We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff- Nice Pool for Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Parkton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Staff- Nice Pool for Kids”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We often stay here when visiting family nearby. The staff is exceptionally friendly and the breakfast is always great. The only downside has been the occasional busy wedding weekends but although there is a crowd at breakfast they've always handled professionally and efficiently and we've never left hungry! Always leave feeling pampered and relaxed. Oh, it for those not from the area...go down the road and get yourself some frozen custard from the Meadows- been eating it for over 30 years- best treat ever!

Room Tip: Although its on busy roads we've never had any noise issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey concerning your stay. Glad you could enjoy the amenities such as our breakfast and pool area. I hope to see you again in the future!

Yes the Meadows has very good frozen custard!

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    134
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
260
101
24
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halethorpe, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First and foremost - I was most impressed with the 24-hour coffee station that was available in the lobby! There were 2 regular coffee options as well as 1 decaf and hot water too for tea... a very nice touch! As for the rest of the hotel, the lobby and adjacent areas were nice and well appointed. The rooms were also well appointed including a big flat screen tv, good bed and the bathrooms were nice and were mostly updated (except the shower that did work very well but was a bit dated compared to the rest of the room appointments). I can't voice an opinion on the breakfast since we were too late getting to it but there is a Cracker Barrel that shares the same parking lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks for the kind words concerning your stay! Appreciate your thoughts and comments and am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary coffee station. I look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a problem in reaching the hotel,our GPS directed us too far from the real location,for our good luck we met one of the nearby residents which he advise us to go to the other end of Altoona,so after little struggling we reached the hotel,I talked to the registration desk lady about our problem,she told that this happened with many visitors but the hotel management they tried with the web adminstration to resolve this problem since two months ago,and they dont know why it is not yet done.
Anyway the lady was very nice and she gave us an alternative address to enter it on our GPS so we may use it next time :594 W Plank, Altoona PA 16601
The hotel was so clean and the floor we stayed was a nonsmoker designated,no concerns about the smell, the beds wasn't comfortable so we couldn't sleep well,( the desk lady told us that they are going to change it soon??)
Breakfast was excellent with a lot of varieties to have like cereals, bagels, omlet egg,waffles, muffins, fruit salads, yoghurt ,and cocked oat.
the waffles was bit sticky so it was difficult to remove I didn't enjoy it
fruit salads was fresh and tasteful,
buffet was open till 9:30 AM and the bar was stuffed everytime.
Location was excellent just on the highway I 81 and close to many shops if you like to do some necessary shopping
I definitely would come again

Room Tip: all rooms are good I wanted a double queen bed non smoker,but couldn't find,so i got king bed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with your stay! I apologize for the mix up in trying to find the property using our hotel address. Since our drive way is our address and it is not an incorporated road it has always been hard to use some of the GPS directions. Over the years I have been personally involved in trying to get the directions straigtened our, even going as far as to pin point the lattitude and longitude coordinates online so the online services and GPS system could hopefully get the directions correct. This has still not be resolved but as you mentioned we do offer an alternate GPS address on our website that brings you right to this specific area. Look for this address next time and use it in your GPS System. I am glad that you enjoyed the other amenties that the hotel has to offer.

Best Wishes!

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Hampton Inn Altoona sets the bar high for other hotels to reach. The staff were all so friendly and professional. The rooms were nice and clean and the free breakfast was great. Everyone we met in the Altoona area were so friendly, they all are like a breath of fresh air.

Whenever we are in the area again ... This is where we will stay.

Room Tip: I have not ever met such a friendly and professional staff as the staff that operates the Hampton In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleHarleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of the team here at the property. We all enjoy helping our guests and making sure that everyone enjoys their stay! I hope to see you and your family stay with us again in the future!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aububon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

this is a great place to stay. We were moving our son to Penn State Altoona and had to go the night before and stay over night. The hotel was great and we all woke up ready to go. We had a good breakfast to get us started don our busy day. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I am very appreciative that you took the time to fill out a survey concerning your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast in the morning. Best of luck to your son at Penn State, which is a wonderful school. I hope you will choose to stay at our property for the remainder of your sons stay at Penn State!

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great hotel. Wonderful complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. Eggs, bacon, fruit. Nice way to start the day. Always choose this hotel when I am in area on business. Would love to see the fitness center be a little larger, but it is adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Darboymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay ! I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you also were able to use our fitness room area.

I hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great place to stay. Clean, great accommodations. Staff is very friendly. I also like that Hampton Inns are consistent in the service they provide across the country. You know what you are getting value for your dollar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay! I am glad to hear that you appreciate the Hampton product and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
0.5 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#9 of 15 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#8 of 15 in Altoona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Property: Hampton Inn Altoona
Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing