We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Hotel Will Surprise You In a Great Way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This Hotel Will Surprise You In a Great Way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked into the lobby of Allentown's City Center Holiday Inn we were greeted by a wonderful, welcoming, caring staff who have us great recommendations for dining outside of the hotel, called our room to make sure that everything was ok with our accommodations, and even signed us up with Holiday Inn's frequent traveler rewards program. This hotel is located within just a couple of blocks of some great restaurants and a parking garage were guests can park their car free of charge. Allentown's downtown district has a reputation for being a bit sketchy, but we felt more than safe as we ventured out and walked front the hotel to a nearby micro-brewery for dinner. The next time we visit Allentown we will stay at this very comfortable and professionally staffed hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravherber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are so happy to hear that we provided great service while you were here with us. It means a lot to us to hear that you liked our hotel and accommodations. Please come and see us again when you visit Allentown. We greatly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    82
    67
    40
    30
See reviews for
65
48
18
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

First thing I noticed when we pulled up were the garbage cans at the main entrance to the hotel. They were overflowing and then people just threw the garbage on the floor. I've never seen anything like that at any hotel, not even a one star property. This HI is allegedly a 3.5 star hotel.....not in my onion. The restaurant was closed and the elevator was so dirty it looked like it hadn't seen a vacuum in weeks.

Not cool. The area is also extremely sketchy. You can't walk anywhere safely and from my room I see a pawn shop and vacant buildings.

Why did I give the hotel three stars in my review? Our assigned room was clean and quiet and the customer service is exceptional. The man at the front desk (Marrell I think?) was the nicest and most welcoming person I have ever encountered in my many trips....and I have travelled extensively. Honestly, this man is pure kindness. Meeting him is worth whatever shortcomings the hotel has. The cleaning ladies were lovely as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We take stride in our customer experience here with us. We will forward your comments to the department managers so we can improve in the require areas. We do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I will absolutely be coming back to this hotel!! The staff was INCREDIBLE!!! Marrell and Sabrunise at the front desk were awesome! They're attentive, informative and professional. The young woman in the restaurant was awesome as well, I wish I could remember her name! Our room was nice and big, cleaning ladies were nice and accommodating when we needed extra towels and comforter. The beds were clean and comfy, my only problem was the bathroom. It's a little small, however I do love the heat light. My only issues was the faucet on the sink was dirty and had soap scum/calcium deposits on the top of it. The shower head needed cleaning as you could see the calcium build up and the shelves in the shower were dirty. I also think the walking area from the garage to the hotel could have been shoveled better. Other then that I had a fantastic stay. The staff definitely made it worth while!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving feedback in regards to your recent stay here with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. And in regards to the bathroom we will let the housekeeping department know about the calcium. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Two nights staying...
Old room....clean but little too dark....
Just in the centre of the small city with a grill bar which makes good hamburgers.
Lobby wide with very kind frontdesk service.
Very bad the Monday morning breakfast.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We regret to hear that your stay with us was less then perfect, we will let the proper departments know where they can improve to make the guest experience better. We appreciate you giving us feedback in regards to your stay. We hope to see your again if your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed at this property for one night recently due to a family emergency. Nice and clean room. Since it was late I ended up having dinner at the bar inside the hotel. The bartender was very professional and attentive, food was AMAZING! Got the pork chop special for the night. When I return to Allentown I will definitely come back so thank you for welcoming me!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave a great review, we will make sure the lounge knows that they are doing a great job. We would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
291 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I spent one night at this hotel. Staff at desk for check-in and checkout were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and safe. Parking was in a garage next door, safe no issues. Had dinner in bar which was ok at best, not much in area. Would probably not return for this reason plus it was much farther away from my business site than expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time leaving a review we apologize that the hotel wasn't conveniently where you needed to be, although we are happy to hear that the staff was helpful and friendly. We hope you come stay with us again when your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a HS reunion at the nearby Brew Works. Clean and comfortable place to stay. Allentown can be a little sketchy, but never felt threatened at the hotel or on the short walk to Brew Works. The hotel was empty, but it was on the Saturday after Thanksgiving and I doubt that many out of town guests would choose to stay here, due to location.
The room was frigid when we walked in, but the heater was rightfully turned off to save energy. The only complaint I have is that it took forever for even warm water to arrive at the bathroom sink. Most likely a combination of the below freezing temperatures and the fact that the hotel was empty.
Hotel parking is at city parking deck and very reasonable at $6 a day, though some Book Early rates include this in the room rate.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our accommodations here at the holiday inn, and we also appreciate your business. With that said I apologize for the room not being warm upon arrival. Again we appreciate your business and feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Address: 904 W Hamilton St., Allentown, PA 18101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing