We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Not Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Overall the hotel was ok. We booked the Holiday Inn for our stay in Allentown because generally Holiday Inns are nice and very well kept. Truth is this hotel didn't live up to a Holiday Inn standard. When we first got in the room there was fecal matter and some other disgusting mix in the toilet. It was obvious the room hadn't been previously cleaned. The shower had soap residue everywhere and some yellow thick substance on the walls (again it was obvious the room hadn't been cleaned). We had to call the front desk 3 times for them to send someone to clean the room and it took them 4 hours to send one. Other than that the staff was nice and helpful. The location was in the town center. They charge a daily fee for parking in the deck next to the hotel. Also, the breakfast and even the coffee aren't included in the room price so there is an extra charge and the waitresses are very rude. We will most definitely never book there again if we have to go back to Allentown. My advice, stay somewhere else if you want a good value for your money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in one of the top floors. Too much street noise in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkTravelSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear PinkTravelSM,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I come to this hotel a lot and the same people work the same shifts.But the light skin black or spanish lady she can handle anything she is definitely a great aspect to this Holiday Inn she deserves 10 all across the board she keeps us coming back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We value the positive feedback and we will let the front desk staff know what a good job they do. We appreciate your business and hope you keep coming here to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

While we booked with hotels.com thinking this was a great real DONT DO IT!!!! It is in the heart of the ghetto!!! The hotel has stain on the floor! Checking into the hotel the lady at the front desk had her own r&b hits BLASTING!! Room service never came. The best part about this hotel was it was only 89.99.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan-ielle Ware T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We don't allow music at the front desk as were a professional establishment. We appreciate you letting us know. In regards to being in the "ghetto" Allentown is going to be a great place to be in about a year as it will be getting face lifts with that said we also have a hockey arena opening in September only two blocks away from the hotel. So you wont have to worry about this place being in the "ghetto". We appreciate your feedback and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Holiday Inn is easy to find and well located. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was a very nice size and clean. However, I do have a few comments that made this Holiday Inn fall a tad short for me. I have a pet peeve with coffee pots in the bathroom. Any hotel worth its salt should take any food item OUT of the bathroom and place it on any table in the main room. Those coffee packets and that coffee maker was sitting on the sink through how many guests? Through sprays, splashes, and heavens knows what else? Don't even want to think about it. Secondly, the lamp on the desk did not work. The bulb was probably out. Every light, radio, phone etc. in every room should be working properly. That should be a given. The air conditioning was too noisy though effective. The pictures over the bed were crooked,and the framework on the mirror was warped. Each of these things are not terrible by themselves, but all add up to a place that is calling for a bit more focus and attention to the details. When everything is in place, you feel it. It's what makes you say that a hotel is five star. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, as long as they weren't overly fussy, which I guess I am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel54046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We will pass the comments along to our General Manager so he can work on improving the rooms. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope you come visit us again if your in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed May 9th-11th. I had a great stay in one of their Jr. Executive suites. I had plenty of room for about seven people to comfortably have hair and make-up done for my wedding. The bathroom is typical to most hotel bathrooms. (Seriously how much time do you really spend in them?) There was small kitchen area with a sink, mini fridge and small coffee pot. Everything was clean and noise outside of my room was minimal. I would of had a good night's sleep before my wedding if it wasn't for my sister in-law. She talked me into trying out the bar that was on the main level of the hotel. I believe the two bartenders that night were Mya and Glen. I had the time of my life that night. (If your not social and can't have a good time with just about anyone. Not the bar for you) The next morning we drug ourselves down to this little restaurant on the main level of the hotel. I wanna say we paid maybe $8 each for the breakfast buffet. The food was good and so was the service. The night of my wedding I returned to the bar and drank with my husband some friends. The other bride, her husband and some of their wedding guest. Pretty cool night. The hotel, bar and restaurant all in all is nothing fancy. But it was clean, practical and all of the staff members were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Were happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel has a great location within walking distance to several restaurants.
My co worker and i stayed there for one night the rooms need a renovation, but are clean.
We both had breakfast ther at 8 am. My first two choices were not available,
The third choice blueberry pancakes is what we both selected.
Again surprise my co worker got three and I got only two.
Should not happen.
Next time we go for breakfast somewhere else

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

we would like to apologize for the negative experience you encountered in our restaurant. We take our guests comments very seriously and we will try to improve to provide better service to our guests. We would like to thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Checked into this hotel late in the evening after driving several hours. We had 2 small children with us and the staff was VERY accommodating in helping us get them and us into a room quickly. The room was outstanding. Very clean and quiet. It appeared that it had recently been updated, or well cared for over the years. We would very gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We appreciate you taking time to leaving a review. Also were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn. We hope you return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allentown hotels
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#17 of 31 in Allentown
214 reviews
7.7 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Address: 904 W Hamilton St, Allentown, PA 18101-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range: £92 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing