts across the street. On the plus side, the room was reasonably clean and the WiFi was OK. Not the worst place I've stayed, but certainly not one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello Joshua,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We just replaced all our mattresses and brew Maxwell Coffee. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 October 2013

When I arrived I went to my room and noticed a few things wrong smoke detector was hanging off wall, I went and told management and was immedietely moved to another room. I like this hotel because it didn't break the bank was in a great location within walking distance to dorney park and was quiet. Overall all this hotel needs is an upgrade hover rid of bubble tvs and get new flat screens so the picture comes in clear overall I give it a 4 star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy2time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

tommy2times

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here to attend Drag racing and Dorney Park Haunt. Our room wasn't ready as promised. The only plus about our stay at this HJ is our suite was large. However there were so many bads about our stay. The outside doors to the hotel are never locked(the staff has taped the locks so they do not lock) so anyone can just walk into the hotel at night. Some of the people/guest are shady and questionable looking. The pool area is so cold as if they are trying to save on the heating bill, and only half the lights are on so the area is totally relying on the sunlight from daylight in which makes the area very dimly lit. However at night the lights are allowed on. the Jacuzzi was not working during our stay. the rooms are paper thin, so you can hear everyone's conversation. The front desk attendant was rude not very friendly one bit. I only interacted with 3 employees during my stay and only one of them was actually pleasant to deal with. The hotel in general needs so much repair. There is rust, mold, peeling, cheap uncomfortable seating and the towels are warn rough and dingy(one of my towels actually had a huge hole in it) The coffee in the lobby had been watered down way way to much. The tv volume only goes up to a preset volume and you cannot hear the tv if the AC is on. This HJ rations out all its amenities to guests(toilet paper, wash cloths, lotion, etc.) Next time around, I wouldn't stay here even if it were the only hotel available within a 30 mile radius to Dorney Park.

Room Tip: There is a Perkins and Dunkin Donuts within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsyeyes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hello our valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better. We are constantly improving our property to meet our guest needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was cheap and you get what you pay for. There were stains on all the linens; sheets, pillow cases, bedspreads, and towels. Everything was very old and nasty looking. The whole toilet moved when it was sat on. This place needs serious upgrading.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hsnoke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hellow HSNOKE1, Thank you for your feedback. We have installed Hampton Inn style carpets and new beds. We would love to have you return and enjoy all our newly updated hotel. Howard Johnsons Inn and Suites is conveniently located walking distance to Dorney Park and many restaurants in the area. We have free Breakfast, High speed Internet, indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank joebw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#17 of 30 in Allentown
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
5.1 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
6.3 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Allentown
7.4 mi away
Days Hotel Allentown Airport / Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney

Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: £47 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing