We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Assistance”

Lehigh County Heritage Center
Ranked #15 of 39 things to do in Allentown
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ask for Assistance”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every library is different so save time by asking for assistance in navigating the publications. If you tell them what you are looking for, they will lead you to specific pubs. The library is located in a building that also has museums and books for sale. Parking is free behind the building. We used a coupon and got $1 off the entrance fee (we paid $5 each). You can use a laptop but bags and purses are to be stored in lockers (free). There was no time limit on how long we could use the library. No scanners or photos are allowed and it was 55 cents for a photocopy. I didn't have enough time to research everything I would have liked, but did find the one thing I hoped to get from the trip! (death date and burial location of an ancestor). That meant another road trip to a cemetery where we found several ancestors - and it was not a cemetery we would have looked in without first going to LCHC.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyB407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
726 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“a very informative place”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a small place in the middle of downtown, but it has some real nice informative displays. The admission is not large. We enjoyed the Lincoln artifact and photo exhibit, but be advised that this will be leaving shortly, but I'm sure will be replaced. The Revolutionary war exhibit was nice. The history of the Lehigh Valley is quite informative especially for those of use who live there. My only negative comment would be that the exhibit runs on into the exhibits of energy and America's first female general officer. Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The staff was friendly. Parking is behind the building but check the website on how to find it, because of all of the one way streets and small side streets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
269 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Our Visit”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I visited the Center today and found it fascinating. It is well done and ven we as non-Americans could follow and understand. I hope that US Citizens are proud of the Center - you need to be.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HermanK449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resource for Local History”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This center was very impressive. Lehigh County has very interesting history and they have done an excellent job in portraying it. Beautiful and informative exhibits. Much higher quality than one would usually expect in a county museum.

The adjacent Library has a real expert in local history and archives who is adept at helping one research family history in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,943 reviews
1,071 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,892 helpful votes
“History of Lehigh county in very good museum”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This building houses much history of Lehigh county and has interesting temporary exhibits at times--baseball is the area, Lincoln artifacts, presidental history, etc. It is run by the Historical Society and is on the same property as the historic Trout Hall built in 1770.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lehigh County Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Lehigh County Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing