We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakemont” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakemont Park

Lakemont Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$163.76*
and up
Private Half-Day Walking Tour: Berlin Wall, Cold War and Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Altoona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The eighth oldest park in the United States.
Gallitzin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lakemont”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Place needs updated. Some of the rides are old and authentic. The train is a must ride. Do not ride any of the rides that will make you dizzy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ns3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    56
    41
    18
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In dire need of updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lakemont Park used to be beautiful with mature trees and the finest wooden carousel, but the county sold the park and the trees were cut down and the carousel was sold in pieces to the highest bidder. The rides haven't been updated in years. The park food is terrible. There is a water park that young children will enjoy. Older children and teens would find Lakemont Park boring. It is so worth the extra miles (approximately 17) to go to DelGrosso's Park in Tipton, PA, which has fantastic water slides, wonderful rides for young children and adults and the best park food ever. Unlike Lakemont Park, DelGrosso's does not charge an entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 64PamS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Carnival like, but good fun for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Don’t expect a big time thrill park- think more along the lines of traveling carnival and you won’t be disappointed.

Lakemont is a small, family park. It has all the typical rides that you’d expect to find on a carnival midway, with the added attraction of a big roller coaster and a speedway (additional fee for each). The rides are predictable, but fun for people who enjoy that type of thing. If you like rides but hate waiting in line, spend a day here. In a lot of cases, you can stay on the ride for multiple trips because of a lack of a line (weekdays). I like to go to amusement parks for the rides (as do my kids), so this is a big draw for us.

The games are carnival like in nature, and few and far between. There’s nothing outstanding about the food- the quality and price are about what you would expect to find at a park- mediocre a bit pricey. They do allow you to bring in your own food and have plenty of spots to set up for the day. If you plan right, you can get away with just paying the price of your admission.

The park does have a sizeable arcade in the middle. It’s your typical, wind 8000 tickets and take home this crappy stuffed animal type, but some kids seem to love it since they’re so hard to find these days…

The kiddie area boasts a decent amount of rides for the younger set. It was enough to keep my two year old busy for an hour while the older kids rode some of the bigger rides. (They get you with the duck game and ice cream smack in the middle of the rides!)

A big draw is the water park, but be warned- IT’S COLD!!! While it’s made for younger kids, you feel like you’ll get hypothermia in a matter of minutes. Whether it’s 70 or 90, the water seems to feel a constant 40 degrees. It’s uncomfortable until you finally numb up. I find this every time I go here. Fortunately, the water in the larger pool area and the water slides seems to be a little more regulated and bearable. The slides are fun for the older kids, but could stay a little more supervision. I’ve see kids coming down on top of each other and a few collisions in the bottom pool.

One other small, but notable, feature- the walkway to the water park goes over part of the lake that is FILLED with catfish. They’re literally stacked on top of each other and can’t wait for you to feed them (food machines are beside the water). On some days, you can also find the ducks that will eat right out of your hand. We always bring a roll of quarters and spend a bit of time here since my kids are huge animal lovers.

You can go here on the cheap and have a great family day, as long as you have reasonable expectations. We live about 40 minutes away and usually come twice a year and the girls love it. There’s no doubt that we’ll be back again this year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've gone here many times before, and I just think that the rides are great!
I have also played golf many times before, and the parks set up is great also.

I Hope that you will come and have a vist somethime soon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great family fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very similar to Delgrosso's. It has some different rides and also has a day each week when you can get in for 5$. This has a few bigger kid rides like roller coasters and it also has the oldest roller coaster which is really a lot of fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scottaenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lakemont Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing