We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outside of town on a visit to Muhlenberg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here per the advice of TripAdvisor and we wanted to get Hilton points. We were there one night for a visit to Muhlenberg College. The hotel is located in the middle of business area of very large commercial storage buildings (hence the address). It is conveniently located a couple of miles from the Interstate. There was very little traffic. We stayed on a Sunday night over a three day weekend. We stayed in a large room with a kitchen, king size bed and pull out couch (on which oour teenager slept comfortably). The room was clean and the bathroom sink was located outside of the bathroom which can be helpful when you are trying to get a teen out of bed early in the morning. We did not use the kitchen area.
The room was quiet. The one hotel clerk was pleasant and helpful with regards to finding a restaurant for us. Unfortunately the one she recommended was closed on Sundays. In fact most restaurants in Allentown are closed on Sundays. Breakfast was included and if you like to make your own waffle and get your own OJ, then you would be satisfied.
The hotel is about 10 minutes from the college. It is an easy ride to the College mostly on a 4 lane highway. I would stay at this hotel again if I need to visit Muhlenberg again.
There was a sign on the door that asked guests not to call the front desk or the fire department if they saw flames coming out of one of the nearby buildings as this was normal. We did not get to witness such an event.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelin-tool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonsales, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. Our hotel is conveniently located to several main highways and is just minutes from Muhlenberg, Kutztown, Cedar Crest and DeSales University. Our Homewood features several room types, studios, one bedroom and two bedroom suites all with kitchenettes. There are many restaurants within minutes from the hotel that appear on our restaurant guide, we will make sure to notate the hours of they are opened. Don’t feel left out regarding seeing the flame, I have been at the Homewood Suites since we opened three years ago and only witnessed it on two occasions… Happy Travels, we look forward to you returning soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was an excellent hotel. It is located conveniently off I-76, had a very helpful staff, and the room and all amenities will above and beyond what I expected. Additionally, you couldn't beat the price. Will be staying here again if in the Allentown, PA area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonsales, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. It sounds like you enjoyed one of our spacious two bedroom suites, your right they are very large, some can accommodate 8 guests. We get many compliments on our complimentary “Suite Start” Breakfast Buffet, in addition to our complimentary “Welcome Home” Dinner Buffet which is served Mondays thru Thursdays from 5:30-7:30. For those wanting a bit bigger pool area, our hotel guest enjoy complimentary passes to the 24/7 Fitness Center, where they can enjoy an Olympic sized indoor/outdoor pool. We are addressing the trash pickup times and hopefully be resolved shortly. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to be seeing you soon! Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

PROS:
Warm, inviting lobby with fireplace and living room space. This was my first stay at a

Homewood Suite, which I would compare to a Hampton Inn, but with more space and generally cozier, home-y aesthetic.

The layout of the room was spacious and well-designed, with a decent sized living room and kitchen. The room décor felt both modern and old fashioned (in a good way).

The king size bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept on in a hotel. Had a great night sleep. This was definitely the best thing about the hotel.

The people at reception were friendly and welcoming.

Even though the hotel is right off a highway, we still had a decent view of some trees, and the room was surprisingly quiet.

Small but decent indoor pool (sans hot tub).

Not too far a drive to get to some decent restaurants for lunch or dinner.

CONS:
Water pressure on the shower wasn’t great and did not maintain hot water for very long even off peak hours.

Breakfast was very disappointing. Although there seemed to be a lot of choices almost all of it tasted bad. I know I shouldn’t expect a lot out of a free breakfast, but I’ve stayed a lot of hotels with much higher quality product. These eggs were just lousy. Breads were generic and stale. No bacon. Limited cereal options. Oatmeal was made with milk (not great for my lactose intolerance) and the only toppings were cranberries and sugar (many hotels have nuts & granola). I guess I should have tried the waffle machine, but those usually are disappointing unless there’s some fresh fruit to put on them. Breakfast was fairly crowded, but a friendly couple let us share a table with my wife and I.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonsales, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites by Hilton-Allentown West/Fogelsville. We truly appreciate your comments. Our rooms are generally 1 ½ times the size of a standard hotel room, with plenty of space to relax and unwind. All of our Suites, studio, one and two bedrooms have kitchenettes. Guest often comment on how comfortable our Homewood bedding is, it’s one of the reasons why check out is an hour later than most hotels; Guest love to sleep in that extra hour. Travelers enjoy our complimentary Breakfast Buffet and our evening Welcome Home Dinner Buffet, but for those wanting something different, we are located just seconds from many restaurant choices, some even deliver to the hotel. We have addressed your concerns on the water pressure and our maintenance team is looking into that. Looking over past reviews, Breakfast seems to be a crowd pleaser, but we are also addressing your concerns and will make any additions or changes needed. We look forward to you returning to our Homewood Suites soon. Until then… Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we travelled to Mcungie for a Mack Truck Assembly plant tour and stayed at this hotel. The staff were great, the rooms were clean and spacious and the all inclusive breakfast and buffet dinner was excellent. I would recommend this to any group, family or personal trip, Ask for Jon and he will take care of you like royalty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonsales, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel… We truly enjoyed having your group stay with us. Guests often comment on our complimentary “Suite Start” Breakfast Buffet. Our Homewood Suites Managers enjoy personally greeting our guest during our “Welcome Home” Dinner Reception. I appreciate your kind words on being treated like royalty; it is our pleasure to have our guest experience a rewarding stay. We look forward to having you return again soon. Until then, thank you for staying and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Front desk Lady very helpful and accommodating.Very Nice and clean rooms . Exercise room has plenty of equipment for a nice work out, and swimming pool is inviting.
Breakfast was included and there was plenty of good quality choices to eat.
I would highly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonsales, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments. It is surely a nice experience to be greeted with a smile; our Front Desk Associates enjoy making check in a pleasant experience. Our hotel has some great fitness equipment and our indoor pool is very relaxing, but for those wanting additional workout equipment or a larger pool, our guest enjoy complimentary use of the 24/7 Fitness where they will find both. We get a lot of positive comments on our complimentary breakfast buffet served each morning, in addition to our complimentary dinner buffet (served Monday thru Thursday, 5:30-7:30). Thanks again for the High Recommendation. We look forward to you returning soon. Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Large, clean and welcoming room was a pleasant relief after a long day of driving. Breakfast was among the best for an inclusive format. Lots of free parking close to exits. Very quiet. Internet connection was simple. Comfortable bed. I really like this room format with the separate bedroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Fultz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonsales, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, Thank you. Being located just south of I-78 makes our Homewood Suites conveniently located for travelers needing a good night’s rest. We get a lot of compliments on our complimentary “Suite Start” Breakfast Buffet, with many items to choose from, including healthy fruits and cereals. We offer several different style suites for any traveler, with our two bedroom suites can accommodate up to eight guests. We get a lot of comments on how comfortable our beds are, that’s one reason why our check out time is extended to 12:00 an hour later than other hotels, and people love to sleep in that extra hour… The room that you are referring to is our One Bedroom Suite. The bedroom has a comfortable KING mattress, large flat screen TV and ceiling fan. The other room which is separated has a living area with a pull out sofa bed, lounge chair, large flat screen TV, and a fully equipped kitchenette for those who wish to cook in their rooms. This room is perfect for families with children; no arguing over the TV remote. We look forward to you returning soon… Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Pros: Good location. Reasonable value.
Cons: Hit and miss cleaning. Staff communication. Breakfast on crowded days.

Suggestion: Replace the Manager.

Ratings:
- Overall: 3
- Room Quality: 4
- Housekeeping: 3
- Interior of the Building: 4
- 4th Floor Hallway: 0
- Breakfast: 3
- Location: 4
- Outside Appearance: 4
- Front Desk: 4
- Parking: 5
- Value: 4 ( except "0" when you pay for a day without housekeeping )

It's amazing how one wrong move can spoil an experience.

My wife and I needed a hotel for our annual visit with family in Pennsylvania and chose the Homewood Suites in Fogelsville for the 4th consecutive year. While not as gleaming as our first time shortly after it opened in 2009, it's still a good choice for weary road warriors.

What happened? On the 2nd full day of our 7 day stay, the room was not cleaned. Before we left the hotel at 11 AM, I said to a young woman at the Front Desk…"I apologize, but we're leaving a bit late. Can you make sure housekeeping cleans the room". She assured me "yes".

At 10 PM, we returned to find the room exactly as we left it. Not a mess, but nothing done. I went to the Desk, described the situation and asked for towels. They were delivered promptly.

Next day, I spoke to the same young woman at the Front Desk. She said "I told housekeeping. A supervisor said your room was done". Well, it wasn't. I found the manager, Melanie, and said we shouldn't pay for a day with no service. She said "we can't reimburse you because the reservation was made through Expedia. Call them".

Fast forward one week. I called Expedia and they spoke to Melanie who claimed "housekeeping saw the Do Not Disturb sign and walked away". Without the full truth, Expedia could only say "we're sorry". Is it really worth saving $95 for one night of a 7 night stay only to be lambasted online for every reader to review? How many reservations will be lost just to gain one $95 fee?

If you're about to stop reading, you'd never know most of our time at the Homewood Suites was enjoyable.

- Room: A "King Studio Suite" on the 4th floor. Nothing fancy, but it provided what we needed. Two small notes – Several of the TV stations listed in the hotel guidebook were not available, including major channels like CNN. And the lamp by one of the bedside tables did not work.

- Housekeeping: Generally good. The basics were covered, but service varied. Some days we had 2 bath towels..some days 3. Sometimes the carpet was vacuumed…sometimes not. Each housekeeper left a card on the kitchen table so we know several different women serviced the room.

However, I must not forget the 4th floor hallway. Since it was filthy when we arrived, I asked the Front Desk how often it gets cleaned. "Every day". Very funny! It was never touched during our week long visit.

- Personnel: Most employees we encountered were helpful, including young women at the Front Desk, people who brought towels to our room at 10 PM and even the guy in charge of Sales who helped bus tables at breakfast and ask if everything was okay. Why must I vote the Manager as least cooperative of the bunch?

- Breakfast: There is no charge for this small buffet served in an area extended from the lobby. Quality...and especially quantity...depends on how many people are eating. We ate in the hotel on 3 of our 7 mornings and most of the food items were replenished at a faster rate than in our previous 3 stays. The fresh fruit was especially good.

- Price and Value: We paid $95 per night plus tax. Aside from day when nobody showed up to clean our room, it's a nice value. The property remains fairly fresh and it's in a good location.

Will we stay at the Homewood Suites on our next visit to Allentown in May of 2014? It's doubtful. We'll probably go down the road to the Hilton Garden Inn.

Room Tip: To minimize noise, ask for a room on the top ( 4th floor ) facing away from the main road ( Route 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Let me first start my extending our sincere apologizes for not exceeding your expectations. We clearly broke down with our internal communication. Our records indicate when the housekeeper went to the room, there was a "Do Not Disturb" sign in the door, so she honored that request. We should have at that time reported the discrepancy to the front desk and should have followed up with you. For a variety of reasons we will always honor the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. I can assure there was no intentional wrong doing, just a lack of communication on our part.

We have intended submitted the 100% Satisfaction Guarantee for night’s room and tax due to our error. The process when booking with a third party can take a bit longer, but it has been submitted.

Thank you for being loyal to us since we opened and I am sorry that this situation has forced you to look elsewhere. If you should decide to try us again, it would be our honor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allentown hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
1.1 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
10.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
3.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville

Address: 7686 Industrial Blvd, Route 100, Allentown, PA 18106-9218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Allentown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Allentown
#2 Family Hotel in Allentown
Price Range: £85 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton - Allentown West/Fogelsville, is located just off Route 78 on Route 100 in the west end of beautiful Lehigh Valley Pennsylvania, 20 minutes west from the Lehigh Valley International Airport. This Allentown hotel offers country ambiance, friendly service, and convenience to area attractions.Our Allentown hotel features modern conveniences suited to the savvy business traveler, a great location and recreational amenities to please leisure guests. Spacious Studio, One and Two Bedroom Suites boast a long list of amenities, well-lit work surfaces, luxurious Suite Dreams bed experience and complimentary wireless and wired high-speed internet access throughout our hotel. Guests of the Allentown hotel have full use of our many amenities including: An indoor heated pool, A Fitness Center, Outdoor Sports Court, Two outdoor Gas Grill Cooking Stations, Complimentary Business Center, 32-inch Flat Panel Televisions with select high-definition channels. While staying at our hotel in Allentown, relax in front of a glowing fireplace located in our lobby and Hotel Lodge. A Complimentary Suite Start™ hot Breakfast Buffet is served Daily, in our lodge and a Welcome Home® Reception evenings Monday -Thursday (Beer, wine and beverages in addition to a light dinner served). This Allentown hotel has 760 square feet of flexible meeting space to accommodate your business conference, training seminar, reception, or small social event. Our Allentown hotel is close to many corporate offices like Olympus, Lutron, Kraft Foods, Home Depot, Air Products and Chemicals, Mack Trucks, Nestle and more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to the Lehigh Valley, our courteous Allentown hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you with a pleasant greeting and a warm smile at check-in. Make yourself at home®! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville Hotel Allentown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing