We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here - was disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
2 reviews
“Stayed here - was disappointed”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a trip to dorney park. Service was horrible. Front desk clerk was rude. Shower water was cold. There were strange stains on the bed and the bathroom was not clean. Would not recommend..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    91
    93
    109
See reviews for
198
73
41
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The outside is a little run down in appearance. The room I got, matched the outside. Looked old, but the on the upside, it appeared clean and had no bad odors to go with it,That was a relief. The hotel is really close to Dorney Amusement/Water park, which if your going to, I'm sure it's a plus, but I just wanted to get a good nights rest. This is not the hotel to stay at if that's what your looking for...... To many young people and families around. The place was over priced for what you get. The Motel 6 I stayed at in Bristol, VA was 10 times better and cost half as much (I know, not the same city). The bed and and pillows were not comfortable. The towels, sheesh, might as well have been paper towels. The A/C worked. Ran out of hot water while taking a quick shower, not a plus. Being that my room was next to the front desk, I could hear a lot. Not to mention that when you have a disgruntled patron in the middle of the night, you don't let them yell and shout for more than 2 hours with cops around! Unacceptable! Either take care of the patron or get rid of them. Lighting was terrible in the room. Very few outlets not to mention very inaccessible. If it weren't for the fact that it was late and I needed to get off the road for some rest, I probably wouldn't have stayed at this hotel. I don't recommend this place at all, and only stay if you have no other option. The risk is to high for having a bad experience at this place. Stay further up the highway, your experience might be a lot better. The only major plus, was the young lady who happened to work that evening. She was really nice and professional. Didn't catch her name though.....

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Good price, daily breakfast is provided, food is okay (bananas, toast bread, muffins, milk, coffee), room cleaning is splendid, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are available, staff are friendly except the manager (I think), overall good!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumofwhich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello, Sumofwhich,

Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location to Dorney Park and several restaurants. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The sheets were stained and the front doors looked at though they were kicked in. The toilet wasn't stationary and the bathtub backed up when used. We reserved our rooms through Priceline over 2 months ago, because a family member was graduating from college. They put us in a smoking room and told us that we requested this option, even though it wasn't true, The parties occupying the two rooms have severe allergies to cigarette smoke. The hotel wasn't able to accommodate us with another room, but sprayed the rooms with Lysol, which made the smell of smoke even worst. There was only one person on duty, so they provide us with clean sheet and told us that we could make up our beds, ourselves. Please note, our family members who stayed in this hotels suites had much better accommodations. The rooms came equipped with two beds and a couch and the rooms were much cleaner. My advise to anyone is do not stay at this hotel, because it is a dive, There is a Holiday Inn less than a quarter of a mile away on the same avenue. The hotel is much cleaner and I'm sure you will be happy with your accommodations. They really should close down this Howard Johnson, because it is a potential health risk.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 217 & 219, especially if you are a non-smoker. Family who stayed in suites had much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello Robin,


thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We understand why you wrote such a negative and review of our hotel after your stay, however it is not accurate. You booked and prepaid your reservation through an online travel agent for two smoking rooms; we had exactly what you purchase. As a preferred Muhlenberg Alumni hotel, our rooms are always sold a year in advance for graduation. If we had rooms available, our staff would have been happy to have changed your rooms to non-smoking rooms. We value your business and opinion we would love for you to come back and stay with us again when you are in the Allentown area again. It is Dorney Park season bring the family and we will be happy to provide a free night stay. our Hotel has a newly upgraded pool, 37 inch new flat screen TV, competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I do not think I could stay here longer than one night. The entire hotel smells like cigarettes, the walls are paper thin, the indoor pool was not available for use, and the little breakfast they had was not available earlier than 7am.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allentown hotels
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#13 of 30 in Allentown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Allentown
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Allentown
Sleep Inn Allentown
#9 of 30 in Allentown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Allentown Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney
Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd, Allentown, PA 18103-4535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing