We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, No, No”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Placita Mexico Deli
Ranked #94 of 461 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: It is a mexican deli with a small restaurant at the back
Restaurant details
Description: It is a mexican deli with a small restaurant at the back
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No, No, No”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It appears that people do not know what authentic Mexican is. My Wife and I have traveled to many places and our favorite place is Tucson, AZ. There we get real Mexican food. We got three tacos and the flavors were all the same. Not good at all. I would avoid this place when going through the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic delicious Mexican food in the heart of Allentown!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I can finally write a good review about an authentic Mexican restaurant in the Lehigh Valley area! If you are looking for delicious authentic Mexican food, this is the place to be. I ordered a pozole (pork hominy soup) and my hubby ordered tacos and a torta (Mexican sandwich). Everything was fresh and the taste was authentic Mexico…delicioso!!! Just don't come with a large group, there are only a couple of tables available and the place is small (at least from what I saw). Will def return again and again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njmom0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Authentic Mexican Food !!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We used to live in Tucson AZ and had been to many great Mexican restaurants. This tiny, family owned grocer/cafe served us surprisingly great Mexican food while we were visiting my daughter in college. I had Chicken Burrito and it was huge and so inexpensive. They just have a few tables in the back of the shop, so taking out would be the best. Food you will not be disappointed with great price !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gallantgazela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarante, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine Bodega Fare”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife is from Texas, she went to college in Mexico, her bean pot is over 50 years old, and we import our tortillas fresh from Texas and Mexico through family and friends. We're serious about our Mexican food. If you are too, consider La Placita for lunch. It's mostly for takeout but there are a few tables in the back. Like any bodega, there's hardly room to turn around. There's stuff everywhere, from bags of pan dulce on the counter to Mexican cds for sale on top of the deli case. And the deli case holds great chorizo, queso fresca, homemade mole, and much more. I generally order the torta con chorizo - a bulky sandwich on a Portuguese roll filled with spicy chorizo, lettuce, tomato, avocado and, if you want, jalapeno peppers. I suppose that for the connoisseur of authentic Mexican fare, La Placita is really nothing special. But even in Mexico, restaurants often serve just so-so fare. It's bodega food, it's reasonably priced, and it's in downtown Allentown. What more do you want?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iracathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The real deal, no frills.”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The food here is an unexpected treat! I have been a regular here for years and found it through word-of-mouth. First of all, they offer discount food to emergency service providers in the city, so you may see an ambulance or police car (or both!) parked out from during lunch or dinner. There is something to be said about a business that shows that kind of appreciation.

I have never eaten in, but they do have seating and as another review mentioned, it is COZY! There are many regulars at lunchtime, so the place may be jammed. You can call ahead for take out, but it may be tricky if you don't know Spanish. It is hit or miss. I have never had a bad burrito from this place. They are the best!! They also have a deli, so you can grab miscellaneous groceries while you are there. We love to cook mexican fare at home also, so that is another bonus for this place.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Placita Mexico Deli also viewed

 

Been to La Placita Mexico Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing