We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Altoona - Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Northeast
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn Altoona - Again!”
Reviewed 30 April 2007

This was my second trip to the Hampton Inn Altoona. This time the hotel seemed a little dirtier to me, maybe it was just the room, or the fact we had just come from a newer Hapton Inn in Easton, PA.

The hotel is serviceable however, I will probably continue to stay here on my business trips to Altoona. the location is convenient and the breakfast spread makes thing easier in the morning.

Plus the staff is helpful, I've experienced no problems checking in / out.

I would recommened to business travelers without a doubt.

We booked through expedia and paid $82.00 per night.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Cleanliness was questionable
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cheetahlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    141
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
269
107
24
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2006

We stayed in a suite at this hotel for 1 night in the latter part of July 2006. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Everything was in working order with the exception of one burned out light bulb that was quickly remedied by hotel staff. I love the fact that they've converted to the flourescent bulbs which conserve energy and do not put out as much heat.

The beds were very comfortable as are most beds in Hampton Inn's now. Check-in was quick and efficient and front desk staff were more than willing to provide directions and maps.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had at small hotels where breakfast is included. There was a very large variety and everything was fresh.

I read the previous reviews, several of which were written about 2 years. It's obvious the hotel has worked on any problems they may have had previously, as we had no complaints and I'm quick to complain if needed.

One caution, however. The directions to the hotel via Map Quest are incorrect and send you all over downtown eventually getting one LOST. Hotel staff said they had been trying for several years trying to get the problem corrected but Map Quest will simply not recognize that 180 Charlotte Drive exists in Altoona.
So call the hotel for directions... the hotel is very close to the Interstate and has easy access.

I think this hotel is a little gem in a small town.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, decor, comfort
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 October 2004

Last December (2003) my husband and I reserved a block of rooms at the Altoona Hampton Inn for our wedding guests. From the planning stages to the day we checked out, the staff was courteous, professional, and extremely helpful. The rooms were very reasonable, the breakfasts were substantial, and the decor was very nice. My husband and I stayed in one of the whirlpool suites, which was a treat! I highly recommend the Altoona Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2004

Best Hotel in terms of consistency of service. Standard amenities but
lacks HS internet in room. If you are looking for a hotel with helpful
staff this is the place to stay. I have been to most of the others due
to soldout nights and this is by far the best.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 March 2004

Was planning on staying for over 30 days on business with my staff of five. Hotel cxled CNN and put in another home shopping channel and added Fox News. When asking about at the front counter the manager was abrupt and rude so I moved myself and my staff to the Holiday Inn(which I do recommend).

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Altoona
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
81 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Property: Hampton Inn Altoona
Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing