We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Bad Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Bad Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was going to book this hotel, but its a good thing I called in to check about early check-in and ridiculously they charge you if you want to check-in early. I personally have worked at many different hotels and still am working with one and i've never heard of such thing. The front office manager was also very rude, wouldn't recommend it!

Room Tip: do not book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I apologize that we charge additional for an early checking however normal check in hours are at 3:00 pm we do allow a couple hours prior if room is available. A 7:00 am check in would be an additional half day rate. Again sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    82
    67
    40
    30
See reviews for
65
48
18
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was a very bad location and if u choose to go please stay indoors. There is police cameras on every street because of the crime in that area. I choose a room with microwave and fridge but never got it. I read some reviews and most of them were bad reviews and I taught I will try it myself. It was the mistake I mad. It was a very bad experience. I travel a lot and stayed at many hotels but this area was very bad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tntqueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We would first like to apologize that you felt the area was in the "ghetto" but please keep in mind we are in a center city location. I regret to hear you didn't receive a microwave and refrigerator upon check in although those are first come first serve basis. Again we do apologize about your experience here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

No parking. Had to walk with my 5 and 6 year old 2 blocks for the parking garage. Not a nice part of town. No food kids would eat except $10 burgers. Staff was very friendly. If going to dorney park stay across the street at that holiday inn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Were sorry to hear that the parking was an inconvenience for your however were in a center city location so we don't have our own parking lot. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

THIS HOTEL HAS NO PARKING they will tell you to park in a city owned lot... BAD IDEA ..our car was broken into they stole my kids dvd players gps change $120 cash and Dorney park ticket TRIED TO GET HELP, NEVER HAPPENED , parking lot manager "WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE" hotel general manager" WE ARE NOT REAPONSIBLE" WORSE PART HOTEL GENERAL MANAGER WAS NOT HELPFUL NOR TRIED TO MAKE OUR STAY BETTER....will send letter and call headquartes to complaint they shouldnt have a person being the face of a Hotel with this attitude

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luis R. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We apologize that your car was broken in to unfortunately we don't own the garage and were not responsible for any items taken. Again we apologize that took place while you were a guest of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband, myself and our 2 children aged 10 and 4 stayed for a weekend. I called prior to our visit to inquire about the status of the pool - as I had seen a review from a few days prior stating it was broken. With small children a pool is essential to a weekend away! The woman from the front desk that I spoke with was very pleasant and advised me that the pool was in fact out of order but, that it would operational by the weekend. We were coming from Erie, but the first part of our trip was NJ and NY. Traffic, our GPS and the insane amount of one way streets in Allentown made for a hairy ride in. Once we got to the hotel we were able to check in right away, which made up for the terrible drive! The women working at the front desk were incredibly friendly, called us by name and thanked us for being priority club members as well as telling us multiple times to let them know if we needed anything, and to let them know if they could make our stay better. Our room was clean and comfortable with ample space for the 4 of us. I would suggest maybe though a few more bath towels for rooms that sleep 4, as well as storing linens for the sofa beds and extra pillows in the closet or dresser for user convenience. We changed our clothes almost right away and headed for the pool. We got there, and it was totally empty, which was great, we figured we could splash around and not bother anyone...but the water was frigid. It was so cold that we literally could not get in past our ankles. Our 10 year old daughter did brave it ,but was out within 5 minutes shivering like crazy. We were so disappointed we actually considered checking out and going to another hotel as we really only had plans to go to the Crayola factory the next day and planned to swim for most of the afternoon/evening. We went back up and changed again - and then headed out to see an Iron pigs game. When we got back it wasn't terribly late, but close to 11..We realized we never requested blankets/sheets for the sofa bed. My husband called down and was assured they would be brought right up. I called then for Dominos delivery since the little ones were starving. Our pizza arrived before our sheets! My husband called down again and spoke with someone different, who also assured him they would get on it right away. Looking at the clock we realized it was likely just a situation where it got lost in the shuffle of shift change, and within about 10 minutes someone was knocking to drop off sheets. Saturday we did the Crayola Factory in Easton (AWESOME!), had dinner at Chili's (which wasn't too far away if you don't count GPS confusion and traffic), and made our way back to test the waters in the pool one more time...And thankfully it was MUCH MUCH warmer! We figured it was just due to being down for maintenance and having to be refilled it might have taken a while to warm back up. We had a no hassle check out, and were on our way home mid morning Sunday. Parking was really no issue - I saw another review that mentioned it was in a sketchy garage a block away...which is incorrect. It was right across the street and didn't really appear any more sketchy than any other parking garage I have ever been in, always had more than enough parking and seemed adequately lit at night. We did not utilize the breakfast buffet as we saw another review about it being free but not free and were informed at check in that it would be $8.99pp. Personally I don't ever pay for a hotel breakfast anywhere, when I could hit up Dunkin doughnuts for something quick, cheap and probably more tasty, or any number of sit down establishments for a little more money, which is just a personal preference. All in all it was not a bad place to stay, and we really didn't have any major issues once the pool warmed up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephiestephens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us at the Holiday Inn, we would like to apologize for the pool being so cold. We tried to open it to accommodate the guests as it would take at least 48 hours to get to the correct temperature. Again thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was one of our worst stays at a Holiday Inn chain -- as a platinum member we have stayed at many hotels over the past years and thought that this would be a convenient stay for a weekend in Bethlehem.

The room was that bad we considering losing the cost of the room and just driving back to NJ to spend the night at home and to take the longer commute in the morning.

The room was dated. The walls were paper thin -- heard people through the walls, out in the hall and through the ceiling.

Also the area is not an area I would recommend staying in. It doesn't seem very safe and the parking garage is sketchy as well.

There was a note about breakfast being included in the rate but that was a misprint. The room was supposed to include a refrigerator but we had to ask for one which was bought to us.

Reaffirms my position that some Holiday Inns are sketchy at best.

Even on point breaks this was a horrible stay.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and choose another hotel in a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicman40nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We would like to apologize that the area looked sketchy.. We are an older hotel currently making renovations in the rooms. We also don't have breakfast included it is an additional cost, also our refrigerators are not in our rooms however we do have them available we bring them to your room based on availability upon request. So sorry that there was confusion about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nice, the staff is excellent and the front desk manager, Jackie is wonderful and accommodating. Plus she has a sweet southern voice. You'll never guess where she's from based on her accent :-)

The downside is that the hotel is in a ghettoish area of town and you have to park across the street in a creepy parking garage and you have to pay $6 for parking.

I would stay here again as they are close to Dorney Park, a vegan bakery, plenty of vegan friendly restaurants, and several shopping places. Jackie also told us that they are building an arena, so that will add even more to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123staff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Allentown Center City, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review! We hope to see you again when your in the area. We appreciate your business as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allentown hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown West
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown-Bethlehem Airport
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Allentown Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Allentown Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Allentown Center City
Address: 904 W Hamilton St., Allentown, PA 18101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Allentown Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Center City Allentown. Located just 1 block from the PPL Center Arena (go Phantoms!), We offer all of your hospitality needs at a price that can't be beat! Come and indulge in personalized, exemplary service in a soothing environment. After a long day, escape to our spacious guest rooms and deluxe suites-the largest in Lehigh Valley. Special touches like pillow-top mattresses and high-speed Internet access make it easy to work and relax. Feast on mouth-watering dining options at Manifiesto and 57 Lounge, our on-site restaurant and bar. Are you visiting for a business retreat or family reunion? We boast 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Experience all of the comforts of home at this full-service Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel, including newly renovated guestrooms and suites, free high-speed Internet access, 24 hour business center, room service, a heated indoor pool and self parking surcharge. This Allentown, Pennsylvania hotel is only minutes from Dorney Park & WildWater Kingdom, Lehigh Valley Hospital and Muhlenberg College. Come visit the Lehigh Valley where you will have every reason to visit every season. Whether on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Allentown is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Allentown Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Allentown Center City Hotel Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing