We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time @ Bayleaf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Leaf Restaurant

Bay Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 459 Restaurants in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, French, American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“First Time @ Bayleaf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent food!! Great service! Definitely a must go to restaurant! I would not hesitate recommending this restaurant to anyone. We will definitely be back!!

Helpful?
Thank Ranells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    36
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey for what you get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We had some high expectations for this restaurant based on the rave reviews. While it was very good, I wouldn't say it is one of my favorite restaurants in the Valley. Service was good, but nothing extraordinary. The food was good and the seafood was fresh; my wife had the scallops and shrimp in cream sauce, and I had steak tips in curry. Both had great sauce but needed more sauce.
The salad appetizer was huge... Had we known it was so big we would have split it and saved $ on a second appetizer. Which brings me to my overall comment... For the portion size and what you get with it, I thought it was pretty expensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianE1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Been around a long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a great restaurant in downtown Allentown. I have never had a bad meal there. It is remarkable that they have been at the same location serving great food for such a long time. The food is excellent, excellently presented by a friendly helpful staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Bay Leaf is always the go-to place when celebrating special times or treating out of town guests to a great meal. Service is spectacular and the food is sublime. One of the true gems in the City of Allentown. Very eclectic menu with generous portions so beautifully presented.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Dining at the Bay Leaf is ALWAYS wonderful - the food and the service are consistently excellent! This is definitely a gem of the Lehigh Valley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackcat009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Leaf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bay Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing